We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pretty Good Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Pretty Good Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Hostel Gaia is centrally located, but not right downtown where it can be noisy and busy. There is a wonderful bakery/restaurant right next door for food and other eating places within easy walking distance. While you can choose a dorm situation, we chose the private room in the back that was a little quieter, although right next to the street. This was the box/shed that crandy made note of. Not luxurious but clean and comfortable for $29 a night. We parked our car inside the gate, so it was secure. The staff were friendly although they didn't speak much English. Overall, it was a pretty good stay,

Room Tip: Always ask to look at a room first- there is alot of variety. For privacy, go for the box/shed priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandessolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    29
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
34
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokia, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Peaceful and quiet hostel with clean dorms and common rooms and fully equipped kitchen. Located nicely few hundred meters from the central park. Not much of luxury but friendly environment and good way to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ville K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was very nice!We were a bit disappointed with the room after having seen the photos on the website!We were informed the sun room was booked but they had another room for us!This was a wooden box/shed in the garden made of MDF wood!The bed was brand new though and very comfortable!The room was also v clean and quiet!
The common areas are really nice and upstairs from the reception!It really felt
Like we were sharing an apartment with the other guests!They had DVD's to borrow and a great kitchen!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cday84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hostel Gaia was an extremely clean facility, with an awesome and friendly staff, and it is located right next door to Sugar and Spice and across the street from Mike's!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetravelingfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed one night (it was booked up for the other nights) in a 4 bed dorm. We loved it from the minute we walked in. It has such a nice homey atmosphere to it, with a perfectly equipped kitchen, a spacious eating area and a great living room with lots of sofas, a tv and dvd and a book exchange. The mattresses were firm and everything was very clean and new. There is also a nice little garden and a fenced parking space for the car. I definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triplife_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in one of the downstairs rooms. Was really clean, shower was good and they do your washing for a very reasonable price! Just at the bottom of town so it is quiet but also really close to a variety of bars/restaurants. Nice atmosphere-made friends with a few people there and went into the communal area near the dorms- two girls had a whole dorm room each! Would definitely stay again- the whole of Boquette was lovely so well worth another visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
292 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a very well-run hostel. It is exceptionally hygienic, clean and comfortable for Panamanian standards. Hostel owner is a great help, and it was just a complete relief after a couple of bad experiences in Panama

Superb value as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#8 of 30 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spanish by the River-Boquete
0.6 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 48 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#6 of 30 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gaia

Property: Hostal Gaia
Address: Avenida B oeste | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boquete is known as the land of coffee and f lowers, beautiful landscapes and multitude shades of green flora. Gaia is the mother earth, where all this beauty lives...Here at our hostel you will find a pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff, all the tourist information that you need, and more. We offer private rooms with bath and hot water & dorms with shared bath and hot water, comfortable beds with semi-orthopedic mattresses, bed linen, pillow and blankets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing