We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
265
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cell phone the owner each morning wonderful hospitality kind of place amazing hosts mountain retreat central america boquete town beautiful place three nights glass of wine randy kat ranchero estate cat
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location is beautiful and the accommodations great but what makes of Mañana Madera so special is Randy, the owner. His advice before we arrived and his help and willingness to answer our many questions while we were in Boquete were invaluable. We never went anywhere without the map and cell phone he provided for us to use during the week we stayed there. Because we arrived from Phoenix, we didn’t have any warm clothing so Randy generously provided us with fleece jackets for the cool evenings. We spent mornings exploring and in the afternoons we returned to the guest suite to relax and watch the rain storms roll in over the coffee estate.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1346barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I wish I could have stayed longer. My stay with my wife exceeded my expectations in every way. To start, it is a coffee plantation, and the smell of the freshly roasted and ground coffee beans grown there inspired me to drink the coffee (delicious) and I don't like coffee. The suite was spotless and full of windows, in order to display the beauty of the surrounding mountains and volcano. Excluding that though, Randy's hospitality alone would warrant a visit.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Incredible place, anyone looking for a very relaxing and beautiful place in Boquete cannot do better than staying in the guest suites. The guest suites are very comfortable and tastefully decorated, attention to detail is apparent everywhere you look, and the views are beautiful. Randy is an excellent host and will give you great suggestions on things to do in Boquete. Highly recommended..!

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 165AndresC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is the place to come to experience the peace and prettiness of the Panama mountains. There are two 'suites', little detached one-bedroom houses next to Randy, the owner's, house on this coffee farm. Our house was beautifully, tastefully decorated in an elegant, fairly minimalist style, and was extremely comfortable. The bedroom has a comfy bed, large fitted wardrobe and plenty of drawers, and a stylish en suite bathroom with large shower. A massive window looks out from the bedroom across the hills - a fabulous view and great at night for looking at stars/spectacular lightening storms in the distance. The living room has a sofa, TV for watching DVDs, dining table and chairs, book selection, and little fridge. And of course a coffee maker with coffee from the coffee farm, which Randy topped up daily. The living room has patio doors onto an extremely spectacular back garden, with a little path down to a gazebo that people refer to a 'the ranchito', where you can lie in hammocks or rocking chairs in gloriously peaceful surroundings, watching the humming birds.

The location is about 15 minutes from Boquete by car, up a huge hill. This is pretty secluded, and you can't go anywhere without a car. Though it's worth noting that Boquete restaurants are very spread out, so you'd probably want a car to get to the good ones anyway. Luckily Randy pulls off the perfect host by being helpful beyond the call of duty, but not invasive. He drove us wherever we wanted to go, and then either picked us up or arranged a taxi. He gave us a mobile phone so we could always contact him. And every day we wrote our breakfast desires on a whiteboard, put it outside our door, and at the specified time, he appeared with a beautifully prepared tray of food and drink. Delicious. He gave us good restaurant recommendations, and arranged tours for us - white water rafting (excellent), walk to a waterfall (quite nice) and horseriding (see below).

Any downsides? Well, the bedroom curtains were fine net, so the light streamed in and woke us up at an early hour. Due to the secluded nature, you can't pop out for a bar of chocolate once you're home, so planning is needed (though Randy did provide us with beer and wine!) And unrelated to the lovely accommodation, the horseriding trip that Randy recommended was beautiful in terms of scenery, but the guy in charge spoke little English, crammed two of us into a tiny front seat of his truck and drove us that way for an hour which was both painful and unsafe (and illegal - he made us duck to hide from the police), and when my partner's horse whacked her knee against a fence post, he showed zero interest in checking her substantial injury or acknowledging her pain at all. Lovely scenery and horses but I probably wouldn't take that trip again.

So in summary, this was a really excellent experience, beautiful scenery, delightful accommodation, wonderful host, and I'd certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My girlfriend and I just got back from 10 days in Panama, we stayed at 6 different places throughout the country, and Manana Madera was by far the best of the bunch. Randy was an excellent host/guide/friend, the property is amazing, private, secluded, and surrounded by friendly locals. Each morning we were greeted with great breakfast and coffee, went down to the Ranchito to relax (slice of heaven, view of valley and volcano), and then Randy suggested perfect things to do. Couldn't write more good things about this place, we'd go back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaMike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews