We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven!”
Review of Boquete Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boquete Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Susan and Jason are wonderful hosts, the gardens are amazing and birds wonderful! this hotel is a great place to stay with wonderful rooms and decor and a Great breakfast! The evening social hour a good time to meet other guests! We loved our two day stay and will be back! Thank you to the friendly and efficient staff and to our hosts!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for staying with us, it was a pleasure chatting with you. We always try to offer up the best baked goods possible at breakfast time. Things such as bagels, cheese bread and organic scones are an extreme rarity here in Panama, so it's wonderful to be able to offer such things. We do some of the baked goods ourselves and others are made locally by Sugar & Spice, Morts Bakery and independent organic bakers. We're fortunate to have the best bakers in Panama in Boquete. A few years back it was impossible to get any quality baked goods, times are changing… thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    62
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
128
496
37
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zollikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just fantastic. Stayed 3 nights here in Dec 2013. Susan, Jason and staff are such welcoming hosts. Highly knowledgeable and helpful. Great accommodation – separate cabins, hot showers, cable TV. Internet access in the room can be inconsistent (but this is pretty normal for Panama) but is great at reception / breakfast area. Breakfast was plentiful and choice given – can pay small extra to get the hot dish of the day instaed of the regular breakfast. Just wonderful to eat breakfast outside and observe birds feasting on the fruit provided for them. Evening has a great social hour and this is something other places could learn from. Great opportunity to meet other travelers and share stories. Definitely highly recommend. Take the Café Ruiz coffee tour – outstanding. Hire a car to get about and enjoy the area.

Tip : Careful if driving in dark, especially from David, as people walk along the sides of the roads and it can be challenging to see them until the last minute! Rule of thumb. Do not go over the white line!

Enjoy your relaxing trip the Boquete

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvr2zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We have the fastest internet speed possible 5GB, but climate and server usage dependent, this can fluctuate greatly. Like most things in Panama, it works well most of the time… Its always a good idea to drive when staying in Boquete. We have very good roads here and little traffic in the mountains. When driving from the city of David at night, drive the speed limit, the new road is excellent, but you need to pay attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
513 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Superb set-up in the middle of a dream garden with bungalows including 2 guest rooms on the ground and upper floor. Lots of flowers and lots of various birds around.

Very friendly staff ready to help you with everything. Nice, spacious rooms in a very peaceful set-up.

They organize each evening a happy hour for all the guests giving you an opportunity to socialize and exchange ideas about interesting places in the surroundings.

Bit remote from the center of Boquete, you need a car to move around or use a taxi (cheap).

The coffee at breakfast was not really a good advertisement for the excellent Boquete coffee brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks very much for the review and staying with us. It's always important to rent a car when staying in Boquete, you miss a lot if you don't have your own vehicle and you end up paying more for tour guides. Unlike the majority of restaurants and hotels in Boquete we do serve a premium coffee complimentary all day to our guests. We serve international award winning Cafe Ruiz coffee and have the blend made specially for us. Because the taste profile of our North American guests and European guests are very different when it comes to coffee, we have our blend made to try and find a compromise between the two. Many guests say it's the best coffee they have ever had, although, like wine, tastes are subjective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife & I stayed at the Boquete Garden Inn for two nights last week and we totally loved the place. The gardens are fabulous with many varieties of flowers and plants throughout the grounds. The flowers attract the birds and there are many species that call the Boquete Garden Inn their home, I suspect the free breakfast they get every morning of watermelon, bananas and melons help keep them there, next to where we eat our breakfast on the deck of the main office. The staff quickly become friends and are very willing and able to help in any way they can to help plan and arrange activities in Boquete. Every evening at 6pm there's a social hour where the guests mingle with each other over a beer or glass of wine and discuss the day's activities, we met new friends that lead to dinner on both nights we were there. Highly recommended and we'll recommend the Boquete Garden Inn to any of our friends in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Lily, a lovely room with views of the garden. If you sleep with your windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilsonsr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We always welcome sitting down with our guests and helping them choose the best things to do in the time they have here with us. We are also happy to make restaurant recommendations and have a number of free drink tickets for our guests, which are exclusive to us, for the best restaurants in Boquete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

3 of us had first stayed elsewhere in Boquete but Jenny & I were looking for a place for the 2 of us to stay for more than a few days. Someone recommended Boquete Garden Inn & we went to check it out. Before we had taken more than 2 steps through the garden gate and into the quiet and lush gardens we knew that we were home. Some places are hotels, and some are homes. This place feels like home: from the 6 pm get together each night, to the staff including Danny Abel to the owners Jason and Susan. We saw a more colorful array of birds every morning at breakfast than we did anywhere else. The rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable and immaculately kept. If we return to Boquete we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunbartom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Boquete Garden Inn has really become a bird haven, we now have over 90 species counted by various birders. Just recently a very rare bird, the Melodious Blackbird (Dives dives) was captured on camera here, it is ONLY the second documented record in Panama of this bird! A real treat for birders...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you're destination is Boquete, I highly recommend staying at the serene Boquete Garden Inn! Peaceful, lush, every kind of beautiful bird, zen-like rooms, outstanding service from the owners and staff and great location. The evening happy hour is something to look forward to at the end of each day. What an opportunity to meet new friends and share the adventures each share during the day. Danny at the front desk, is great at helping set up fun for your day and in any other way he can. Jason and Susan are just icing on the cake for your stay at the Boquete Garden Inn.

Room Tip: we loved our room the "Orchid " room. Upstairs near the rear of the property. Quite, nob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you both for staying with us it was a pleasure having you. We try our best create an atmosphere which is peaceful where our guest don't have to feel stressed about anything. I think we have a little help from the hundreds of varieties of flowers and over 90 species of birds on the grounds. We wish you both all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I'll give credit to my wife in finding this garden retreat. The pictures online do not give this place justice. The grounds were well kept and inviting to just kick back in a hammock to enjoy nature or snooze. Susan and Jason are great accommodating hosts making one feel at home and part of the family. Danny and Abel made all the arrangement for a fun filled day. The social cocktail hour was a great way to make new friends and talk story. It was good fun! My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Garden Inn. If Boquete is your destination, the Garden Inn is a must stay and is in a great location.

A stone's throw away is George's, a rustic restaurant with good eats at a good price. We were well treated by George and Tammy. You may get lucky to enjoy the "Music Room".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi Andy , thanks very much for the review and staying with us. I would agree that the website shots don't capture 100% of the essence of BGI. Close up shots seem to work well, but landscape shots are a challenge. I think you would agree that there is a "feel" to this place which is something that is difficult to capture on a picture… all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
2.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
335 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Palo Alto
The Inn at Palo Alto
#3 of 28 in Boquete
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete Garden Inn

Property: Boquete Garden Inn
Address: Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boquete Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Boquete Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquete Garden Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing