We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of serenity for mind and body”
Review of The Haven and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Haven and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Boquete is a wonderful place and the Haven Hotel and Spa adds an additional incentive to visit. From the moment you turn off the country road into the Haven property you feel quiet and peaceful. The friendly reception and introduction to your room adds another note of positive reinforcement. The spa, fitness and pool facilities are all above average and the contemporary facility design is simple, but elegant. This is a place for health, so breakfast is very simple. However, Punta del Encuentra (Olga's), the best breakfast in Panama, is only a few minutes away to break your most ardent resolutions. The massages are some of the best our party of four had in a long time. Arelys was exceptional and I wish I had more time for her to make my body feel like new.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you indeed for such a glowing review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay best wishes The Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Haven Hotel and Spa is an upscale venue. Located in the serene setting of woods, and lush green mountains the spa welcomes guest to relax, to enjoy the aesthetically pleasing design of the guest rooms and many amenities offered. Free Wi-Fi. Eight rooms some with kitchenettes.

State of the art fitness equipment, sauna, exercise pool, message and other therapies are offered. The peaceful atmosphere and quiet is just the medicine for guests coming form fast paced lifestyles. No children under age 18 are allowed.

Day spa pass or temporary fitness memberships are also offered at a reasonable price.

Hidden off the highway as you enter the town of Boquete, just to the left after the first business (an agricultural store) you will see a small sign directing you to turn left to the Haven Hotel and Spa. The location is 1 km from the center of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains, and landscaped gardens. The hotel is designed open and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Haven during your visit to Boquete. So glad to hear you found it relaxing. Many thanks best wishes The Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Haven is located a ~10 minute walk outside the main area of Boquete - this makes for a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere, but the walk isn't always the easiest if it rains or after dark (though we never felt unsafe, we made the walk every night). The staff spoke great English and were nice and helpful, checking in to make sure everything was going well and helping us arrange transportation to and from the hotel. We used the gym, pool, and jacuzzi which were all very nice (the pool isn't big but has one of those water-treadmill things where you can swim in place). The garden area out back is also really nice for reading and bird-watching. Continental breakfast in the room with french press coffee was a nice touch, we ate it every morning on the private patio. The room itself was spacious, we opted for the non-AC room but the ceiling fan was plenty cool.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Everyones time is valuable so we appreciate the time you took to write such a wonderful review for us. Glad you were able to relax best wishes The Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. We were told by the receptionist that if we hadn't booked the "cheap" room we would have air conditioning. We were told that we could upgrade for an additional cost if we wanted air. Our ceiling fan was fine, during the cool night with our window open. The hotel had a pool that we never got to try. It closed at 7 pm and it was always closed when we wanted to swim. The location was quiet and indoors, our room was clean and smelled fresh. I appreciate the receptionist speaking good English.

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning...don't book the cheap room at $89.00 plus tax per night. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologise about the fact you were not able to use our pool - our sports facilities are open 12 hours a day, it is difficult to keep them open longer especially in our quieter seasons. You say in your review you appreciated our staff speaking English however, their terminology can be a little odd from time to time, we apologize. Again thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed at this wonderful spa/hotel several times within the past 2 1/2 yrs,,Every time is fabulous,relaxing,the babbling brook next to your room is so wonderful to listen to while sitting on your own patio.the massage therapists are all incredible,,this time i had the exfolliating treatment along with massage ,,delightful.The river current pool is very cool !!Howard is a lovely man ,his employees are very kind and professional .I have a driver that the hotel recommended whenever i am in Boquete ,his name is Fernando ,

Room Tip: by the creek ,,,each room has a french coffee press!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERMAIDLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

A big thank you for choosing to stay with us at The haven each time you visit Boquete. Really good to hear you have continued to enjoy your stays with us. We all hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently spent a couple days at the Haven in Boquette, Panama. My thoughts and comments:

Cons:
The place and rooms are very clean!!
Showers are huge with plenty of hot water (nice at that cool elevation)
Beds are very comfortable with plenty of pillows
Numerous outlets in the room (often lacking in many hotels)
Luggage racks in the rooms (also lacking in some hotels)
Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful.
Large flat screen TV
Tea & cool water available all day in the reception area (nice)

Cons
It is rather far out of town - Yes yes the owner says 1 km and can be walked in 6 minutes. Actually it took us a bit longer as we don’t speed walk. But still it’s removed and if you want to pop out for a sandwich or drink it does take some planning. We walked it numerous times but at night coming back from dinner I recommend a taxi. In addition nothing is really close by that includes restaurants, tiendas, etc.

The room I stayed in was small and opened out to a small patio which occasionally had people walking by. Limited privacy.

The walls are thin and we could easily hear people in the next room. Plus people entering or exiting their rooms could be easily heard

Breakfasts are far below the standard of the intended caliber of this hotel. Actually billed as “breakfast in your room” is a bag of granola and a banana. This is a common comment from other guests. When mentioned to the owner he graciously accepted the comments and knows he needs to do something about this “breakfast” issue. But for the type of place he is creating and the price being charged it’s unacceptable in my book.

There are numerous other choices in the area and for the price charged I would look elsewhere next time I travel to Boquette

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review - I am sorry that our location did not suit, we have driven & measured it several times & as you state it is 1km from the center. Our website’s front page says “about a 10 minute walk”. I apologise for our breakfast but I would just like to point out that there is more than you stated in your review. Unfortunate about the doors, occasionally we do have a noisy guest that does seem to close the doors with gusto. Generally however, people comment on how quiet The Haven is. We hope the rest of your vacation in Panama was a pleasant. Best wishes The Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here during the Flower Festival. (Feria de Las Floras). The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful. The owner is an Aussie and very friendly. He met us even though we arrived very late. The beds are extremely comfortable. We also had massages one day which were the best we have had while in Panama. SO GREAT! The have an amazing gym and even have an endless pool swimming machine (a wave machine which allows you to swim against the wave and remain in place but feel like you are doing laps). The one thing about the weekend which had nothing to do with the Hotel, was that the music from the festival (which was at least 1.5 km away) was so loud that we could hear it until 4am. My partner sleeps like a log so it didn't bother him. This is also a very romantic hotel for those wanting a special weekend. Overall - one of the best we have stayed in Panama.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Haven-Spa, Owner at The Haven and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It makes such a difference to us when a guest takes the time to write a reveiw for us, especially one as complimentary as yours. So very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you both again some time in the near future. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
395 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#10 of 12 in Boquete
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
4.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven and Spa

Address: Ave A Oeste, Boquete 0413, Panama (Formerly The Haven Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boquete
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
#1 Family Hotel in Boquete
Price Range: £73 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Haven and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Spa it set in a quiet location yet it's only 1km from town. The facilities include - fully equipped gym, exercise pool, infrared saunas, steam, yoga center, hot tub, relaxation areas & garden. This is a truly tranquil place (minimum age is 18), a child-free zone. Rooms have AIR-CON, some have large bathrooms with two sinks, comfortable (pillow top mattresses) king size beds, ceiling fan, flat scene TV and DVD, coffee and tea making facilities, safe deposit box, quality sheets and towels, use of robes, mini fridge, hair dryer, outside terrace, parking etc. Two rooms are standard with one queen bed and kitchenette. International practitioners, spa and health treatments. By car 2 minutes, walking 8 to 12 minutes. Lots of restaurants are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Haven and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing