We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Harmony - Beautiful.”
Review of Boquete River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boquete River Inn
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Great place, Great views. Host is a great person. Cabin just right for the wife and me.
The cabins are seculded and at night if the sky is clear you will see stars that you may not have ever seen if you have not lived or stayed in the county before. This place is a great base for exploring Chiriqui Provence. Pleasant days and cool nights. Would not hesitate to return. Enjoy yourself and enjoy Boquete and Panama.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2009

We love Boquete and Panama but Momentum was a HUGE disappointment. When we checked in we were told of some water pressure issues in the area . Instead we had NO water for 2 days . Also locals were burning grasses surrounding Momentum so it was like sleeping in a forest fire and kept the birds away. We went to the unit with the only other people staying on the property and they confirmed water issues occuring for months ( they had been there for 3 or 4 months) but they said their unit had the least problems.They also told us several people had left. The Boquete visior center was not surprised Momentum had trouble but told us it did not apply to the whole area as the owner had stated. We offered to pay for the 2 nights we stayed and asked for a refund which we were told "No , I could have rented to someone else"....yet there was no occupancy in the other units. I ,too, look at these reviews and I can't believe people prefer smoke and no water to the beauty we found in town. Also did not appreciate the owner hiding facts. We never had any maid service which they say on their website that they provide.... I guess they knew we did not need towels when we cannot take a shower! When there was water the day we left I felt who knows if it's just available today, we no longer trusted the owner. So beware.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markenwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunluvr01, owner at Boquete River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2009

Water back…
After some four years of water distribution problems, the Municipality of Boquete has completed the replacement and installation of 10” pipe in the outlying areas of the community. The new 10” piple thus replaces the 4” pipe which was overcapacity, but which had served the community well before its’ dramatic growth began. The result: Water pressure is back, the water supply now uninterrupted, and with no further difficulties foreseen.
But when locals, who believe that the burning of grass enhances the quality of the soil, we are most annoyed with the smoke and smell, but at a loss to stop it. We never know when this might happen, so as to advise guests.
The Municipality here does not advise when the water supply will be cut so as to upgrade the pipes. Thus it is difficult to plan for outages, so one is often in a reactive posture. Our response has been to advise guests of the problem, and to haul water to partially fill our tanks, so that guests might have water in the a.m. for personal necessities.
In fact, when replacement activity was at its’ height, on so many occasions, not only ourselves, but many of our local neighbors were without water entering their property for up to three, sometimes four days. Things sure are done different here.
This past season we had various couples stay with us on a long-term basis… one family for six months, one couple for three months, two couples for 6 weeks and another couple for one month. All were aware of the water problems, and all stayed until their planned day of departure.
Finally, housekeeping service (cabin cleaning) is available on the property to weekly and longer-term renters. (However, we do not make beds up on a daily basis).Towels are replaced every two days, more often if desired. Additional towels are available for pool users.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

There we were perched on the edge of a canyon directly facing Volcan Baru. We enjoyed sitting out front of our "house" every evening watching clouds and then fabulous starry nights. We used our house as a base to explore outdoors around area - hiking/birding. Though the property is about 4 or 5 miles outside Boquete, that's an advantage in some ways. When it was raining or misting in town - it was always dry at Momentum. Also made for even faster access to David when going for groceries. You'd probably want a rental car for your stay here. The cabanas are modern and very spacious/open. Exactly as shown on website. Sparsely furnished. Very comfortable bed. We had some water issues while we were there, but the owner worked hard to see that they were resolved. It was nice to have wi-fi. Nice pool, but would be nice to have some umbrellas spaced around to afford a bit of shade from the brutal sun. Owner often rents to long-term guests, so it was nice to get to know some neighbors while we were there. The property is set back a short bumpy dirt road and down a hill from the main drag between David and Boquete. We had only a regular rental - not 4WD - so we maneuvered carefully and had no problems.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Our family spent Christmas 2008 and New Year here together
and had 2 cabanas where we did most of our own catering.
They contain all the basic necessities of fridge, gas stove with oven and microwave oven and have large bathrooms with shower and ample hot water.
The cabanas are very spacious as are the grounds on which they are situated.
The swimming pool is heated and immacuately maintained.
The units are located about 5 kms from Boquete so that a vehicle is necessary.
The on-site owner is very sociable and extremely helpful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of about a week

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I went to momentum more by chance. I was at the airport and ran into the owner and we ended up chatting and so I went to momentum.

Just outside boquete it is by far the most beautiful please i have stay in a long time. Secure, western amenties, and excellent location and views make this place a real hidden secret.

i stayed for only 1 week as I had plans to see costa rica (which is beautiful too by the way)
But I would recommend Momentum to anyone, best place to stay !

A+++

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank panamamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

It was a great first step into panama and the boquete region. We were welcomed and loved Momentum with Ken.

The place is absolutely the most beautiful place we have stayed in central america. We had our own cabin and it had everything that our house back in seattle had and a view that every morning and sunset was breathtaking.

You will be very happy if you stay here, trust us !!

john

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank leemanny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiyi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boquete
14.2 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
149 reviews
8.3 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
395 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
342 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 50 in Boquete
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete River Inn

Address: Alto Boquete, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built and operated to Canadian standards.Cozy, spacious cabins (4) and B&B rooms (2) set on, and comfortably spread about our private 1.5 h. (3.82 acre) plateau. Sunny, yet refreshingly cool at 800 m.(2,650 ft) altitude. Spectacular views. Bright stars. Located 500 m. away from main highway, where it is both quiet and secure. Solar-heated 40' X 20' pool, no-charge internet, gym, volleyball, trails. Pet-friendly. Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boquete River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing