We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Even though we didn't see all that many birds we enjoyed our stay at the finca. The location is perfect. We made some nicee walks. The rooms are good and clean. Being a coffee plantation the coffee we drank was a little disappointing. At breakfast it was not very hot andvery weak. The coffee we had in the coffee shop was good and strong as it should be. There was not a lot of information available. We got the impression that this was so the guests book a tour. The price of the coffee was ridiculous.
In the special shops in Europe you can buy coffee that is just as good or even better for less.
On the whole we had a pleasant stay, but the price /quality of the place it is somewhat expensive.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Corbinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are going to take correctives in the Coffe at tthe restaurant.
We are going to send your comments to our Coffee Factory Manager about the price of our coffee.
Thanks again for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    106
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
107
162
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We participated in the bird/hike tour with Caesar. He was friendly and pleasant, very knowledgeable about birds, and had excellent eyes for spotting them. Among others, he showed us 2 humming bird nests, one with a baby bird, another one with 2 just-hatched super-small babies. We did not see a quetzal but the property was interesting and the tour was worthwhile. The tour provided small lunch afterward at the restaurant, and the food was delicious.

The only negative was that our tour appointment got switched around, and the email communication was poor. We tried to confirm the appointment by email, and they replied 6 days later. We did not get the final confirmation until the night before the tour - I think because we were a small group of two, and they seem to prioritize the bigger groups ahead of us.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelor109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Sorry for all the inconveniences with your tour booking.
As We had research all the communications problems came when the front desk clerk El Oasis who didnt understand your emails. When they sent us the request the dates werent the same and they even though you were going to stay with us instead with them.
We notify the lady of Oasis that you just were asking for tours with us according your email.
Unfortunately the information delivered to us wasnt correctly sent by them and for previous contracts we had a group periodically coming and as you wanted a private service we decided to offer you the service as private but changing the schedule for the tour.
Sorry again for the inconvenience.
For future visit please contact us direct, we will be glad to assist you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We loved this hotel! The rooms are large with fireplaces and renovated bathrooms. The shower was the best we had in Panama and the bath soaps and shampoos are top! The restaurant was so good that we ate there both nights. The trout and salmon were delicious.
Wanted to take the bird watching tour but there was not a guide available so took the coffee tour instead. We then did our own hike.
The hotel is about 15 min from the town of Boquete up in the mountain. It is definately worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We are glad that your experience with us had been satisfactory.
Thanks againg for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The property of the hotel is simply breathtaking! It's located up in the mountain, surrounded by coffee trees and lush forest. The Deluxe & Suites rooms are very nice. The restaurant is excellent: delicious food and perfect service. I strongly recommend the Finca Lerida Coffee Tour with Cesar: very interesting and entertaining. The garden is impressive!

Room Tip: I recommend the Deluxe or Suite rooms, very charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thanks for your comments, that make us keep working and improve our services.
We hope to have you as our guest next time you visit Boquete

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Pros - great restaurant with friendly staff. La Amistad bar is a nice place to relax in the evening. Kevin the bartender is a real sweetheart who speaks little English but is fun to converse with anyway. Loved,,,loved him. Gorgeous views. Cool and refreshing winds at night. Yummy coffee.

Cons - WiFi is very spotty. If you sit out in the middle of the lawn, it works better than anywhere else. Doesn't work well in the restaurant, bar or rooms. Lights go out periodically, which is not too big of a deal except we couldn't get coffee in the morning. And one thing I really expected on a coffee farm was individual coffee makers with local coffee in the rooms. Must get dressed and walk down to the restaurant for AM coffee (when electricity is not out) or for a pitcher of ice for cold drinks. Still rated a 4 since it is a wonderful place to relax. Also...expensive restaurant and pricey tours.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchingtogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thanks for all your coments. We had take some of your coments and used as reference for improve the service.
Since you had stayed with us the WIFI system had change. We have a better distribution of the signal routers along the property.Unfortunately as part of some improvements along the route David Boquete, the electric service was suspended meanwhile they were removing branches and moving electric poles. Is a shame but is nothing we can control at the moment. As soon as the works end Boquete wont have this problems.
We are going to take your suggestions about coffee makers in the rooms and show the option to the owners.
Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We've been living in Panama for over a year and I -finally- get why people want to retire here. Boquete was beautiful and a cool oasis away from the city. Finca Lerida capitalizes on that and helps you feel like you are completely separate from the world. For those of you coming from the States, the service will be slightly above average for a hotel of the same caliber. For Panama, we were blown away--FINALLY a place with great staff who smile, are prompt, offer suggestions that make sense, are helpful, knowledgeable about the product, take pride in their work and their place of employment, and genuinely care about the guests and their stay. Even the housekeeping staff paid extra attention to detail and were so kind.

Where to start?

- The rooms were clean, fresh, bright (but not at night with the excellent room-darkening shades), and were an interesting contrast of vintage meets modern. The hard wood plank flooring was a nice touch and in good shape. There was plenty of closet space/storage for a several days' visit. The beds were firm yet comfortable and bed-bug free. There were warm down comforters on the beds. The bathroom had a funky shower with a built-in radio and lights (the shower looked like it was on the lower end of quality but appeared very new). There were nice soaps and lotions, and a plush robe.

- The location was stunning. You are literally in the clouds. The grounds are immaculately maintained and there are cute little birdhouses with lights under them all over the pathways. Even though it was windy and misty most of our stay, we did have some sunny spots and we took a little hike to a waterfall near the property. I want to return. This was the coldest I have been in Panama at between 60-70 degrees.

- The restaurant staff was top-notch. Most of the staff (both hotel and restaurant) appeared to speak good English. The food was a bit pricier than what one would want to pay for every meal out but it matched the high quality and taste of the food. We had the trout and a chicken dish that had sides of pumpkin and parsnip puree, respectively. Excellent flavor. The kids had chicken fingers and fries--with a sprig of rosemary from their herb garden for extra effect. The chef was very attentive to our needs and even procured a turkey for Thanksgiving on his own initiative!

- Speaking of kids, our group had nine children between us ranging in age from 2-13 and the staff were all super nice to the children, always smiling, and very accomodating.

- The only suggestion I would have for the hotel is to put a bit more info on the website about exactly where the hotel is located. It is approximately 600-700 m higher above Boquete, so don't make my mistake and look at the weather report (lows of 70) for Boquete when planning your wardrobe! ;-)

- In sum, I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return as often as possible. It is my new favorite location in Panama.

Room Tip: We chose one of the deluxe rooms with a hammock. When we return, I'd probably pick one a simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad that your stay with us had been pleasant.
We are going to take note of your comments for the future.
Thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. This is our second time there and we love this fantastic place. The only problem we found was that we couldn't use the chimney in the room for security reasons (the nights are cold) and that we ordered rooms service and never got it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avivmo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your comments and we will take note of them.
At the moment our indoor chimney are just for decoration, we are not using them for security reasons ( smoke in the rooms)
We are going to improve in room service for future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Property: Finca Lerida
Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing