We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational”
Review of Alouatta Sanctuary

Alouatta Sanctuary
Ranked #29 of 45 things to do in Boquete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: DAY GUEST: We welcome those who wish to learn about our research, view the animals, and explore the Batipa Wildlife Preserve on Friday only. Tours start at 9 am and end at 12 pm. You can access us by boat or a car with clearance.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Sharing a few hours at this sanctuary gave us an opportunity to learn more about the challenges, successes and vision held by this dedicated group. The drive up the road was an adventure in itself - 4x4 only! The hike through the property would not be considered 'easy' as the damp floor and some elevations made trekking a bit tricky - our new intern guide Millie was a real delight to talk with sharing a wealth of information/experience. All of the staff were very most welcoming and we especially enjoyed the little anecdotes that they shared regarding the individual monkeys. Although we didn't see the troupes on the property we did hear the howlers before nap time. We look forward to updates on FB page in the future. Wishing them much luck with the sanctuary and future projects on plan!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank livethedream_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Under new administration - was a GREAT experience!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was an amazing trip for us. We had to leave our car at the bottom of the mountain, and we caught a ride up with some of the interns who had a 4x4 (100% necessary). It's also a possible 30-45 minute hike if you're up for it. We were greeted by two monkey friends who wanted to play with us immediately.

We only took a tour of the facilities (not an actual hike), and also got to interact with some howler monkeys who were not in their inclosures.

There were many monkeys in inclosures who we were not able to interact with, but our guide (Tiffany is great!) explained the reasons for each animal being there, how they were being treated to facilitated re-integration into the wild, and how we could interact with them.

Being able to actually play with the monkeys is NOT guaranteed, and it's easier to get the opportunity if you time your visit with their schedule. We were there at about 11:30 am, before the went to nap.

Also could hear howlers monkeys in the distance. We then walked back down the hill to our car (about a 25 minute walk).

This was a good experience not only because we got to play with the monkeys, but because the guide was very knowledgeable, explained the research projects they have going on, and was able to answer all of our questions.

Definitely take some time to see this if you're in the area! It was NICE to see animals treated with respect. This is NOT a zoo in any way, but a place for them learn the skills they need to join a troop and go back into the wild.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Enjoy the monkeys”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've heard of this place by accident. It is actually closer to David than Boquete and it is difficult to reach. Therefore you call the owners a few day in advance. Then you can take a bus and at a meeting point they pick you up. I just visited for few hours to take photos. The howler monkeys are amazing. I loved spending time with them. They come close and even jump on your back sometimes...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChicaBandita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila, pa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite panamanian activity”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I have to start the review by stating alouatta is between david and boquete, so its not very close to either. The hill is also rather steep if you are walking up from the main road (3km up hill) need 4x4, most cabs can't go up.that being said and the fact that I despise hills, it was so worth it! There is noting like having baby monkeys hang on you.
The animals there all depend on what needed rescuing, so when I went there were monkeys and a honey bear. I would never have been able to get this close to these animals in the wild.plus they are a great organization.their goal is to be able to release these animals in the end.
I would have liked to have gone in the early evening/morning to bottle feed the monkeys and to have seen the more nocturnal animals, but I am just so happy to have been able to go. Its hard to get someone on the phone; but use the email or facebook , its so worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sagtrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An experience you will never forget”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

On our Panama trip, this visit made the most impression. We will never forget this. So if you still doubt to go after reading all the great stories on tripadvisor; please go! You will have a fantastic experience, and your money is well spent; you support this great project. It is sad that projects as this ar needed in this world, but great that there are people who do this.
It is very interesting to see those young and kind students doing there job. They share their knowledge with you. You can ask anything.
Very nice to have shared the meals with them. Nice talks, good laughs. They really to their utmost to cook great meals. We learned something good of them; dont throw food away. Now we are at home, we recycle our leftovers as well. So we learned something..
The interactions with the monkeys; we will never forget. They really see you as their surogate mum. Cute!
The only thing what we found a little bit disappointing after reading all those great story's, was that the owner Judy, was not very hospitaly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alouatta Sanctuary also viewed

 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Alouatta Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing