We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish great food and a homey atmosphere”
Review of Big Daddy's Grill

Big Daddy's Grill
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood, Central American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Lunch and dinner! Featuring the freshest seafood in Boquete, with the best fish tacos, creative and fun cuisine. Have a hand crafted Margarita on our new back patio, the most laid back and fun place in town!!
Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh fish great food and a homey atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had the fish tacos and they were fantastic! The owner came up and spoke with us for ten minutes. He gets his fish fresh everyday from local fisherman on the coast. Can't wait to eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Oh how nice to mention that Larry spent time with you and yes... that is the freshest fish for exactly the reasons you mentioned. Generous of you to write in and please, do come back. Yours, Elizabeth and Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    445
    118
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of Boquete's best”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lunch at Big Daddy's is always a treat. I've been many times and have had only the seafood because it's always fresh and expertly prepared. Service is efficient, and the margaritas outstanding. There's always enough to take some home to enjoy later, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredinpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
There is nothing nicer than a local, regular guest who not only enjoys our food & service, & takes out the time to say so, but also who is always, always a real lady in our presence. It has been, is stsill, and we hope will continue to be an honor to serve you. xoxo Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Can't Fight It”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Yes the fish tacos are worth the visit to this restaurant - did it and loved them. The fish portion was generous and fresh. The backyard seating was lovely - especially to wait out the afternoon downpour. Service was generally good although our wait for post dining coffee was weirdly long - like they had to run out to get some coffee for us. Prices were fair.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livethedream_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Oh boy. You are right! I do believe we need to responde by getting a new coffee machine! Ours is small & oddly slow ( each two cups is made to order).. but based on this comment, we will get a bigger and faster one. Thank you! Also, thank you for loving our food & for writing in. We are glad you did, on both counts! Yours truly, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Favorite restaurant in Boquete!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I absolutely love this place! I spent around 6 weeks living in Boquete and am only mildly embarrassed by the sheer number of times I ate here. On several occasions, I believe I even ate at Big Daddy's for both lunch AND dinner. It might be shameful if the food wasn't so fantastic! The fish tacos are incredible. Freshest fish you can find! The owners are incredible people- the kind of people that you really want to give your business to. Big Daddy's is one of the places that I will miss most in Boquete. I already miss sitting in the back patio area, drinking rum, and eating fish tacos... If you are lucky enough to visit Boquete, Big Daddy's is a must. And don't miss the rum tastings!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taliaelise54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for every time you came in. And fear not! You are NOT the only personto come in more than once a day. We were so happy to have you and loved receiving your kind review. If I could, I'd thank you twice.... today alone! xo Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome margaritas and fish tacos!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our second trip to Boquete and just like our first, visited Big Daddy's multiple times during our stay. The margaritas are wonderful (Larry puts a wonderful signature salty/chili seasoning on the rim of the glass). The fish is always super fresh and incredibly flavorful. Larry and Elisabeth are very gracious and friendly and really make all of their guests feel welcome. A must for anyone passing through Boquete,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LnazarethDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Wow. Another great review from someone in Dallas. What DO they put in the water there to make you all so sweet? I swear, next USA trip, I'm going to Texas. Larry is so happy you appreciate his fish and Margaritas (Ha. The Salt Mix is all Mine!)... either way, we loved receiving your review. It made our night. xoxo Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Daddy's Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Big Daddy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing