We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our Cup of Tea”
Review of The Haven and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Haven and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently spent a couple days at the Haven in Boquette, Panama. My thoughts and comments:

Cons:
The place and rooms are very clean!!
Showers are huge with plenty of hot water (nice at that cool elevation)
Beds are very comfortable with plenty of pillows
Numerous outlets in the room (often lacking in many hotels)
Luggage racks in the rooms (also lacking in some hotels)
Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful.
Large flat screen TV
Tea & cool water available all day in the reception area (nice)

Cons
It is rather far out of town - Yes yes the owner says 1 km and can be walked in 6 minutes. Actually it took us a bit longer as we don’t speed walk. But still it’s removed and if you want to pop out for a sandwich or drink it does take some planning. We walked it numerous times but at night coming back from dinner I recommend a taxi. In addition nothing is really close by that includes restaurants, tiendas, etc.

The room I stayed in was small and opened out to a small patio which occasionally had people walking by. Limited privacy.

The walls are thin and we could easily hear people in the next room. Plus people entering or exiting their rooms could be easily heard

Breakfasts are far below the standard of the intended caliber of this hotel. Actually billed as “breakfast in your room” is a bag of granola and a banana. This is a common comment from other guests. When mentioned to the owner he graciously accepted the comments and knows he needs to do something about this “breakfast” issue. But for the type of place he is creating and the price being charged it’s unacceptable in my book.

There are numerous other choices in the area and for the price charged I would look elsewhere next time I travel to Boquette

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review - I am sorry that our location did not suit, we have driven & measured it several times & as you state it is 1km from the center. Our website’s front page says “about a 10 minute walk”. I apologise for our breakfast but I would just like to point out that there is more than you stated in your review. Unfortunate about the doors, occasionally we do have a noisy guest that does seem to close the doors with gusto. Generally however, people comment on how quiet The Haven is. We hope the rest of your vacation in Panama was a pleasant. Best wishes The Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for The Haven and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here during the Flower Festival. (Feria de Las Floras). The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful. The owner is an Aussie and very friendly. He met us even though we arrived very late. The beds are extremely comfortable. We also had massages one day which were the best we have had while in Panama. SO GREAT! The have an amazing gym and even have an endless pool swimming machine (a wave machine which allows you to swim against the wave and remain in place but feel like you are doing laps). The one thing about the weekend which had nothing to do with the Hotel, was that the music from the festival (which was at least 1.5 km away) was so loud that we could hear it until 4am. My partner sleeps like a log so it didn't bother him. This is also a very romantic hotel for those wanting a special weekend. Overall - one of the best we have stayed in Panama.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It makes such a difference to us when a guest takes the time to write a reveiw for us, especially one as complimentary as yours. So very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you both again some time in the near future. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Howard, Alexandria, and many others @ The Haven, welcomed us & made our weekend stay memorable! The facilities are fantastic, with a FULL gym, steamer, sauna, hot tub & an Endless pool, along with a peaceful terrace/garden area!! If that isn't enough to help you relax…enjoy a massage or any of the many other services they offer (we did)! Unfortunately, that conflicted with the YOGA class that was offered, but hopefully next time! The rooms were wonderful & you couldn't be any more convenient to walking to town, without actually being in town. Would stay again for sure!

Thank islandgirlmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you both for your glowing review, it is truely appreciated by us all at The Haven. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Many Thanks for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

From the moment we there we new we were in the best place in Boquete. Only 8 rooms but so much to offer. A huge 2 level gym. Spa which my friend and I took advantage of. Great massage. A swim against the current pool. They booked a coffee plantation tour which I recommend. When we arrived we had booked 2 rooms for us and our friends. They said we put your rooms next to each other....perfect. Then we asked for ice and they brought us 2 buckets one for each of us. The next day at cocktail hour....she came and brought us another 2 buckets. Didn't need to ask. Quiet, serene and relaxing. I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks from all of us at The Haven for taking the time to write a review - so very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day, we will be ready with the ice. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We were in Boquete to trek Sendero los Quetzeles and Volcan Baru and stayed at the Haven. We found it's facilities excellent:- the flexibility of the 'breakfast in your room' system suited us (we had a queen double room with kitchenette) and the exercise pool and hot tub were great post trek! The pool area opens into the garden making it a lovely area to relax in. Iced lemon water and herbal teas available in the Tranquility room all day. It and the garden are very nice open spaces for lounging and reading - interesting selection of books available. Owners are pleasant and helpful. The main spa part of the Haven is closed from 7pm to 7am. That might not suit everyone as no access to Tranguility room (main lounge area) etc but we didn't find that a problem. We walked into Boquete for dinner at night. Would recommend the Fish restaurant opposite Sugar and Spice bakery. Overall we were very impressed by the thought that has gone into the design of the Haven - there is for example a small sewing kit and scissors in your room. Great to find this when travelling.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanderlust_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for such a wondefully detailed review, really really appreciate it. So glad to hear you enjoyed your trip with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The spa is excellent, the massages are great, they were very welcoming, the terrace is really pleasant. Only the breakfast need to be improve a little bit. We will come back ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay and had excellent treatments. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is easily located at the entrance of Boquete. Our room had a terrace facing a babbling brook as well as blooming flowers and a variety of birds which can be spotted early in the morning. Their breakfast, although nourishing and basic, leaves room for improvement for a hotel of this caliber. The shower in our room was refreshing and rejuvenating with wonderful water pressure, an issue for some hotels in Panama. My husband and myself had two massages, one a deep tissue and the other a relaxation massage. We both felt they were one of the best massages we have ever had. I tried out the exercise pool with a "mechanical current" so you can swim against the current, it was fun and did prove to be an exercise session indeed. I also scheduled a private yoga class and felt the instructor Kaytee was a true professional. We would recommend this hotel and spa and plan on returning on our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivonne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

It is so good to get reviews especially good one, thank you. We are so glad to hear your stay with us was a good. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
391 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#10 of 12 in Boquete
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.8 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#8 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven and Spa

Address: Ave A Oeste, Boquete 0413, Panama (Formerly The Haven Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boquete
#1 Family Hotel in Boquete
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Haven and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Spa it set in a quiet location yet it's only 1km from town. The facilities include - fully equipped gym, exercise pool, infrared saunas, steam, yoga center, hot tub, relaxation areas & garden. This is a truly tranquil place (minimum age is 18), a child-free zone. Rooms have AIR-CON, some have large bathrooms with two sinks, comfortable (pillow top mattresses) king size beds, ceiling fan, flat scene TV and DVD, coffee and tea making facilities, safe deposit box, quality sheets and towels, use of robes, mini fridge, hair dryer, outside terrace, parking etc. Two rooms are standard with one queen bed and kitchenette. International practitioners, spa and health treatments. By car 2 minutes, walking 8 to 12 minutes. Lots of restaurants are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Haven and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing