We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel excellent friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casa de la Abuela
Ranked #10 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
1 review
“Quiet hotel excellent friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

La Casa de la Abuela was a comfortable. Quiet hotel. The room was clean and showers good with plenty of hot water. The bed was not as comfortable as it could be , other than that the breakfast was good staff helpful friendly and bi lingual which helps when ones Spanish is woeful
We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasa2011, Gerente at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Customer,

We appreciate your opinion about La Casa de la Abuela hotel.

Thank you for choosing us in your recent visit in Boquete. We are happy to know that you received the best service from our staff. We are working hard to improve our service so thank you for your review.

We will be waiting for your next visit at La Casa de la Abuela.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    86
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
81
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here in the middle of a two week trip to Panama. Boquete is a beautiful place and La Casa de la Abuela compliments it well.
The room we stayed in was nice, clean and a reasonable size. I didn't experience any of the noise issues and found the room very quiet.
One thing about this hotel (and Boquete in general) is that the people are so nice! The staff at the hotel were so friendly and very helpful and it was nice just having conversations with them! They also spoke English, which was great for me because my Spanish is terrible!
The staff really made this place for me, I'd love to come back some time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2017
Dear Customer,

Thank you for share your experience at La Casa de la Abuela.

We are glad to know that you expend such a great time in our hotel. We forward to seeing you again when you return to Boquete.

Thank you for staying with us!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago when we were exploring the area, our taxi driver recommended this hotel. Lourdes at the desk was very helpful, she even called and set up a hike for us in the morning at 10:30 at night. The next day she helped with bus schedules and set us up with a taxi when we had to leave. Being that we didn't speak much spanish, it was nice to be able to have someone to help us communicate. The rooms are very nice and clean, hot breakfast is served all at a reasonable price and you are on the edge of town, far enough away that it's quiet, but still walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasa2011, Gerente at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about our hotel. We are happy to know that you got the best service from our staff. We work hard every day to improve our customer service and try to make the most pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and even spoke English, which was a rarity in Boquete. Rooms and hotel common areas were clean and well maintained. We lucked out with a cloud forest view out our window but those facing the busy main road probably felt different. A little bit farther from the town center (ten minute walk). Breakfast included was decent but late sleepers be warned they stop serving it by 9am.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbirdcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2017
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Casa de la Abuela.

We are glad to know that you spend a good time during your visit in Boquete. We are happy that you got the best service from us. We are trying very hard so we are grateful for your review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 days the middle of March 2014. The party consisted of two couples with two rooms. The rooms were very small. One couple stayed in a corner room and it was very noisy. They rated the room unacceptable. My wife in I were in a room at the top of the stairs and it was small but not noisy. We would rate that room below average but acceptable. The continental breakfast was poor, it consisted of coffee, white bread, Jam and cut fruit. The staff at the continental breakfast were very inattentive, not making more coffee when the pot was empty and not refilling the fruit.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite road were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2017
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at La Casa de la Abuela.

We are sorry to know that we were not able to fulfill your expectations! Please accept our apologies for not providing you a better experience.

We will take your opinion to improve our services!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
America, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Although this is my first visit to Panama, I travel the world more than most. This little jewel in beautiful Boquete has worked out perfectly for me. This relatively new B&B is conveniently located just a few short blocks from Parque Central and the "downtown" area of Boquete. Besides its great location you'll find a spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, well managed place to get a good nights rest. Rooms are not massive, but more than adequate to meet my needs. Did I mention spotless...definetly! The owners and workers take a lot of pride in taking care of this B&B and it will be obvious to you once you set foot in the door. Breakfast is included and meets my needs just fine. Great coffee, juice, fresh fruit PLUS omelette and toast. This morning I inquired at the desk about a zip line and rock climbing tour. Within a few minutes it was all arranged for me without any work on my part :) Fluent english with a beautiful smile is spoken at the main desk. If I am ever back in Boquete, rest assured this is where you'll find me.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasa2011, Gerente at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Customer,

We are pleased that you received the best service from our staff and that you enjoyed your time here. We forward to seeing you again in our hotel when you return to our paradise Boquete.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Casa de la Abuela and thank you for staying with us!

Best Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

In need of updating. Staff are awkward. Breakfast is a joke. If you are staying there get a bed on the quiet side as road side is very noisy. The rooms and hotel are clean and safe.
Boquette is a lovely place to spend time especially if you are looking for time away from the heat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteHelfrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2017
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Casa de la Abuela.

We are taking your recommendations to improve our customer´s experience.
We are sorry to know that we were not able to fulfill your expectations; ; please accept our apologies for not providing you a better experience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 28 in Boquete
837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#3 of 49 in Boquete
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Boquete
Hotel Central Boquete
#7 of 28 in Boquete
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 49 in Boquete
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de la Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de la Abuela

Property: La Casa de la Abuela
Address: Ave. Central Boquete | El Huacal #12 , Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de la Abuela 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country style small hotel in Boquete, Chiriquí. Surrounded by magnificent mountains, featuring the best climate in Panama. La Casa de la Abuela is a family owned small hotel built on the grounds of our grandmother's house where four generations of our family were born and raised. Our beautiful rooms have mountain views, the family rooms have independent outside entrance and can accommodate families or groups of 3-4 people.Recently added 2 new Family Villa with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full equipment kitchen, dining and living room and terrace. These villas are full equipped to make your stay an excellent experience. These villas can accommodate 6 people. The hotel has free WI-Fi internet connection. We have an outside terrace with breathtaking views of the mountain.We are located on the main street, walking distance to restaurants, bar and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de la Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing