We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee plantation”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a great place to get away from the crowd and enjoy peace and great hospitality, great food, outstanding views and warm accommodations. The staff at this coffee plantation are the best, they greeted us warmly even though we arrived late in the evening and even fixed us a late meal. The restaurant is small and so is the entire facility, and that is what makes it all the more worth the stay, private and quiet. Lots of coffee bean groves to roam for pleasant afternoon walks.

Room Tip: Can not go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I had this place almost all to ourselves for his 60th birthday trip. Absolutely loved waking to the birds singing every morning. The flowers and grounds were beyond beautiful. We had breakfast on the deck with a hummingbird every morning and terrific dinners with lovely wine in the restaurant by candle light in the evenings. Loved sitting on our own porch overlooking the entire stunning place. And any day a bartender walks outside to pick fresh mint for your mojito, you will get a thumbs up from me. Enjoyed every minute we were there!

Room Tip: Ask for the best view. You will have to walk up and down the hill but so worth it and you get your e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debrahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A short drive from David on a modern road. Drive through the town of Boquete and up the mountain. The directions could have been a little more clear but with a little roadside inquiry it was okay. Pretty well marked once you get there. The road is not for the faint of heart.

The grounds are beautiful and like other quest comments lots of birds in many sizes and colors. Lots of hummingbirds. We did the coffee plantation tour. (The hotel is part of it.) A little expensive but fun.

Had lunch and dinner. At lunch we sat on the veranda and saw many birds as they have a feeding station right below. The food was very good and the staff attentive. Too bad the bar wasn't open. Nothing to do around their at night and at least for the first time we weren't going to brave the drive down to Boquete and back up the mountain.

Room Tip: The bungalow styles are nice and a little more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richsan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Finca Lerida for 3 nights in early April, 2014. The setting is gorgeous---up at the secluded end of a valley with lush, green views in every direction. The grounds were immaculately maintained and our room (a junior suite) and its bathroom were clean and spacious. Service was excellent, from the front desk to the restaurant. Birding was good right around the rooms and restaurant; there, we saw many species including Green Violetear, Scintillant Hummingbird, Magnificant Hummingbird, White-throated Thrush, Ruddy-capped Nightingale-Thrush, Orange-billed Nightingale-Thrush, Slaty Flowerpiercer, Flame-colored Tanager, and Rose-breasted Grosbeak. Our first morning there, we birded the facility’s trails with Finca Lerida’s fantastic guide Cesar Caballero, who has a 4-year college degree in Ecological Tourism and knows all the birds not only by sight, but by call, song, and behavior as well. With him we saw many new birds for us including White-throated Mountain-Gem, Violet Sabrewing, White-tailed Emerald, Resplendent Quetzal, Blue-throated Toucanet, Black-faced Solitaire, Mountain Elaenia, Dark Pewee, Yellowish Flycatcher, and Red-faced Spinetail. All in all, it was a wonderful stay in a gorgeous location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed as part of a tour of Central America and loved it as the area around the hotel is beautiful, with good walking trails and lovely scenery. The coffee plantation tour and tasting was very interesting. They sell coffee beans to Fortnum and Mason's in London at £40 for a 125gm. very exclusive tin!!!!! The coffee served at breakfast. lunch and dinner is excellent too. Our room hadn't been updated but was very pleasant surrounded by lovely gardens and just up from the restaurant. Beware if you have mobility problems as the site is steep and spread out. The restaurant food was good but the staff were rushed off their feet, resulting in quite long waits. Breakfast was quite good by Central American standards and the views from the restaurant are spectacular.

Room Tip: Get one near to the restaurant as it is very spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have very mixed feelings about this place.
The positives:
-The property is as beautiful as any we have seen anywhere in the world. The landscaping is well established, well manicured and blooming with color everywhere.
-The flowers attract thousands of hummingbirds, it is an amazing site.
-The location was perfect for what we wanted, higher up the mountain and closest to birding and hiking. The area surrounding the hotel is so scenic and beautiful. Town is easily accessible, a 15 min drive.
- We had a suite right above the restaurant and it was very nice. Well furnished and a nice fireplace outside. Very clean.
- Wireless internet worked great, which you may not get in a remote location like this.
The negatives:
-Service was really bad, from the front desk to the restaurant. A few examples: We changed our reservation a few weeks earlier and the manager responded, but at check in there was no record of that and as a result they had know idea who we were. Front desk English is not good so we had a hard time communicating any issues or getting help on anything. They really didn't seem to care much at all and we spent a lot of time waiting to try and talk to them. Very strange considering this hotel targets birders who primarily come from the US and UK. We wanted to go hiking and birding outside the facility, but they have no maps and would not assist in anything off the property. We had to go into town and found a map from a tourist info stop that was actually from a local inn with trails and arrange for guides. There were many birders that we talked to there and all made their own arrangements with different companies. We tried to make reservations for dinner in the afternoon and there was nobody who spoke English to take our reservation.
- We originally booked a bird tour on the property until we realized it was twice as expensive as going having a guide pick us up and take us to the birding hot spots. We wanted to see the resplendent quetzal, and you need to go to the trails to see them. The tours cost as much for guests as anyone they bus in outside the property.
- The restaurant food was mediocre for this level of hotel and the service was slow. It was full because they have a captive audience if you don't have a car. We thankfully could go into town where we had good food.
- Little things like a fireplace and no matches in the room, one mirror in a corner of the bathroom that is almost completely unusable, hot water than ran out within 5 minutes of a shower even though they have a luxurious spa tub and shower (and even lounger in the bathroom), no ice, the bar was closed the whole time we were there.

We paid a lot of money for a suite, it was our anniversary. We stayed in four hotels on our stay in Panama and this was the only disappointment. They have a huge presence in Panama, with flyers everywhere we went and a store at the airport. We stayed here because of the reputation and the guidebooks recommend this as the place to stay for birders, but it really didn't deliver on expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

For those of us who travel extensively and have had to but up with cookie-cutter hotel rooms, bland buffets and indifferent staff, we take note when we come across something truly wonderful and special. I had the privilege of staying at Finca Lerida during Valentine's Day weekend and was moved in a way that few places have succeeded in the world. Boquete is already a special place where no matter how many tacky, poorly executed establishments open, the sheer beauty of its greenery, vibrant produce and dramatic landscape continue to trump them. This special hotel tucked in the side of one of Boquete's mountains is a gem with a great sense of place. The property is a working coffee plantation that produces geisha coffee -- the world's most expensive coffee varietal at the moment. Its grounds are full of mature trees, natural and manicured shrubs, fruit orchards, herb gardens and flowering trees all bursting with life and beauty.
The staff is pleasant, knowledgeable and hard working. The restaurant is small, but does its best to accommodate international palates while proposing local specialties during each meal. When we ordered tea after dinner, they brought out a cart with potted plants with different fresh herbs. They clipped an amazing plant called oro azul (blue gold) that tasted naturally of mint, honey and thai basil.
The multi-million dollar renovation resulted in well appointed, comfortable rooms with classic touches like elegant wainscoting, toile de jouy fabrics, and a soothing color palate that would not look out of place at a Ritz Carlton.
The serenity that one breathes each morning when the senses are inundated with the natural beauty is truly uplifting and replenishing. The whole property smells of blooming sweet flowers, fragrant fruit and roasting coffee. Invigorating nature walks on well marked paths in the property provide plenty of exercise and for those who are into bird watching, the thrill of a lifetime. The sounds that the birds make are otherworldly, so much so that at a certain moment I felt like I was in scene from "Hunger Games."
Finca Lérida is a unique place where body, soul and mind can go to relax, rest and replenish. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room near the restaurant which becomes the center of gravity during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kulturvultur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
344 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#5 of 12 in Boquete
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range: £95 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing