We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place”
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Place”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in Room 2 which faced the large Mango tree and main Reception/restaurant area. We loved our room and we enjoyed the peaceful feeling of the place. While we were there, we saw a double rainbow over the city. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    63
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
83
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level Contributor
289 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

First, do not -- NOT -- accept a room in the converted house just over the road from the main complex, unless you like dank, small, low door frames (deadly for anyone over 160cm tall) and linoleum tile in your room. Serious Ick factor. Several of the rooms in the main complex are dowdy, too. We overheard a French couple trying to get another, better room as well, but their English did not do the trick. Staff has a limited, at best, command of English, so be warned. Also, do not leave your key with the clunky key chain at the desk, as it is often unmanned, and you will have to wait while they scare someone up who can help you. How this property stays a member of Leading Small Hotels of the World is a mystery. More points: the main complex is spacious, with nice gardens, and the better rooms are far from plush, but more than serviceable, and well-sized. Good luck getting a 'spa' treatment. They never seem to be able to organize one. I suspect they need to offer this to call themselves a 'hotel and spa' and keep their Leading Small Hotels designation. Oh, the breakfast that comes with the room is a continental breakfast, which translates to the Panamanian version of Wonder Bread, lightly toasted, with one (emphasis on 'one') pat of butter. Plus decent coffee. Speaking with the staff is akin to using a dial-up modem: many applications just will not work, and those that do work slowwwwwwly. At least the hotel is in easy walking distance to town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Film G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Great State of Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Since we were traveling on a budget we were absolutely thrilled when the smallest room at the inn fell into our price range. And though the room was cozy, the furnishing, linens and attention to detail were not compromised.

The property is lovely with extensive gardens, and the staff is attentive. But our favorite part was the bar area; I don't know how to describe it exactly, it's like a like a huge, comfortable living room with huge sliding doors that can be opened to make the room feel more like a covered porch. There are two fireplaces, and you enjoy the best of both words--being indoors and outdoors at the same time. You can get food service in the bar, and we ended up eating dinner there instead of the dining room. And just relaxing in front of the fire and reading. It's an amazing space.

Unlike other inns in town, it's in walking distance of the town, a plus for those who want to explore on foot/don't have cars.

Bottom line: one of our favorite hotels to stay in. Ever.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovingMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
319 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our recent 3 night stay in the Chiriqui Highlands was at the Panamonte Inn, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels group.

We therefore expected good things and were not disappointed.

The hotel is small set in lovely gardens with many interesting birds on view and we occupied a Garden terrace room (number 9). These rooms and the suites are all large in size in a nice setting. Very comfortable with two beds, a walk in dressing room, and a good size bathroom with a nice bath. There is a small terrace with sitting area backing on to the gardens.

The old rooms in the main house though are extremely small and cannot be recommended.

We ate dinner in the restaurant on our first evening and were particularly impressed with both quality and presentation - they even have some decent wines on their list. It is probably expensive for Boquette (and was sadly almost empty) but it suited our need sand we decided to dine there on the other two evenings as we did not find anything of comparable standard in town. There is a wide menu choice and the staff were friendly and helpful

We had continental breakfast included in our room rate and that was our only disappointment - this consisted of two pieces of toast, juice and coffee. We were not offered any extras so not sure if anything else was available - certainly this was poor for SLH standard particularly considering how good the dinner was!

Notwithstanding this though we would definitely recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Imperative to select either a Garden terrace room or suite - these are all excellent whereas the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a let down ! Had the Boquete trout......dry as shoe leather. The portions were miniscule and the price was really high for this town. There are several fine restaurants in Boquete.....this is not one of them.

There were only 3 or 4 tables occupied.............no excuse for such lousy food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a small hotel with rooms backing onto wonderful gardens, No pool but the kids loved the gardens. Rooms are spacious, bed very comfortable and my husband rated the shower second all time best from traveling all round the world! You can walk into town from the hotel. We had a great dinner here, with lots of nice touches.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguarMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This property was such a wonderful surprise. The grounds were gorgeous, the rooms were beautiful, very updated and comfortable, especially for Panama. I loved sitting on the little porch area and being one with the landscaping. The people in the office were nice. The morning breakfast was delicious and the outdoor dining with the fireside area and open spaces was very inviting. The dinner we had was delicious and everyone was happy. No pool or anything but that is ok. Did have a little bug problem in our room, tiny little gnats, but when we told them about it they sprayed our room and it seemed to clear up. Walking distance from the town. We had a little maid issue in our room, perhaps we didn't understand but the maid service wasn't what I expected...

Room Tip: There are some rooms with fire places outside etc...be sure to ask about choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meema21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
384 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamonte

Property: Hotel Panamonte
Address: Ave 11 de Abril, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Boquete
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Panamonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Panamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamonte Inn And Spa
Panamonte Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing