We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, best hotel in Boquete!”
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel and gardens are beautiful, and the staff is wonderful. Jorge is excellent, and there is nothing like drinking a few Saltos in front of the fireplace. Worth it to stay or just come for dinner and a drink.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoundK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you very much for your escellent comments. We look forward to your future visit to the Panamonte,

Best regards,
Doris Taylor
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my husband in a standard room
they have a great resturant with great food but was not impressed with the rooms
very small and expensive overall average

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idris Ivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

On a business trip to panama, I was pleased to find myself in a very european looking village named Boquete. This little village is up in the mountains not very far from David Panama, which has a fine airport. Checking into the hotel for the night, I was astounded at the quality of the rooms, and the beauty of the place. There are flowers everywhere, and at night, as the cool and I might say gentle breezes blow through the village. You can hear the river roaring through the village when you stand outside of your room. If you are intelligent enough to be a fly fisherman, you can walk to a trout stream, and if you are impressed with the beauty of Gods great work in this area, you can even walk about 5 minutes to mass in the village church.
If you like the tetons in wyoming, or the pass into zurich from Milan, you will love walking around Boquete and staying at this great hotel.
You will find that this place as a village has a feeling that is very european, and that this hotel is part of that in a perfect way. As a Dutch American, raised in a very european home with hundreds of Dutch and German relatives in west michigan, staying at a hotel run by europeans for generations, one can only say that this place feels like home. In my 45 years of business travel, I have stayed at some awesome hotels. To have such a small hotel with such great service, restaurants and ambience, in a small mountain town is quite astounding.
One more thing. There are many coffee growers all small in the area , and having gone though law school in Detroit, being able to walk around smelling coffee roasting early of a morning is a delightful extra.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roberts330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Best Regards,
Doris Taylor
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Panamonte Inn & Spa, last I knew, was the only registered member of the prestigious and exclusive Small Luxury Hotels of the World. There is a good reason for this: The Panamonte Inn & Spa is a European style hotel where the ambience is elegant but unpretentious, the service is impeccable and personal, the accommodations are tasteful and comfortable, and the dining experience ranges from simply very good to fantastic.
The gardens, already fabulous, were in excellent condition when we visited. And, the room; ah the lovely room! We had a Junior Suite (#3) and loved that we had our garden-side terrace all to ourselves. The room itself was nicely appointed and the bed linens and bath towels were sumptuous (sheets are fine 500-count Egyptian cotton, and fluffy robes and slippers are provided). More importantly, the three of us had plenty of room to spread out and move around. The oversized bathroom was very large with a large walkin shower and rainfall shower head. Also, the bathroom had great lighting (natural from the windows and plenty of other lighting)…necessary for three women when trying to get ready for dinner.
This Inn is full of timeless, country luxury with the most modern of amenities. If you decide not to stay here, you’ll want to eat here and walk the garden before it gets dark!

Room Tip: In 2008, The Panamonte Inn & Spa underwent extensive renovation. The Inn’s original, six interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Best Regards,
Doris Taylor
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in an excellent location and a lovely setting. The food is terrific and the presentation is really attractive. The bar is great with two nice warm wood burning fireplaces.
The climate here is cool, with an old volcano overhead. Great for sleeping!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Townhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We are locals, we live in Panama City, Panama and we always choose the Panamonte for our Boquete trips. The Panamonte is the oldest and most prestigious hotel in Boquete. Owned for many decades by the same family, its not just a business, but a proud familiar legacy. We recommend this hotel for those who want to experience true traditional service from Panama's highlands, a setting for relaxation and blending with nature and to enjoy Panamanian and international dishes from a culinary kitchen of excellence. Food here is all good, from homemade corn tortillas and superb coffee for breakfast, to red angus from Chiriqui in wine rediction sauce to other fine offerings. Nice log cabbin feel bar and the traditional fire place, its a nice setting for a drink or two, or three...with a special person. One thing, better insect control here would be nice !

The hotel is not cheap, but you " will get what you pay for." It always makes for a memorable trip. Be sure to take a coffee tour ( Lerida and Cafe Ruiz are nice ), also waterfalls and forest treck are nice, and if in good shape, take the Baru volcano trip (Panama's highest peak).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

As suggested in many posts we sat at the fireplace in the bar area which is at the back of the property instead of the more formal dining room in front. We had a couple of drinks when a nice couple from Panama City sat down and we started chatting. It was interesting to get their take on the Panama scene; they have lived in Panama now for over 3 years, from Europe. We ended up by the fireplace for over 3 hours drinking martinis. The drinks were perfect as was the company. A chance encounter where the fireplace was the meeting point!

I was surprised that the dinner menu was so extensive. We started with the Carpaccio (VERY GOOD) and soft shell crab appetizers. For our main course we ordered the cedar plank salmon and langostinos in broth. The salmon was superb while the so called langostinos turned out to be shrimp (perhaps the terminology is different in Panama). In any case all was good and a memorable time was had on our last night in Panama.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Summit4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
342 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#10 of 12 in Boquete
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamonte

Address: Ave 11 de Abril, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Boquete
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range: £123 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Panamonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Panamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamonte Inn And Spa
Panamonte Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing