We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Experience, Exceeded Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverside Inn Boquete
Ranked #5 of 30 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class Experience, Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside Inn for 3 nights in order to get away for a bit of R&R and also to get some reading and work done. We have been to Boquete 3 different times and always love to visit the area, but this particular trip was the best yet. I am very particular about lodging and pay attention to small details as I have worked in the Hospitality Industry for over 15 years. The Riverside Inn exceeded our expectations! The location of the inn is great, located just a couple of minutes by car or about 20 minutes walking from town. We enjoyed being a little bit outside of town as it was more peaceful and more natural, yet we were still close enough to enjoy the quaintness of the town. We went on a great walk/hike from the hotel that was just lovely and we both feel that the location of Riverside is the best in Boquete. The decoration of the inn is very comfortable and elegant. The rooms are also well-appointed with comfortable beds, soft linens, nice pillows and large windows for natural light and fresh Boquete air. The inn has a total of 6 rooms and 3 different shared living spaces, allowing for privacy and comfort. In the evenings, lamps are turned on and candles are lit throughout the inn, creating a lovely and warm environment. The "Honor Bar" in the sun room/living room is ideal as it has a bar, lounge chairs, couches and fridge as well as a large flat screen TV. We loved to just step out of our room and grab a bottle of wine or champagne to sip on. Coffee was also made every morning here, so I could just pop out of our room for a cup of coffee to take back to our room while reading or getting ready. We ate every meal at The Rock restaurant, located adjacent to the hotel, and owned by the hotel, and it was great. Continental breakfast is included in the room, but you can also order a la carte, which we did, in addition to the continental breakfast. We stayed in the Baru Loft Suite and then in the Orquidea Master Suite. Both were great rooms. We peeked into all the rooms while they were turning them over for cleaning and they are all nice! The only recommendation that I have is to fix the king bed in the Baru Loft Suite as even if you just turned over or moved a bit in your sleep it was very squeaky, but that's an easy fix. Our favorite room was the Master Suite, but we would certainly be happy and comfortable in any of the rooms. Philipp, the manager, and Deysi were wonderful. We enjoyed talking with Philipp and his personality and professionalism were a definite added value to our experience. We were late arriving due to travel delays and missed our dinner reservation and Philipp made sure that we had dinner-to-go waiting for us upon arrival, even though we arrived over an hour after the restaurant had closed! We were very appreciate of the personalized service and attention to detail. This hotel is a great value and a lovely place to stay. We will not only return ourselves to stay at the Riverside, but will also recommend it to all of our friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonielleFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    21
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
91
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Riverside for three nights during our first trip to Boquete. The manager, Philip, was delightful. He was helpful, informed about the area and the excursions available. The location was fine for us since we live in Panama City and drove to Boquete. It was great to be outside the town, it was pretty quiet and there were no water issues. The common areas were large and comfortable. The rooms were large and well appointed although the walls were thin enough to hear the conversation and the shower in the next room.
There were a couple of things that we noted and discussed with Philip. Being in the coffee region, we were very surprised that there were no coffee makers in the rooms. The coffee maker in the common room was a single serve machine with Lavazza coffee pods. That seemed out of sync given how many coffee farms surrounded the area. The other issue was that the continental breakfast included with our room was not up to snuff for such a nice inn. The only morning we ventured to the restaurant for the breakfast we were served slices of cold, toasted white and wheat bread (think Wonder bread quality) some still slightly frozen strawberries and some other fruit that was fresh, a slice of ham and wedge of cheese; very, very disappointing. In discussing these things with Philip he was open to our comments and indicated that he hoed to make some changes.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view as opposed to a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranfam51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in this property. Not only is the location good(surrounded by green vegetation) but it also has extremely competent staff. I can not praise enough the helpfulness and competency of the Manager Philipp who went above and beyond to answer any questions and gave really good suggestions. Definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

An amazing oasis after a chaotic trip from Bocas. I truly well run and family friendly Inn located outside of Boquete central. The Manager, Phillip truly made the stay amazing. He arranged for dinner reservations, taxis and excursions to Ruiz the local coffee plantation.
At The Rock restaurant we ate dinner both nights-it was that good. The only con:
Breakfast was not great; the bread/cheese and choices need to be upgraded to reflect of overall charm of the Riverside.
Philip made our 2 night stay in February seamless...the sign of a 5 star establishment. Our 2 teenagers loved the very clean room and snack/beverage honor system.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, but we are early risers. We loved the sunken bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

On our first trip to Panama,our party of four (2 couples) spent three weeks exploring different parts of the country. We made all the arrangements ourselves, and found even before we arrived,that Philipp the Manager was helpful beyond measure. His e-mail responses to our queries were always prompt and thoughtful. The three nights we spent there in February 2014 were very enjoyable. The rooms are attractive and comfortable, with inviting common areas. Without Philipp, the inn was very nice. But it was Philipp that made the stay special. He worked very hard to make arrangements for tours, etc. In our case, he even managed to arrange transport for us between David and the Bocas del Toro at the end of our stay. I cannot say enough about his contribution to our enjoyable stay! Because of him I would highly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75wolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Jerome, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our first stay at The Riverside Inn, happened because the hotel recommended by friends was full for the first day, so we opted for The Riverside Inn which was I believe was impeccable, The service received was more than excellent. The social area and bar well maintained and stocked. The Manager went all the way to ensure that our stay was beyond our expectations.His recommendations for supper and excursions are a must. The restaurant the Rock had super food, but I must say that in reference to the breakfast they were not there at all, dried pieces of bread and fruits little cheese. I am surprised that they did not offer croissants or any thing else, since guests were mostly Europeans and Canadians or from the USA.Our room BARU was really what we expected. I would highly recommend this hotel for anybody travelling to Boquete Panama, and I must return next year for another holiday of three days again thanks to the Manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 907SandraC927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel has a very nice vibe and feels wonderful. Our room had two floors with large bed on the first floor and two smaller beds upstairs. What I didn't like about the room is the combination of the absence of both an AC and nets on windows. No ceiling fan either. If one can't open a window, an AC would be kinda nice. And if you can't put an AC (which might be the case in Boquete), giving guests a safe access to fresh air would be expected.

The hotel is located right next to a nice restaurant "Rock", which serves of the best breakfast we had during our stay in Panama. The dinner here actually was a big disappointment, I must say with an exception of the lovely portion of ribs. But probably the single most outstanding experience in this hotel was to be taken care by the manager - Philippe, a young, friendly and a very kind man (from Germany). We happened to need a lot of help in Boquete and Philippe was on top of everything being quick and instrumental.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank German N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.3 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 30 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Palo Alto
The Inn at Palo Alto
#3 of 30 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn Boquete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn Boquete

Property: The Riverside Inn Boquete
Address: De Abril 11 | Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverside Inn Boquete 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Inn Boquete, nestled in the mountains of the Palo Alto area of Boquete, Panama, offers an enchanting blend of luxury and classical architecture. Overlooking the Palo Alto River this exquisite boutique hotel has been lovingly designed to achieve an atmosphere of romantic splendor. Surrounded by a lush, tropical landscape, each spacious suite has been luxuriously furnished providing a combination of serenity and sophisticated living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riverside Inn Boquete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn Boquete Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing