We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

The El Oasis Hotel/B&B in Boquete is a true gem. Their website does not do it justice as they have added an entire upstairs wing with suites and a downstairs restaurant and bar. We stayed in the original building and were very happy with it. The rooms are not large but they are quite adequate unless you plan on spending a great deal of time in them. There is no tub in the bathroom, only a 4X4 shower stall. My only comment about the shower is the water would go from hot to cold a couple of times each shower. Our room had a small TV mounted in the corner that had about 5 channels in english, including CNN. The hotel provides 2 computers for its customers in the lobby area. The staff were very friendly and thier attention to the cleanliness of the hotel was evident. The free breakfast was served on the patio of the adjoining home and was delicious every time. Omelets, scrambled eggs with ham, pancakes and waffles are a few of the offerings. Fresh fruit, juice and plenty of coffee are also served. The view from the back patio of Volcan Baru was awesome and the sound of the river running along the back was very calming and relaxing. Another great asset is its proximity to town. Walk across the bridge a block over and you're there. Very convienent!!! I strongly reccommend this wonderful B&B!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robanddaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    92
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
36
128
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

In early March 2009, I stayed at the El Oasis in Boquete after seeing its #1 rating on Trip Advisor for hotels in Boquete. I was disappointed, and I don't understand how it got the rating unless friends were rating it.

The room I had was small (#4) and located right by the common area where people can sit out at a table or in a hammock (I tried the hammock and liked it). I asked to change and the owner said no.

The room smelled musty and had a ceiling fan but no air conditioning or telephone. The room had a queen bed, a small table, a patio chair, a very small folding wooden chair and a nightstand beside the bed that stank when you opened the drawer. The bathroom was REALLY small. You step in through a small door and are at the pedestal sink, which has the toilet beside it, which is next to the walk-in shower. I had to hop past the toilet (no shower mat) and out into the room to dry off after a shower as there was no room in the bathroom.

Also, the toilet paper dispenser is the large round type you find in airport bathrooms with a continuous roll, and the soap dispensers, at both the sink and in the shower, were the kind where you pull the lever and liquid soap comes out, again like those you find at the airport and in public bathrooms.

The real problem was that there was no hot water. I spoke the night workman and he was very nice. (Everyone who works there is very pleasant and tries to be helpful.) He told me to turn on the shower and I did and finally got warm water in the sink. He left and when I turned on the sink water again, no hot water. So basically, I had no hot water to wash my hands. In the morning I showered and the water was barely warm.

This hotel is very well located as you can walk 2 minutes over a scenic little bridge and you are in the downtown. Boquete is very small. Just a little town with a central park where you can sit and watch people. Not much to do except tours of Volcan Baru. In fact, I cut my stay short and only stayed one night and returned to Panama City.

The El Oasis owner was not happy about me leaving early but didn't charge me for the second night (after kind of taking me to task), and she did call for me to rearrange my afternoon plane flight to a day earlier. However, she then demanded immediate payment for the room for the night I was staying and told me I had to check out at 8 a.m. when I was leaving for a morning tour. I did, but when my tour was over, I had 3 hours before leaving for the plane, so I went downtown for lunch and then hung out in the hotel's common areas. They also held my luggage for me, so that was good.

The hotel has a common room where you can sit inside and the common terrace. There is a pay phone in the common room and a TV that is not on cable. There are also 2 computers hooked up to the Internet in the hallway that you can use for free.

They have started a restaurant at the hotel and I checked it out for lunch. There were two waiters dressed up and nice tables inside and out, but the menu was really what I would consider a dinner menu. No burgers, fries, chicken fingers. Just full meals. The Panamanians eat big lunches, so it seemed to me the menu was tailored for that. I thought it should be more casual for lunch as most guests seems to be Americans and Europeans. That's why I went downtown for a burger for lunch at Bistro Boquete.

The El Oasis Hotel is cheap, $50 a night for a single room. But I would try someplace else if I ever go back to Boquete. The guides told me the El Oasis and Isle Verde are the best intown hotels, but I think I'd stay somewhere more in the mountains and take a taxi into town. There are many taxis available.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrwnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch, new zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

I stayed at El Oasis in Boquete, for 3 nights in February 2009, the breakfast was superb, the restaurant was top notch, the manager and other staff provided exceptional service, and the location was ideal. I had the most enjoyable stay in the most beautiful, and pleasant surroundings, with the nicest people running this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank tarns7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were getting desperate trying to book a hotel for the weekend in Bocas del Toro during Carnival. The owner called around and got a room for us. I felt as if she had saved my life. The hotel itself is basic, very clean with a good breakfast served in a garden where we saw many tropical birds feeding at the bird table.It is family -run and the staff are very friendly. The best rooms are #s 1,2,4,5,11 & 12. The others are rather dark. It is walking distance to town, which is why we chose it. Overall, it is very good value, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

We stqyed in this bnb for two nights and we enjoyed it a lot. First the price is vvery attractive and the room are confortable. The staff is very friendly and the hotel very well maintained. The breakfst is served close to a charming garden and the food is good. Nothing to complain about but a lot of good reason to come again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

El Oasis is a great place to stay. The staff and owner are incredibly helpful and friendly. I was sick for a couple of days during my stay and the cook made me some custom made soup. El Oasis is immaculately clean. Its in a great location and the breakfast in the garden is a great way to start the day. We wish we had spent more time here rather than Bocas. El Oasis has some great deals on monthly rental apartments. We would definitely recommend El Oasis.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The breakfast that is included is VERY good!!!! The entire hotel is very clean and the restaurant is very good! The staff is also very great.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLJ_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.7 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant

Property: El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ave. Buenos Aires, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Boquete
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are El Oasis, a countryside styled hotel inspired in our mountain farm of the same name.El Oasis offers comfortable rooms and suites for short and long stays, breathtaking views of our gardens and the mountain landscapes, and the attentive and personalized service that has made us the favorite destination of travelers seeking added value in their Boquete experience.When you are back from your explorations and the many activities around Boquete, enjoy an exquisite dinner in our Restaurant in the riverside of the Caldera River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oasis Hotel And Restaurant
El Oasis Boquete
El Oasis Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing