We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Piece of Land”
Review of Boquete River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boquete River Inn
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Piece of Land”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Boquete River Inn is on a really nice property with great views and climate. Ken the owner is easy to work with and his staff as takes great care of the property. A little outside of downtown Boquete, it will most enjoyed by guests with cars but still serves as a great hub to the area.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    10
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
25
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We recently stayed at Boquete River Inn for a relaxing week the in the mountains and it was exactly that. It is located just 5 km west of Boquete but just enough out of the valley to have much nicer weather. We loved it. The grounds and pool were always kept clean and the view of the mountains is breathtaking. He has a beautiful spot there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Blanca, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We loved our stay at the Boquete River Inn! The grounds are kept immaculate and the views of the mtns.,Volcano Baru and deep gulleys are spectacular. My hosts, an aging dog and a quiet cat were very hospitable. Their human was polite, very helpful and did all that he could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. It is difficult to find because the road to the inn can easily be passed because it is in need of the county's attention. It is before Boquette, but very near. The beds were comfortable and the accomodations spotless. I'd highly recommend that my four legged fellow travelers take their humans to this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: The cabanas are large. The two rooms are inside the main house, small but adequate with private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ichinome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Boquete River Inn for one month. If you plan to stay there, please make sure to resolve the following with the owner before you go: 1. Since the cabins have roofs but no ceilings, the rooms are not protected from humidity and bugs/insects. The two cabins to the left of the driveway are the worst since they ajoin thick vegetation and don't really dry out.
All cabins provide ready entry for all sorts of biting insects and bugs, plus snakes. 2. Make sure the owner agrees to thoroughly clean your cabin before you arrive. Ours was full of mold. Water faucets, sinks, counters were gooey and black. Kitchen equipment (pots, bowls, ets) were greasy. 3. The septic tank for our cabin was full, so we were treated to strong sewage odors. The owner does not check the tanks before guests arrive. 4. The pool is advertised as "heated" but it is not. The insufficient solar heater is not in working order. 5. The Inn is not 4 kilometers from the town of Boquete - it is 9 kilometers. 6. Make sure the owner has filled his reserve water tank because municipal water is sometimes off. 6. Showers allow no variance for water temperatures; water is either burning hot or cold. 7. Check beds to make sure there are no bars or springs poking through the mattress. 8. The Inn is very, very overpriced for Boquete, so you might negotiate a better price than what is advertised.

The owner states that the cabins are basically unliveable because of poor construction standards in Panama. But if you go into the owner's home, you'll see that his place is clean, without sewage smells or mold, and he has a ceiling! And if you travel around Panama, you'll not see such incomplete construction in other hotels. Guests at the Boquete River Inn asking for basic essentials have to argue with the owner before he complies. He has excuses for everything, changes his stories from day to day, and makes no preparations for circumstances normally expected, such as rain. He only does maintenance when he can no longer avoid it. He rejects any responsibility for the condition of the cabins he built. Everyone else is at fault. If we had not paid our month's rent in advance with no possible refund, we would have left after a few days. The best we got was to change to the "red" cabin which was filled with biting black flies. And yet, this is the best cabin of all!

The ONLY redeeming aspects of staying at the Boquete River Inn are the landscaping, views, and gravel walking/running paths. (postnote: owner charges $5 to do a load of wash.)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunluvr2, Owner at Boquete River Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for this opportunity to respond.
September, October and November are the rainiest months of the year, thus some humidy.
On the roofs/no ceilings... These cabins are built to an standard for 'temporary,' not, long term occupation. The small openings,where the roof connects with the upper wall serve to allow the warmer air of the dry season to escape. We're in the tropics, and also sort of 'out in the country,' 10 km. before Boquete, and yes, you'll see occasional bugs, mosquitoes, spiders, scorpions, snakes (rarely) and the like.
On the septic tank: As soon as the odor was reported, this couple and their 2 dogs, were quickly moved to another cabin (which yes, had not yet been prepped). The next day a truck arrived to pump out the offending tank.
Our 10 solar panels continue to work well, and often bring the pool temp. to 28 Celsius (82 F.), but they require sun, of which in November, there is not so much.
On water: New highway construction, involving the removal and relocation of pipe, has recently interfered with the delivery, and pressure of municipal water. Unfortunately, we've gone days with no water arrving our 1,000 gallon reserve tanks. Unlike the 1st world, concerns relayed to local authorities here, often go unanswered. Difficult to adjust to 3rd world ways. However with the construction finished, the situation should return to normal. IF it were in our hands, it would be fixed already.
On the other points about arguing, and my supposed reluctance to respond... I can't remember a particular issue, except that one of their dogs bit me and drew blood. But my choice was to let that incident pass. Thank you for reviewing this response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Today is my last night here. Ken is a horrible host. Stay away from this place. Water issues, at night in the main house you cant talk, you can here everything from the other rooms. If you sleep in the house ( not cabin) you cannot make noise! Ken told us in a rude way he cant sleep because of some music during the night. I was just skyping. Horrible it just sucks. Nocable, wifi is poor if you are in he cabins tc etc etc issues!!!!! With water, 4 days here and the four days we had problems taking a shower this is my last night and i will never come back! I hope you read this be aware of this "resort" it just sucks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krichard08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunluvr01, Owner at Boquete River Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Yes, the weekend of November 3rd, Panama's 1st national holiday, 'sucked.' Expansion of the main highway to 4 lanes has created many leaks for both residents and visitors to endure. Earlier calls to the Municipality for repairs went unheard. We did have water, but because the pressure was low, we asked guests to restrict its' use. We apologize, but it was out of our hands.
On music from a room in the middle of the night; it's simple... guests must be considerate of others. Playing any music at 2 a.m. is inconsiderate. And yes, we told them so. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Having read the other reviews (mostly good) I have hesitated over this review. It is true, there is a very nice dog and cat at Momentum - but I do wonder how useful that kind of info is to other prospective guests!
What you should know is:-
The location is lovely, very dramatic with outstanding views of Volcan Baru. The property has a very deep ravine as part of its boundary , not dangerous but care would need to be taken with small children. The look of it is fabulous.
There is a nice, well maintained pool within the garden of the main house which also has a couple of B&B rooms
The gardens are a bit 'plain' particularly around the cabins where some flowers would be appreciated.
We stayed in one of the cabins; it was fine but basic. If you are looking for somewhere 'no frills' and well below the average price around Boquete but dont want to go as far as backpacker style accommodation, Momentum is middle ground and probably a good choice for you.
We found the owner, Ken, to be aimiable and the young man he employs around the garden and to change sheets etc very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YabbayabbaDotNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We booked for three nights and stayed for one. The location of this venue is lovely overlooking the Boquete river and with large open areas to relax. The cabins are very spacious with a large sitting room, kitchen and bedroom. If you are a bird watcher then this is a good spot. There is also a nice pool area for those sunny days.

Things you should know: We booked one of the two B&B rooms in the house. The room comes directly off the living area come gym (with broken equipment gathering dust) hence you can hear all the conversations and comings and goings. The beds are very hard (see other reviews) and every time you move squeak so loudly they wake anyone sleeping next to you. When we asked to view the cabins due to a no show to see if the beds were more comfortable and quieter, we were greeted with comments over breakfast by the owner Ken (who worked in PR as we were told more than once) "I don´t really need the money", "I built this as my house not as a business" and the best "if you are in the cabins then I don¨t need to cook you breakfast".

The living areas in the house and cabins are furnsihed or dressed with no thought of creating a cosy, warm environment one would expect in a B&B, again see other reviews.

Ken and his place left us feeling cold and with a less then comfortable feeling. Unless you need a pet friendly place you can probably do better: we did!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
2.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
8.3 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
383 reviews
5.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
334 reviews
5.9 mi away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
7.1 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 29 in Boquete
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete River Inn

Property: Boquete River Inn
Address: Alto Boquete, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built and operated to Canadian standards.Cozy, spacious cabins (4) and B&B rooms (2) set on, and comfortably spread about our private 1.5 h. (3.82 acre) plateau. Sunny, yet refreshingly cool at 800 m.(2,650 ft) altitude. Spectacular views. Bright stars. Located 500 m. away from main highway, where it is both quiet and secure. Solar-heated 40' X 20' pool, no-charge internet, gym, volleyball, trails. Pet-friendly. Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boquete River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing