We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and surprising restaurant”
Review of Il Pianista

Il Pianista
Ranked #20 of 103 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: phone number 507 720 2728
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful and surprising restaurant”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

In an unassuming location outside of town we had a lovely meal. The place did not open until 6 and we, too, were turned away the first time we went there.
The meal was delicious, pasta al dente, langostinos fresh and the woman who served us was a delight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ranfam51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    73
    27
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem in Panama”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This place is a little cutie of a place with very delicious Italian food. The bruschetta was spectacular, and both the garden salad and caprese salad were very flavorful. Good prices. The waterfall offers a nice view. Be prepared to roll your eyes and try to drown out the conversations of the middle-aged, lame, uninteresting Americans who think they are so unique living in panama, and the endless conversations about their braggings of moving to panama (nothing to brag about but actually pity). The good news is they'll think it's so cold outside they'll eventually move indoors and you can enjoy the deck and views without listening to their golf conversations. Also be prepared for slow service, but the owners are cute and nice, and the food is so delicious, it's worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama Stad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Send away!! Very unfriendly”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Door of restaurant was open, but we were send away - on a very unfriendly way - because he said was not open. Strange, we will never come here again...

Helpful?
Thank Tritoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Valle de Anton, Panama
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice location, mediocre food”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely little restaurant with charm on the edge of the river....got to watching listen to a waterfalls rom our table. We had brick oven pizza and a seafood pasta. The food was a bit bland, but the servers were friendly. I don't know how the food compares throughout Boquete, so maybe for them, this was great...or maybe it was what we ordered. I would go back because it is charming, but would try something else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlindream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant on a small river”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Good Italian food in a small restaurant on a small river. Very cozy and friendly. Loved the sound of the waterfall through the open window next to our table. Very reasonable prices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fritz137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Pianista also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Il Pianista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing