We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rafting from teens to seniors - exciting and scenic”

Chiriqui River Rafting
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rafting from teens to seniors - exciting and scenic”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

On March 21st, my wife and myself ("seniors"), our 29-year-old son, and our great niece and her friend (both age 14) had the pleasure of a day of white-water rafting on Chiriqui Veijo river arranged by Hector Sanchez, something none of us had ever done before. The rafting was exciting (probably on the soft side of Class 3), the river was scenic, we stopped half-way for a delicious simple lunch, we saw lots of plant and animal wildlife as we navigated right along the border between Costa Rica and Panama with two Indigenous guides in our raft and the 5 of us. Hector answered many of our questions about Panama as he drove us back to Boquette. A wonderful day!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Company, Good Rafting in Dry Season”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our second time white water rafting and we chose CRR because of its positive reviews. Hector the owner runs a tight, effective ship and really cares about your rafting experience and safety. We had a great time chatting with him, he has had interesting life experiences and is an all around great guy. He founded rafting in Panama, and personally trains the guides, who are all from the local area.

As a prior reviewer mentioned, Hector can come pick you up at the David airport if you are taking the early flight from Panama City. This helped us to make the best use of our time in the David/Boquete area. We kept our luggage in the van and it was very safe.

It's currently the dry season in Panama in March, which means that there is lower water and the rafting is contingent upon the release of water from a dam. This will still end up in Class 3-4 rapids, which was plenty for us. Unfortunately this can lead to some unpredictability - on the day that we went, they were late in releasing the water from the dam so we had to wait about 2 hours at the launch site to raft. We ended up having lunch and a safety briefing while we waited, which worked out ok. Just be aware of this possibility (even if it is rare).

Aside from the guide in the raft, CRR also employs a guide in a safety kayak which proved to be invaluable during the trip since it not only assisted the people that fell out of our raft but also other rafts as well. There was another company with 2 rafts rafting with us and at first I was curious as to why we all went in at the same time. It made sense to me once people started falling out of the rafts - all the rafts could assist each other in picking up people who fell out and the safety kayak was assisting all of the rafts as well.

The rafting was thrilling and exciting for the first half and calmer throughout the second half, which was a welcome respite. Our group probably broke some sort of record in falling out - 2 members of our party fell out 3 or 4 times. The two other groups on the river didn't have quite as many falls. We weren't sure if this was due to the paths we took through the rapids, or for any other reasons.

Overall, this was a great company to raft with and the rafting adventure was exactly what we were looking for. Note that if you are not used to this sort of activity your arms will be sore for a few days!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NeoKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've had a great time rafting down the Chiriqui river. Equipment seemed to be fine (although I've never done this before so nothing to compare it with) and our guides were really knowledgable. Great day and a lot of fun!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Low water, Still fun”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The owner of Chiriqui River Rafting is super nice and they have nice hostal on a coffee farm. Our guide, Juan Carlos, was excellent. We ran the Chiriqui Viejo which was a beautiful section with decent rapids, I'm sure it would be much more fun at high water.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splashing down the river!!!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is definetly a fun ride!!! The beauty down the river is indescribeable! Our guide "Tiny" was so much fun, entertaining and really knows that river. I have a bit of fear of water, not being a strong swimmer, but I felt very safe. Go on...be adventurous and get wet!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiriqui River Rafting also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Chiriqui River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing