We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bed and breakfast owned by very nice Kansans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Palo Alto
Ranked #3 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“A great bed and breakfast owned by very nice Kansans”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is a great value for visitors to Boquette. It was probably the best place we stayed on our three week vacation in Panama and Costa Rica. It's located in a quiet neighborhood outside of town, which is perfect, because Boquette is cramped and has a lot of noise. It's about a seven minute cab ride to town and cabs are under a dollar.

Visitors to this hotel will find the well landscaped courtyard area, along with the new outdoor patio bar, to be great amenities.

The price is very reasonable considering what is included in the package. Our rooms flat-screen television included US english-language programming including several major us news networks. The breakfast had a lot of fruit and the coffee was great. I'm all about getting out of my comfort zone when I travel, and I'm also a fluent spanish speaker. That being said, it was still extremely nice to have a really comfortable experience after weeks of traveling. We felt very relaxed.

The only problem may be the thin walls. However, we also checked the other hotels in Boquette, and believe me, this is the best hotel in the area despite this small problem. The management tries to mitigate this problem by putting people on opposite sides of the hotel, so it's usually not a concern unless the hotel is fully booked. But seriously, this hotel is head and shoulders above anything else in Boquette. Even with a little bit of noise, it's still the best place you can stay. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Be sure to write down the name of the hotel for the cab. They were in the process of changing the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPaloAlto, Manager at The Inn at Palo Alto, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so very much for your great review Steve, we enjoyed having you here. Our bar will be open in another week so please come back and see us.

judi isham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    75
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
123
189
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is delightful, as are owner Justin Isham, his helpful parents and manager, Robert. The rooms have amazing views of mountains and are very comfortable. the beds and linens are perfect, and the roomy bathrooms have wonderful showers with hot water. The flowers, and soon to open new bar, on the river add to the hotel. There is great value for your dollar. Breakfast is served to your glassed-in porch, or to tables outside in the gardens...with birds and the roar of the river to add to the beauty. The front desk can help with trips, renting cars or any other need. The breakfast is nicely presented and has muffins from the best bakery in town! A wonderful stay...like home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrMike44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPaloAlto, Owner at The Inn at Palo Alto, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so very much for your review. We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed being here.

judi isham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I love this place, it is exactly where you want to stay in Boquete!...

Nice place to relax and enjoy nature, the people that work there are very kind and helpfull when we asked for activities and things to do around the area. And the most important thing for my husband, me and my baby is that everything was very clean. It is not very far from town and we enjoyed a nice walk around the wonderfull enviroment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solkamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPaloAlto, Manager at The Inn at Palo Alto, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so very much for your great review. Come stay with us again soon. How is the darling baby?

judi isham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel. First off the couple that runs it are amazing. From the time you check in until the time you check out they are there to help make your stay amazing. The continental breakfast either in your room or out amongst the beautiful flowers is the perfect way to start ones day. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. The view from the room is Wow! My wife and I stayed here for a week and couldn't be happier. We've been to Boquete many times and stayed at a different hotel each time. Well thats going to change now. I think I've found my place. I'll being tell my friends who are looking to visit where they must stay. I'll be back soon. Thanks Ron and Judi, the couple who runs it, you made are stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPaloAlto, Manager at The Inn at Palo Alto, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Clay, thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed being here. Please come see us again soon.

judi isham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed a Hotel Palo Alto for four nights and for a couple of night we were the only ones. From our room, room 8, we enjoyed a view of the mountain and the valley and gardens. The owners were accommodating When construction of the outside social area is complete perhaps guests will enjoy a nice social hour. The continental breakfast was minimal and the pastries seemed stale. Not very appetizing. Also the lobby and front desk area smells strongly of very smelly dog. Even less appetizing.

Room Tip: Room 8 is on the second floor and has a terrific view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lovely new hotel in a resort setting just a short distance from the center of Boquete.
Very friendly and attentive family run hotel in a beautiful setting. Excellent for that quiet or romantic get away. Lush gardens and flowers around property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPaloAlto, Manager at The Inn at Palo Alto, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Aric, thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it. Hope the rest of your trip was good. Come see us again soon. Is it still cold in Atlanta?

judi isham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Valle de Anton, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Although on our first try, we missed the hotel, I called the number and the English speaking owner (American) gave us perfect directions to get there....even called the manager to come out to the street to meet us. I doubt others will have this problem, as they are in the process of getting new signs up.

We were greeted warmly by Robert, and were impressed by the lovely gardens within the compound. He checked us in, gave us all the info we would need, then helped carry our bags to a second floor room because "The view is better here." There are several 2 story buildings, ours with 2 rooms up and 2 down...and a closed in patio on each level that looks out to the gardens. The hotel is beautifully landscaped, with tables and chairs tucked here and there, a waterfall and lighting at night to accentuate all the tropical trees and plants. The hotel snugs up to a river, and there is a soon to be completed covered patio area where you can sit and enjoy the relaxing sounds of the river or enjoy a fire in the fireplace on cool mountain evenings.

Our room was nicely appointed with vaulted ceilings, large enough, a comfy bed and pillows to die for. The bathrooms were lovely, and the whole thing looked to be newly remodeled. A small fridge included beverages for $2.00 each, and a coffee maker was ready for our morning coffee. A large flat screen TV was in the room, and a large window looked out towards the mountains and valley and opened for nice breezes.

The hotel is just a bit out of town...not really walking distance to downtown, but is in a tranquil setting.

If you are driving into Boquete from David, go to 4a and turn right. You will cross a bridge that has steel structures on it. Turn left . The Feria de las Flores y del Cafe is right there on your left if you are there in January. Follow that road for 4.8 kilometers. The hotel is right before what looks to be a bridge with no side walls and is on your left, directly across from the Palo Alto bus stop. If you go too far, it's a wonderfully beautiful drive and you'll end up right back in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlindream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPaloAlto, Manager at The Inn at Palo Alto, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so very much for your review, we greatly appreciate it. You are right about the signs, they are up so nobody is getting lost any more. Please come back and see us soon.

judi isham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
2.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 11 in Boquete
127 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.4 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 28 in Boquete
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Palo Alto

Property: The Inn at Palo Alto
Address: Avenida Buenos Aires, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Palo Alto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the foothills of the towering Volcan Baru, The Inn at Palo Alto is a riverside oasis located just outside of downtown Boquete. This unique hotel offers spacious double and triple rooms with semi-private sun rooms as well as 1 bedroom suites which can accommodate up to 6 people. The hotel boasts lush gardens, a stream and a beautiful riverside bar and lounge area with dual-sided fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing