We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Gaia
Nearby Hotels
Finca Lerida(Boquete)
US$212
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort(Boquete)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haven and Spa(Boquete)
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ladera(Boquete)
US$109
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
56
31
9
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
31
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormnice living roomquiet placeshared kitchengreat kitchenmain towntwo blocksexcellent locationwell equipped kitchencomfortable bedshot waterthe riverhostelgardensupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The first thing I noticed was how clean this place is. They also have very nice sheets. We stayed 2 nights in the main building in the double just under the communal area and then we had to move to a shed in the garden. I would definetely recommend to go into the shed. It's very private and spacious. The other room, the room with the moon on the door in the main building was very very loud. You could here the people walking around and as it is right under the communal area there was always someone. It sounded like people would moving furniture. I think the ceiling is just very bad isolated. We had about 4 hours sleep only the other night. Cause one guy was walking around for half an hour at 4 o clock at night and then others got up as well. The staff is friendly though not all speak English.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaffeegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hostel Gaia is a 5 minute walk from the central park. Hilda and staff are friendly and helpful. Had a large laundry done, washed and dried for $4.00 and returned the next morning. My room was large with a double bed as well as a single. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean and neat. The "hot" water was more like warm but not a real issue. Just do not expect "home" like conditions when traveling in Latin and South America. For the cost this was a great option in Boquete and there are many choices for dining within a two - five minute walk and a great bakeshop right next door. I would recommend Hostel Gaia if your looking for an economical and clean place in Boquete.

Room Tip: I had the front room with private bath closest to the desk...still very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The place is clean and simple, with a nice atmosphere, the double rooms are 33 and the dorms are 11 with no breakfast but a beautiful kitchen and dining room where you can make coffee at all times. Both options of rooms are quiet comfortable and recommendable. I slept great in here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEWSTED1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just stayed here with our group of 7. We stayed in the two private rooms downstairs - one room has 2 double beds and the other has 1 double and 1 twin. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice little yard to relax in on the side of the building. You have access to the kitchen upstairs in the dorm room area. Good location in Boquete, short walk from main square, awesome bakery next door. Smells delicious all day! Gaia will also do your laundry for a small fee. The owner Hilda is super nice and was very helpful getting us taxis to David and to a hiking trail, setting up a coffee tour, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hilda who runs the place is superb. We rocked up to Boquete late in the evening and without a reservation. We searched out a place to stay but everywhere was full. As a side note: if you are planning on travelling to Boquete in January make sure you have a reservation. It is the busiest time there and every place is full.

Just as we were about to give up all hope of finding a place we came across Gaia and met Hilda. Gaia was also full but she made a few calls and found us a place to stay just down the road. She then got a cancellation for the next day so offered it to us. We didnt hesitate to take the room and returned the next day.

We stayed 2 nights but would have stayed longer had there been availability. The place is spotless apart from the dorm area upstairs which was a state. But you cannot blame the hostal for this. They had a school group staying with them and they were simply very messy. We had one of the private rooms downstairs near reception. It was nice but the lighting could be better. The single ceiling light is just not strong enough. Some bed side lights should also be introduced for laying in bed in the evening.

WIFI was very strong. Hilda was ver helpful with our stay and even drove us to El Explorador Gardens in her own car because it was impossible to get a cab (again, January is so busy). She is very knoweldgeable and has a lot of info on the area in folders scattered around reception. The bed was very comfy and the sheets were also very nice. Bathroom was sparse but clean. One minor complaint about the room, apart from the lighting, is the noise that can be heard from the doorms above. You can hear everyone walking around and jumping out of bed. Not a big deal but can get a bit irritating after a while.

Overall we really liked Gaia. Relaxed vibe and Hilda is great. We would come back.

Some tips for Boquete itself:

-Don't waste your time going to the El Explorador Gardens! They have jacked up the price to $5 which is crazy. It used to be just $1 which would justify a visit. Not anymore. It is full of odd and trippy sculptures and thats about it.

-Get the waffles for breakfast at "Suger and Spice". Delicious.

-Try the fish and chips at Big Daddys Grill. Also try their house margaritas.

-Try the falafel plate and burger at Mikes Grill. Both excellent.

-We did he Cafe Ruiz coffee tour. It was excellent.

-Rent a scooter from Dave on the main street and go exploring. Very good place to ride as all the streets are paved. Get there early as his scooters go very quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews