We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in lovely setting”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in lovely setting”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here. The food was fresh, from local farmers. There was entertainment each night.... first night a guitar trio who sang romantic Spanish songs, and the second night 2 dancers w/a 4-person combo who performed classic Panamanian music.
We took the nature hike with Cesar as our guide. He was knowledgable and his English was quite good. He later took us on a coffee tour, which included a tasting at the end, with coffee and cake. Well worth it!
There were lots of kids around, who appeared to be having a good time, so it looks like a nice place for families, as well. One family had reserved a house on the farm and appeared to be having a reunion or family celebration there.
The staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albacore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    106
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
107
163
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We arrived soon after the hotel was taken over by new owners - and I understand that the manager had been in situ for only three days. They had inheritted a couple of problems but did everything that they could to accomodate us. A couple of people (including me) in the group had rooms that were of a lower quality than average, and we received free meals and wine to compensate - even though we did not make a formal complaint.

A number of the rooms had already been refurbished and a couple more were being renovated when we were there. I have therefore based the score on an average taking into account the good rooms and the odd couple that have yet to be refurbished. Had it not been for the odd couple of rooms (which were worth two or three out of five) the score may have been higher!

The food here is great and the service is VERY attentive. I would recommend this hotel, which I am sure will be fantastic when the new owners have had the chance to make their mark.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Our 4 days at the Finca, whilst harvesting was in full swing, were fascinating and provided a thorough insight into the production of coffee. The views across the valley are breathtaking. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the accommodation in one of their cabins was comfortable. All-in-all, a very memorable stay at Lerida.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatriado45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Grounds, birds and views all exceptional. Rooms are darlingly decorated with new toile fabrics, wood plank floors and crystal chandeliers. (very Parisian, shabby chic) Fantastic shower. And a great flat screen TV if your travel partner isn't into the nature experience. I'd go back in a hearbeat. Be sure to bring their coffee home...we did not buy enough.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks for share your comments .
We are working for make the experience even better.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We spent one night at Finca Lerida, and would have loved to stay longer. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms really stylish with incredibly comfortable mattresses, and the people are quite friendly. We walked around the area, and it's very peaceful and has nice trails to go up to watch birds. There is a restaurant which has good relatively simple food, although the decor would make you think they're going to try to take it upscale at some point. The only drawback was that we asked for breakfast at 6AM so we could be out on the trail early, but when we arrived for breakfast, there was nobody around, and they didn't show up until after 6:30. Still, this is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris G, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest:
We want to apologize if your experience at our restaurant wasnt the best. Since your stay we had made some changes in our procedures and we had been improving in service and quality.
Thanks for let us know ur comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I agree with Sligo98-Finca Lerida is in a great location, has wonderful grounds and great potential, but it is run quite poorly, with nobody seemingly in charge. We had a disappointing stay. The food also was not very good, and the kitchen staff did not seem able to cope -long waits for food to be served, and when it arrived it was cold.
Special mention though to birding guide Cesar Caballero who is a real asset to the finca and an altogether great guy!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris G, Director of Sales at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Since your last stay we had made many changes, one of them is new administration and new rooms. We always are looking forward to improve and get better every day. Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is in a spectacular location, with amazing rainforest adjacent to it, but the new owners don't know how to decorate or run a hotel. Bad decor, bad service, and it's not even close to being Eco.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
We appreaciate your comments.
Actually we are run by a new administration since 2011. We had redecor the rooms and all the buildings of the property. Also we had added 6 more rooms: " Junior Suites" with Marble details in toilets and outdoor/indoors chimneys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Property: Finca Lerida
Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing