We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riverside Inn Boquete
Ranked #6 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Luckily booked far enough in advance. Small, 6 room hotel fills up quickly and I can see why. Great location outside center of town, but within walking distance. Philipp is the ultimate host and goes out of his way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. He'll book local tours and activities for you with pick-up at the hotel. Next door and affiliated is The Rock restaurant. Breakfast is included with the room and enjoyed here. Located on a river, the tranquil sound abounds everywhere.

Room Tip: Each room is configured differently, so pick the room that best fits the number of people in party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMSSH, Manager at The Riverside Inn Boquete, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments; we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team at The Rock, our partner restaurant, would also like to extend their gratitude for your visit. We hope to see you on your next visit to Boquete.
Best regards,
Philipp Hasper
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    21
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
92
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Riverside Inn was a memorable stay during our trip to Panama. The manager, Philipp, was a pleasure to interact with, and went above and beyond to attend to several details for us to ensure our days went perfectly. From making dinner recommendations and reservations on our behalf, to taking quick action to reserve a new activity for us when our other plans fell through, Philipp provides the kind of personal service that you will remember. The room was large, clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The grounds were peaceful. The location is a bit away from the city centre, and the staff will arrange a taxi for you within 10 minutes, which is a very inexpensive $3 fare each way. That convenience makes the quiet, off-the-path location a positive and well worth it. Boquete has numerous active events to participate in, and the Riverside Inn, in our opinion is a perfect spot to begin and end each day in this lovely area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMSSH, Manager at The Riverside Inn Boquete, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and also for your kind comments. For us it was a pleasure to serve you and I’m very happy that everything went out perfectly and you had a relaxed and wonderful time in Boquete.
Best regards,
Philipp Hasper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I booked our stay at The Riverside Inn in Boquete, Panama in a bit of a hurry and didn't check it out closely. What a pleasant surprise it was. Our room was large with a beautiful canopy bed and French doors out onto a deck that overlooks a large open area and the river (can't actually see the water from the room). The bathroom was quite large and included a 2-person spa tub. All was very clean and luxurious feeling. The "inn" is, in essense, a 6-7 bedroom "home" with a large living room with a fireplace, a large sunroom and a library. There is a fully stocked bar and wine in the frig...for your use on the honor system. The manager was very nice and helpful in his guidance around the town. There is a restaurant next door, The Rock. They serve complimentary continental breakfast for the guests of the Riverside Inn and we had a very nice dinner there one night. We had a car so it wasn't a problem to drive the few miles to the center of Boquete.

Room Tip: There is only 1 room with a deck. If you want it ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinB1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside Inn for 3 nights in order to get away for a bit of R&R and also to get some reading and work done. We have been to Boquete 3 different times and always love to visit the area, but this particular trip was the best yet. I am very particular about lodging and pay attention to small details as I have worked in the Hospitality Industry for over 15 years. The Riverside Inn exceeded our expectations! The location of the inn is great, located just a couple of minutes by car or about 20 minutes walking from town. We enjoyed being a little bit outside of town as it was more peaceful and more natural, yet we were still close enough to enjoy the quaintness of the town. We went on a great walk/hike from the hotel that was just lovely and we both feel that the location of Riverside is the best in Boquete. The decoration of the inn is very comfortable and elegant. The rooms are also well-appointed with comfortable beds, soft linens, nice pillows and large windows for natural light and fresh Boquete air. The inn has a total of 6 rooms and 3 different shared living spaces, allowing for privacy and comfort. In the evenings, lamps are turned on and candles are lit throughout the inn, creating a lovely and warm environment. The "Honor Bar" in the sun room/living room is ideal as it has a bar, lounge chairs, couches and fridge as well as a large flat screen TV. We loved to just step out of our room and grab a bottle of wine or champagne to sip on. Coffee was also made every morning here, so I could just pop out of our room for a cup of coffee to take back to our room while reading or getting ready. We ate every meal at The Rock restaurant, located adjacent to the hotel, and owned by the hotel, and it was great. Continental breakfast is included in the room, but you can also order a la carte, which we did, in addition to the continental breakfast. We stayed in the Baru Loft Suite and then in the Orquidea Master Suite. Both were great rooms. We peeked into all the rooms while they were turning them over for cleaning and they are all nice! The only recommendation that I have is to fix the king bed in the Baru Loft Suite as even if you just turned over or moved a bit in your sleep it was very squeaky, but that's an easy fix. Our favorite room was the Master Suite, but we would certainly be happy and comfortable in any of the rooms. Philipp, the manager, and Deysi were wonderful. We enjoyed talking with Philipp and his personality and professionalism were a definite added value to our experience. We were late arriving due to travel delays and missed our dinner reservation and Philipp made sure that we had dinner-to-go waiting for us upon arrival, even though we arrived over an hour after the restaurant had closed! We were very appreciate of the personalized service and attention to detail. This hotel is a great value and a lovely place to stay. We will not only return ourselves to stay at the Riverside, but will also recommend it to all of our friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonielleFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Riverside for three nights during our first trip to Boquete. The manager, Philip, was delightful. He was helpful, informed about the area and the excursions available. The location was fine for us since we live in Panama City and drove to Boquete. It was great to be outside the town, it was pretty quiet and there were no water issues. The common areas were large and comfortable. The rooms were large and well appointed although the walls were thin enough to hear the conversation and the shower in the next room.
There were a couple of things that we noted and discussed with Philip. Being in the coffee region, we were very surprised that there were no coffee makers in the rooms. The coffee maker in the common room was a single serve machine with Lavazza coffee pods. That seemed out of sync given how many coffee farms surrounded the area. The other issue was that the continental breakfast included with our room was not up to snuff for such a nice inn. The only morning we ventured to the restaurant for the breakfast we were served slices of cold, toasted white and wheat bread (think Wonder bread quality) some still slightly frozen strawberries and some other fruit that was fresh, a slice of ham and wedge of cheese; very, very disappointing. In discussing these things with Philip he was open to our comments and indicated that he hoed to make some changes.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view as opposed to a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranfam51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in this property. Not only is the location good(surrounded by green vegetation) but it also has extremely competent staff. I can not praise enough the helpfulness and competency of the Manager Philipp who went above and beyond to answer any questions and gave really good suggestions. Definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

An amazing oasis after a chaotic trip from Bocas. I truly well run and family friendly Inn located outside of Boquete central. The Manager, Phillip truly made the stay amazing. He arranged for dinner reservations, taxis and excursions to Ruiz the local coffee plantation.
At The Rock restaurant we ate dinner both nights-it was that good. The only con:
Breakfast was not great; the bread/cheese and choices need to be upgraded to reflect of overall charm of the Riverside.
Philip made our 2 night stay in February seamless...the sign of a 5 star establishment. Our 2 teenagers loved the very clean room and snack/beverage honor system.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, but we are early risers. We loved the sunken bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
384 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 28 in Boquete
835 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Palo Alto
The Inn at Palo Alto
#3 of 28 in Boquete
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn Boquete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn Boquete

Property: The Riverside Inn Boquete
Address: De Abril 11 | Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverside Inn Boquete 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Inn Boquete, nestled in the mountains of the Palo Alto area of Boquete, Panama, offers an enchanting blend of luxury and classical architecture. Overlooking the Palo Alto River this exquisite boutique hotel has been lovingly designed to achieve an atmosphere of romantic splendor. Surrounded by a lush, tropical landscape, each spacious suite has been luxuriously furnished providing a combination of serenity and sophisticated living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Riverside Inn Boquete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn Boquete Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing