We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, decent service, and bland, overpriced food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Pomodoro Spaghetteria - CLOSED

Cafe Pomodoro Spaghetteria
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: This is the only roofed outdoor River Front Restaurant in Town. Features Italian and International Cuisine.Why even be in this beautiful weather if you're going to dine indoors.Enjoy our garden tables as well. The most important asset of this reaturant is the quality of the food that is prepared fresh to order with the most fine ingredients. Don't miss it!!!
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice view, decent service, and bland, overpriced food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The location on a secluded patio of the Valle Del Rio Hotel, overlooking a nearby rippling river, is very nice, and the restaurant's best feature. Gustavo is an accomplished, pleasant waiter, who took our order pleasantly and got it right, but then another fellow took his place. We ordered and shared, bruschetta, a Caesar salad, and penne arabiata. The bruschetta was described as including tomato and basil (there were other versions offered), which it did. We were asked if we wanted cheese on it, said yes, and were charged an additional $2.00 for the added cheese. The bruschetta came on two lightly grilled slices of full-sized white sandwich bread, had no garlic or olive oil, and was very bland (good for aged hotel guests with sensitive tummies?). The Caesar salad had what was described on the menu as anchovie mayonnaise, and that description sadly (if you don't love mayonnaise) seems to have been accurate. Again, by our standards, bland and unimaginative. The penne arabiata was, fortunately, better. Had we ordered penne marinara, I suspect it also would have been bland. No complimentary serving of bread, butter, olive oil, etc., was offered, but we probably could have ordered some.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtnmarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad service, mediocre food, ok prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The service here was just about as bad as it gets. Salad took 35 minutes to come to the table (perhaps why the lettuce was warm), and we had to ask for our drinks about 15 minutes after we ordered them. Keep in mind that we were literally the only customers there, so it wasn't due to lack of staffing or high demand for services.

Food is ok, but most seems like it has been frozen and perhaps refrozen. Do yourself a huge favor and stay away from the odd tasting hamburger. Not sure if it was the sauce they use or the meat itself, but it was unedible. I'll give them one more try in regards to their pasta, but we're steering clear of most other items.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lobo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We heard they had good pizza, and I was craving it, so we came by one night. They had an all you can eat pasta buffet, which in retrospect, I wish I would've done instead of the pizza. My husband got calamari and I got cheese pizza to share with him. The food came out quickly and the pizza just had sprinkles of cheese on it, rather than a coating like pizza should have. It was not that flavorful and the crust definitely wasn't. The sauce was too chunky for my liking. My husband liked the calamari. The price was right. I'd come back to try, but NOT get the pizza! Service was good throughout.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I gave up on this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Unlike it's Panama City counterpart which is excellent this place is barely adequate. My last pizza at this place was similar to Red Baron, but burned. When it opened it was good, then slid down hill.

Helpful?
Thank BoqueteGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot for dinner by the river, off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We enjoyed pizza, pasta, sangria for dinner at the beautiful spot by the river. It's very nicely done, on the first floor of the hotel. There was a wide variety on the menu. It was kid friendly as there is a playground, futsbol table and a pool table to keep occupied while waiting for food. Good service, fairly quick, and delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Pomodoro Spaghetteria also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing