We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I needed ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boquete River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boquete River Inn
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just what I needed ...”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I spent 10 days at this B&B and I have to honestly say that it exceeded my expectations. First of all it was my first time staying at a B&B and I have already tentatively made arrangements to return the middle of April.
The owner/operator, Ken and housekeeper ensured my needs were met. My room was spacious, plenty of closet space, TV and private bath with walk in shower. Breakfast of my choice was prepared each and every morning. Fantastic music collection.
Great pool. Scenic trail throughout property, great for walking or jogging. Car recommended however cab fare into Boquete 5 - 7 dollars each way. For 60 cents each way one could also travel by bus. Another great experience.
Ken was very kind to offer a ride if he were travelling into town, which was greatly appreciated.
I had the opportunity to check out the cabins on the property and they were quite large.
I will definitely explore more B&B on future travel rather than the hotel, for it gives one the opportunity to meet other like minded people that are exploring areas suitable for retirement as I am. Once again, it was just what I needed ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen-Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    10
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
25
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I recently spent three weeks in Boquete, having booked and paid in advance for four nights here. Once in Boquete, I was going to expand my time at this B&B, one of the rooms inside not a cabin. Upon arrival, the owner, in what I believe he felt was a friendly sharing of info, proceeded to regale me with stories of how difficult it was to find good help from the local Panamanians, tell me quite personal stories of his past, ask me quite personal questions, all peppered with jokes of a sexual connotation and toilet humor. He offered me liquor (this was at about 11 a.m.), sat on his countertop with his legs spread while wearing shorts (after he moved the landscaping equipment off the kitchen counter -- not the cleanest of places), and all in all, made me quite uncomfortable. He showed me my room, which, yes, was sparsely decorated as reviewed earlier, but I didn't care about that as much as the fact that it was ungodly hot in there because of the front of the house being floor-to-ceiling glass, which was beautiful for the views but made the place uncomfortably hot, and the loud fan placed in the room didn't help since there was no cross breeze.

Another couple stopped by to visit, there were more inappropriate jokes and chat, but when I decided to leave was when I asked for my room key and was told there was none, that I was not permitted to lock the door as this was his house, as in, "This is MY house." I thought it was a joke, but he repeated it again in a kind of aggressive manner. I decided to leave at that point and did so, later requesting a return of at least a portion of the $200 I had paid in advance for the four days booked at the end of my trip, which was still ten days away at that point. I took up maybe an hour of this facility's time, gave ten days' notice of cancellation, and was not returned any portion of my $200, an expensive lesson to learn to not pay in advance. It was worth it to me to not stay there.

I get the impression the cabins would be comfortable -- I imagine the guests are allowed to lock them. They would not have landscaping equipment in their kitchen or be put in such close quarters with someone with such unprofessional behavior. If I had dealt with the woman referred to in other reviews, this may have turned out differently. In the end, it is what it is, and it has turned into fodder for quite a few laughs with my friends :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyTraveler461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zipolite, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very nice Boquete hotel with a good ambience, 10 mins out of town in the quiet nature with great views of the volcano and surrounding valley. Nice pool and Gym and reasonable Wifi.
There is a river hike just from the property, 15 mins walk downhill to the river.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_Hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This friendly dwelling is only exceeded by the gracious hostess. The breakfast next door is best enjoyed outside in ear shod of the river.
You will be glad you stayed in the country within reach of the city.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back face the river. Not that you can see it from downstairs but with windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedoc1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently stayed in cabin #2 at Boquete River Inn. Sammy was very helpful and responsive when we made the reservation, and also once we arrived. Getting there is a little daunting. The road is not paved, and there is a very steep hill just before entering the grounds of the facility. It looks much worse than it is, and with proper precaution, and slow speed, it is quite doable. The cabin was modestly furnished, but certainly adequate and accommodating. It was clean, the WIFI was great, the kitchenette really came in handy, and the shower was piping hot. The view from the cabin is incredible. Unobstructed view of Volcan Baru, and located next to a swift flowing river. No light pollution, and the night sky was spectacular. Definitely would recommend if you are an outdoorsy type who is looking for solitude and space.

Room Tip: Cabin #2...best views, best location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

we appreciated the kitchenette. we were able to cook many meals here and saved time and money. the grounds are beautiful and the overlook to the river below is gorgeous. the pool is nice. we were able to do a few loads of laundry after having been in bocas del toro.

i definitely recommend having a car as it is a bit of a ways from town and believe we wouldn't have been able to see all that we did without the car.

there are definitely bugs. also some rude roosters and dogs. :)

thanks, ken!

Room Tip: cabana #2 had a BRUTAL driveway--wouldn't recommend if you are driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_travels_702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at Boquete River Inn. It is located just a short drive from town (7 minutes' drive). The grounds are beautiful and the cabin we rented was large, clean and very accommodating for a family of 5 (3 children aged 6, 8 and 10). We would wake up in the morning to a symphony of bird song and we had a great view of the volcano form the front porch. We enjoyed having the pool for an afternoon dip after action packed days with hikes, bird and animal watching and zip lining. What makes this place unique is the very warm and welcoming owner, Ken, who truly went out of his way to ensure that we had a great time. I would very highly recommend this destination especially to families traveling with young children.

Room Tip: if you have kids you may ask for a cabin closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afroditi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
8.3 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#1 of 12 in Boquete
374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#2 of 12 in Boquete
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
122 reviews
7.0 mi away
Villa Marita
Villa Marita
#7 of 48 in Boquete
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Rio Encantado
Cabanas Rio Encantado
#10 of 48 in Boquete
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete River Inn

Property: Boquete River Inn
Address: Alto Boquete, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built and operated to Canadian standards.Cozy, spacious cabins (4) and B&B rooms (2) set on, and comfortably spread about our private 1.5 h. (3.82 acre) plateau. Sunny, yet refreshingly cool at 800 m.(2,650 ft) altitude. Spectacular views. Bright stars. Located 500 m. away from main highway, where it is both quiet and secure. Solar-heated 40' X 20' pool, no-charge internet, gym, volleyball, trails. Pet-friendly. Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boquete River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing