We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Haven should be renamed Heaven!”
Review of The Haven and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Haven and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The Haven should be renamed Heaven!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We live in Panama and visit Boquete at least once or twice a year. We've stayed in several places but have found our perfect spot at the Haven. This is our third visit and, unbelievably, it just gets better and better. The grounds are incredible, the rooms are lovely with patios overlooking a babbling brook, the staff is so helpful and accommodating and the Spa is out of this world!! When we're here we get a massage everyday and it's hard to decide what is our favorite....I'm thinking the hot stone or the exfoliating or the relaxation or maybe the sports massage. All are incredible!
The Haven is located a short 15 minute walk from downtown Boquete. You'll pass Sugar and Spice which is a great place for breakfast or lunch and Big Daddy's which is a favorite for lunch or dinner.
Bottom line is, if you go to Boquete, stay at the Haven!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolyCrossSanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
What a wonderful review - many thanks for choosing us for your last visit to Boquete. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Haven. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    82
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
229
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Love the simplicity and the ambience of this place. Beds are comfortable, staff is attentive and friendly. Great proximity to downtown by foot. (Thanks for the ride Sonya) Only disappointment is that I went online attempting to purchase the soaps that they use and can't find them for sale to the public anywhere : (

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Glad you liked the soaps we use. We wish you both good luck with your move. Happy New Year from The Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We loved the zen like atmosphere and beautiful rooms The location was incredible. A short walk to town. But outside the noise of the center.

A few challenges which are pretty minor. The staff is lovely but they are pretty vague about activities, directions, and info. Partially a language issue. But more of a cultural confusion. For example, they will confused restaurant hours. And where to meet for a tour.

Also they have a great common room and pool but they close them when the staff leaves for the evening or their days off.

If you are going to boquette, make sure to do the ATV tour. Pretty scary. But incredibly fun.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for writing a great review. We appologise for some vagueness of some of the information on tours coming from the front desk. We will certainly look into this, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Happy New Year to you and your family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here late November 2013. The staff is exceptionally friendly and even the owner is actively involved in making sure his guests are satisfied. The place is well kept, clean, they have a nice gym, pool, sauna, yoga classes, jacuzzi and the massages are outstanding. The furniture and decor is modern and tasteful. I came in late in the day to ask for a massage after a day of white water rafting and the last girl was on her way home. At the owners request, she came back and gave me a massage. Now that is going above and beyond to accommodate your guests. We set up our own activities, so we had no experience with that, but they made sure we had a taxi driver when we asked for it. The owner helped me handle some credit card issues I had (red flags for panama purchases) by setting me up with his Skype to call the states in his office at 9 at night. Once again, going above and beyond to take care of his customers. Breakfast on the patio of my room with the beautiful green trees and plants, the well maintained grounds and landscaping felt like paradise. It's close to everything in Boquete, within walking distance..a long walk, but if you don't mind walking, its not bad. Otherwise, prompt taxi service will be provided. I would highly recommend this Hotel. If you are spoiled like I am and willing pay reasonably for high quality, you will love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has a patio that faces the base of the mountain. Take advantage of the spa se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many many thanks for your in-depth review, it is always good to hear when guest has had a good time. We were more than happy to help. We wish you Jason and your girlfriend a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Pros:
-Nice property
-Really good gym (includes a jacuzzi)
-Clean

The Cons:
-Pricey for what you get
-Breakfast consists of a granola bar and yogurt
-They didn't do a good job setting us up with activities (e.g. the coffee tour they setup for us sucked compared to other travelers we spoke with)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Jeff
we appreciate all comments made by our guests - we are sorry the coffee tour was not to your liking and we will investigate. As you can appreciate we have no control over independent tours, which makes your rating seem a little harsh. Just a note about breakfast we do also provide fruit, cereal, tea, coffee a long with the stuff you mentioned above. We are glad you liked our gym and the facilities in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at 4 different hotels in Panama and the Haven Hotel was by far the best. The grounds made it feel like we were staying in a sanctuary of sorts. The room we stayed in was well furnished and tasteful - the bathroom was huge. We had a patio which looked out to a brook at the base of a large mountain. There was free wifi and a well-stoked mini bar with beers, champagne, soy milk, perrier, etc - all available for a very decent price. Breakfast was included with the room and included granola, yogurt, fruit, granola bars, milk and exceptional coffee.

Their facilities were also quite impressive. They had a gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and pool. They also offered yoga 4 times a week. We also took advantage of their spa services, which were great. The service was also exceptional!

They are just off the main strip in boquete, although it was initially a little hard to find (watch for the signs when driving into town! There is little to no warning for the turnoff). We rented a car, so getting around wasn't an issue, but if you bus to town I think a taxi will be necessary if you want to go farther than "downtown" boquete.

I really can't think of any helpful, constructive critiques. We loved this boutique hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenandJulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you Kirsten and Julien for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we all wish you a wonderful new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

With an amazing, tranquil location so close to the lively atmosphere of downtown Boquete, you can't find a better location. Combine this with an outstanding front desk staff ready to help any way they can and you have a wonderful stay.

The only thing keeping me from giving five stars is they really should provide some kind of breakfast basket in the morning. Although the walk into town is short, sitting out on the terrace with fresh coffee and a muffin would be a great way to start each day.

Room Tip: Don't think there's a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to us. We all wish you a happy New Year from The Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
388 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 11 in Boquete
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven and Spa

Property: The Haven and Spa
Address: Ave A Oeste, Boquete 0413, Panama (Formerly The Haven Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boquete
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
#1 Family Hotel in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Haven and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Spa it set in a quiet location yet it's only 1km from town. The facilities include - fully equipped gym, exercise pool, infrared saunas, steam, yoga center, hot tub, relaxation areas & garden. This is a truly tranquil place (minimum age is 18), a child-free zone. Rooms have AIR-CON, some have large bathrooms with two sinks, comfortable (pillow top mattresses) king size beds, ceiling fan, flat scene TV and DVD, coffee and tea making facilities, safe deposit box, quality sheets and towels, use of robes, mini fridge, hair dryer, outside terrace, parking etc. Two rooms are standard with one queen bed and kitchenette. International practitioners, spa and health treatments. By car 2 minutes, walking 8 to 12 minutes. Lots of restaurants are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Haven and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing