We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate Coffee Plantation”

Finca Lerida Activities
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Intimate Coffee Plantation”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

On a recent trip to Panama, we had the pleasure of visiting Finca Lerida in Boquete. We were greeted by our lovely guide, Rolando Vatgas. We started our tour right in the coffee groves and there began our very informative history and process of how Finca Lerida develops an amazing coffee. The plantation is quite small and very "hands on" with a great deal of the processes still in existence since the beginning of its inception. The number one focus is to obtain the highest quality coffee bean they can. And that they have done. Having received many International awards for their coffee.
Following our tour, we took lunch at the restaurant which was also excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Singa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Coffee Plantation Tour at Finca Lerida, in Boquete, Panama”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Coffee Plantation Tour at Finca Lerida, in Boquete, Panama was a delightful surprise. I never dreamed I would be captivated for 2 1/2 hours during a tour of a coffee plantation. Our guide was Rolando Bargas. He has a wealth of information about the history of coffee drinking and the processing of the beans. He seemed to be truly excited about sharing some amazing facts about it all. I was a bit surprised at the $40/person charge but by the end I determined it was well worth the charge. We did a 'tasting' -- just like the world's coffee buyers do. And we were treated with a cup of coffee and a piece of cake at the end. A must-do.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinB1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Naturalist & Interpretive Guide Hotel Finca Lerida”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel outside of Boquete in the cloud forest. We signed up for and took the bird walk with Cesar Caballero who is a naturalist attached to the Finca. Cost of the approximate 4 hour walk is $75.00 including lunch afterwards.

This is much more than a nice walk and a few birds. We were part of a group of 6 -- the other 4 had little or no birding experience and it does not matter. It is a fairly easy walk (3-4 km total). It is Cesar who makes this exceptional. He "promised" us that we would find a Quetzal and we did -- actually a "family". We were extremely fortunate because the male (often considered the most beautiful bird in the world) flew directly over us demonstrating it's spectacular colors.

Lots of different birds -- especially the 8 different hummingbirds we were able to find. We are not "professional birders" but this has to be the best 4 hour display of different birds experienced. Cesar is knowledgeable and patient. We shared his excitement and finding the 3 waddle bell bird and other beautiful birds. He shared his binoculars (recommend you bring your won pair as well) and took lots of pictures which we could then see after we located the birds. He also shared his knowledge of plants and trees as we walked through the coffee plantation and into the cloud forest.

The great surprise at the end was not the lunch (which was good) but receiving his photographs by email that even.

He is an exceptional guide in a beautiful and natural place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank IllinoisWETRAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caen, France
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tour de café”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This tour was interesting and informative, particularly the "Café testing".
However it was quite expensive and we have waited for half an hour at the end of the tour just to pay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yreka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Coffee Tour”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked our coffee tour with Rolando Vargas. He was very knowledgeable but, unfortunately, not only was his English difficult to understand, he was not feeling well on the day of our tour. But he did his best to keep us interested with a smile on his face. I found the history a little overwhelming at times but, then, perhaps that's just me. The premises were beautiful and the restaurant was good........classy but a little meager on the food portions.

As it was just my husband and I, we did learn a lot from Rolando about coffee plants and the lengthy process from picking the ripe coffee beans to roasting the beans and then drinking the coffee.

I have one last thought: They have what is called the "Crystal House" which is just a plastic covered very large room which they use for events - and when there is not an event - for drying the coffee beans. As to using it for an event, this "Crystal House" is really just a glorified plastic room and I can't imagine having any event in it.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our coffee tour and eating at the restaurant there afterwards.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PWO'Neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finca Lerida Activities also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Finca Lerida Activities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing