We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty place, okay food”

Punta del Encuentra
Ranked #25 of 106 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty place, okay food”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

i kept hearing how great the food is here, so I searched it out. I really loved it because the waiter was so friendly and the setting was so beautiful -- I could see birds eating the bananas in the trees -- but maybe I chose poorly when it came to the food because it was only just okay. The scrambled eggs were quite undercooked, the potatoes had an odd spice in them, and the tortillas were dry and lacking flavor. The bacon and chorizo were good, and it was a nice touch to have a beautiful flower on the plate for decoration. I would definitely go back but just not order the scrambled eggs again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyTraveler461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    26
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Punto de Encuentro (not Punta)”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

As breakfast goes, the food here is good. It was the only place in town where I could find real, fresh squeezed orange juice ($1.75). It is hard to predict when they would be open and often they were closed as I walked past every morning for 3 weeks. Expect a room full of
Americans-mostly from the west coast. (Very loud, impatient, pushy). The menu prices
would seem quite agreeable to them but to anyone that has spent any time in Central America,
the prices are high. There are many local restaurants that will serve you the same thing for half the price. Of course, you will probably need to learn enough Spanish to order what you want and socialize with the good folks that are from there. I rarely spent more than $3 for scrambled eggs and ham, an hojaldre (what we call indian fry bread in Oklahoma) and a cup of coffee at any of the other breakfast places. At this place, double that price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank phardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Love Olga and her food!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

One of the best parts of our stay in Boquete was visiting with Olga each morning for breakfast. The food was great and her beaming personality was great first thing in the morning. Thanks Olga for helping our daughter Madison to further her conversations in Spanish. We hope to see you again soon, most likely July 2014.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trmwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Wonderful people. Wonderful breakfast....just sit back and enjoy and don't be in a hurry........local place, very friendly. We usually have their omelettes and they are really good. Boquette has awesome eggs......very fresh and large. Love the people who run it...they really try and make you feel at home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank randeedandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton TX
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We wandered in to Olga's late morning and fell in love with the place before we ever ordered a meal! And then we ate. THE best pancakes ever, and the omelette was outstanding. Fresh squeezed juices and good hot coffee. We'll be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punta del Encuentra also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Punta del Encuentra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing