We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would return here again and again”
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
342 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“I would return here again and again”
Reviewed 4 April 2009

I have stayed at the Panamonte before so there was no question where I would book my group of fifteen friends. We grew up in Panama and return every five or so years for a holiday. We had spent a week in Panama City and came up to Boquete for a quiet retreat and to do some hiking. Well, hiking went out the window almost immediately. There were torrential rains and storm winds, power went out and then the water. The staff at the Panamonte responded graciously with no interruption of high quality meals (cooked on gas grills!) and pleasant service. We spent a great deal of time in the spa, which is very nice, and the bars, also very nice. Our rooms were of all grades from a small single to a garden suite. All were very nicely decorated in individual style, clean and comfortable. The garden suite was especially nice, very large, lovely patio and grand bathroom. The food at the Panamonte is really wonderful and reason enough to go there. Add a first rate staff and lovely accomodations and it really is THE place to stay in Boquete.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    63
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
83
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

The Panamonte Inn is a romantic resort with all the bells and whistles. It is a little garden oasis situated by a mountain river; in the valley between a volcano and a mountain. In this eternal spring like setting the gardens at the Panamonte have been cultivated into the most amazing English garden you have ever seen. The grounds are impeccable kept and everywhere there are different kinds of blooming flowers. I think I took something like 210 photos of the gardens and flowers alone!
The staff incredibly sweet and greeted us by name every time we came or went. They were always helpful and polite and more importantly, caring, going out of their way to assist us with even the smallest of request. The food was really exceptional and you could tell a great deal of care both in preparation and quality. The back bar is warm and cozy, and the staff there in the evening was very friendly.
The rooms are very handsome and it is quite peaceful here. Our room - we were in building across the street - was generously proportioned. The bed was luxurious, comfy, and provided a deep restful sleep. The furnishings and decor were perfectly chosen. The bathroom was clean and the shower was very satisfying. Room service was very reasonably priced and only took a matter of minutes to get coffee in the morning.
Our stay was great with the exception. There is a large make shift night club that accompanies the yearly flower show, which set up shop across the river, outside our window, which would blast music until the wee hours of the morning, Thankfully, once the doors and windows were closed, the room was relatively insulated from the noise. We would recommend taking the coffee/animal tour with the Boquete Mountain Safari Company (the yellow jeeps). You must visit the Wildlife Rescue facility. Our guide was absolutely incredible and we had the best time.

We simply had an amazing experience. We absolutely fell in love with the entire area and may look at moving here in the future. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Panamonte to my friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We didn't stay the night here but did hang out in the bar/lounge and the food was excellent as well as the service. The lounge was a great cozy place to hang out by the fire and eat or just have a few drinks.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1DayMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I went there thanks to the reviews, I am panamanian and so is my wife. I travel all the time and I hate going to canned hotels, regular ohh so complete locations with breakfast included... please!!! this is exactly what I was looking for, a quiet, romantic, different place. The food was great, the location and the decoration of it just takes you back in time. Forget about comparing this to valle escondido or the other places in Boquete, I can recommend this to very few people. This is for those that are seeking great food, a place to relax and to spend a romantic dinner next to the fireplace. Be sure to get cabin no.4 with the fireplace, not the standard suite...this ain't a backpackers stop.

  • Liked — The decoration, building type.
  • Disliked — the repairs being done.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgeymeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

The Panamonte was the best place we ate dinner in our five nights in Boquete. We ate there twice because the food was so delicious. Everyone in my party got different entrees and it was rave reviews all around. The dining room was very classy and the prices were exceptional compared to what you would pay in the U.S. for the same meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
214 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Beautiful gardens & we loved the fireplace as it was very rainy when we were there. We stayed in a Garden Cabin which I booked because we wanted the outdoor sitting area but it was too rainy to enjoy. I was very surprised that breakfast was not included. We did eat dinner there & it was excellent.

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens
  • Disliked — Need upgrading
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltspringsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

This is a lovely hotel located just outside the charming town of Boquette. We stayed in the house across the road from the main property and it felt as if we were in the English countryside. We loved the old fashioned comforts and friendly, helpful staff. We ate in the excellent restaurant and also enjoyed the roaring log fire in the bar. The gardens are delightful and all in all we had a very pleasant stay. Make sure you do the zip line canopy tour which is fantastic fun!

  • Liked — The gracious atmosphere and home comforts
  • Disliked — No bath
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
384 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamonte

Property: Hotel Panamonte
Address: Ave 11 de Abril, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Boquete
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Panamonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Panamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamonte Inn And Spa
Panamonte Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing