We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #6 of 102 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Walk through the gardens, and remember that Teddy Roosevelt walked under the same giant trees dripping with orchids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 57JoAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    156
    68
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I always come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Whenever I visit Boquete, the Panamonte is a must for lunch.
Their ambiance, the grounds, the staff and certainly the food and its freshness have me coming back.
The only setback I have had here is sitting in the tiny front balcony/terrace and having the person behind me light up a cigarette - here you are in this oasis of nature, to then have someone ruin your lunch. The worst part was telling the servers and having them do nothing about it.
I sure have seconds thoughts now on going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LorenaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfork, Arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very nice restaurant in boquette. We ate dinner on the porch. food was fantastic. service was a little slow, waiting for check but overall I liked the restaurant and would go back again. a little pricy but worth the splurge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This restaurant/hotel definitely takes you back to another era. Beautiful architecture and grounds to enjoy. We recommend eating in the bar area, and enjoy a cocktail or tea in front of their two fireplace seating areas. They offer a variety of menu/price items.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellove4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good pizza, but very loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

At the end of our trip we went there for some pizza and to say goodbye to friends, pizza was good, but the band and their amps were so loud we could not talk, just eat. The price was about $15 for a pretty good pizza.

Helpful?
Thank andilea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Panamonte also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing