We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas del Toro Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Starfish Reef Resort
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Relaxing!”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

If you are looking for a place to get away from everything and everyone, this is the place to stay. Great place to enjoy a nice book, hearing the parrots flying by the island in the morning, pick up some fresh mangos and coconuts and go down to sit by the calm waters. However, if you are looking for some adventure, go to the beach or go party every night, take in count that all other islands are kind of far and you'll need a boat ride to get anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitziShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We (4 of us) spent 3 days/nights at Starfish Reef Resort. The space was large and comfortable. Great quiet sleeping with comfortable beds. Nice bonus to have good snorkeling right off the beach in front of resort. It is quite a hike up to the resort so be prepared. Jack and Kelly were friendly and very helpful in answering questions and arranging transportation for our day trip to Crawl Cay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirlMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was not my first visit to Starfish Reef so I anxiously awaited this trip. The weather was gorgeous with the exception of 1/2 day of rain. Jack and Kelly are incredible hosts who seem to think of everything right down to the basics like rum punch and bug spray! We went with other guests to a local restaurant, snorkeled their beautiful reef, had a beach party, ate a LOT of good meals made with fresh local food. If you want to get away from it all in a tranquil environment this is the place to go. The flora and fauna (not to mention waterfall) abound. you can bird watch, check out beautiful flowers all over the property or just swim all day. I did it all with a lot more time on the beach than anything else. If you are looking for malls or disco's then maybe it's not the place for you but it brought back my sanity after a stressful few months at home in the US working. Night life is playing games with others and having a good old fashioned party. I will add beach party pictures shortly. (When someone shows me how to get them off my camera on to this site!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I am not the usual tourist, as I have owned land and spent much time in the Bocas area for the past 6 years. I am now building a house on my property, it seemed reasonable to stay a month on the island where my land is located, despite the cost.

Starfish Reef is really a beautiful eco resort. I stand in awe of their beach and homes, as I appreciate the difficulty in building American-type structures in tropical rural Panama. They should be applauded for their accomplishment....because it is quite grand.

Initially, I was struck by the American antique furniture....the canopy bed in my room was magnificent. The room was airy, spacious and comfortable, with everything but a stove to make my stay economical. Hot water was not always available, but hardly missed. Internet was sufficient for anything short of day trading stocks. The staff cleaned my room every week, asking my permission before entering.

Kelly and Jack were very accomodating to my particular set of interests. I accompanied them to several social events, and met all the fine people in the southern part of the bay. No price can be put on that, and I will always be thankful.

The resort's location on a less populated island lays open the reality of the fauna....along with the hawks, hummingbirds, starfish and stingrays, there are a smattering of annoyances....mosquitos, no-see-ums, scorpions, and spiders.....it's part of the reality of the area. If these both you, or you find DEET and smoke coils annoying, stay in Bocas Town and visit an eco lodge. Eco includes the bad with the good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_Webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Our family of four stayed at Starfish Reef for three and a half weeks at the end of 2010. We have two small children, ages two and three months. There were several things about our stay that were very nice, such as:
- Jack and Kelly made dinner for us twice;
- Jack and Kelly called water taxis for us whenever we asked;
- A few times Jack drove us in his water taxi to places we requested (for a fee), and soon after we first arrived he took several hours to show us around Almirante and help us with our shopping there;
- Jack picked us up in his mule (a small ATV) the last few days of our trip. For the first three weeks of our stay it was unavailable;
- The snorkeling on Starfish Reef was very nice, and we saw an octopus, a manta ray, and lots of small fish;
- Jack and Kelly installed a safety latch on the outside door of the room our two year old slept in;
- Jack and Kelly recommended a lovely hotel in Panama City for our stay there, as well as a local tour guide who was knowledgeable and helpful.

However, we would not recommend Starfish Reef for several reasons, including:
- Shepherd Island, where Starfish Reef is located, has a terrible chitra (sand fly or no-see-ums) problem. However, Starfish Reef only offers mosquito nets for sleeping. Importantly, chitras are much smaller than mosquitoes, so the nets do not provide much if any coverage from chitras. Jack and Kelly do recommend using smoke coils to keep the chitras away (which we bought at our expense). These smoke coils do work well, however, it is a very heavy smell and not something we were pleased to use around our children, much less ourselves. We were very irritated that readily available finer chitra-repelling netting wasn't used for the beds. And no netting was provided for our son's crib initially, we had to ask for it.
- Internet is very important to us, since Alysa has her own business, and since Gunnar is in the IT field. We specifically asked about internet coverage when deciding where we would stay in Bocas del Toro. Jack and Kelly informed us that their internet is in all of the houses. However, we had hardly any internet coverage for the first week we were guests at Starfish Reef. Gunnar repeatedly spoke with Jack about it, and Jack finally had it fixed approximately one week into our vacation. However, even then, it was not throughout our house. It was only available in certain parts of the house, excluding the living room and most of the main bedroom. And even once it was fixed, it still had almost daily outages.
- Jack and Kelly charge $6 for each load of laundry. Since we originally were going to stay with them for five weeks (more on that below), and since we have two small children, we were doing personal laundry twice a week. One garnet was ruined in each of our first several loads of laundry. We ended up losing five garments - four pieces of clothes and a crib sheet that we had for over two years, and which was now far too small to fit the pack and play. We did not do the laundry, it was done for us. After a new shirt given to our daughter was ruined (it had a hole in it that three pencils would fit through), we approached Jack about it. He said that he was aware that the washing machine had some problems, and he showed us the filthy shirt he was wearing as further proof of this. This boggled our minds. If he knew that his washing machine was not working properly and was in fact ruining clothes, why did he not previously tell us? And how could he charge us for this service?! And Jack actually suggested that we place a patch on our daughter's shirt to cover up the hole! When we told Kelly about our ruined items, she told us that we should not have brought nice clothes with us on vacation! When we told her that t-shirts and baby onesies are not "nice clothes", she had no response. And when we showed her a t-shirt of Gunnar's that had a large stain on it after they washing it, she said that it looked like it was worn already. Yes, Kelly actually said this to paying guests.
- Jack and Kelly provided us with written information which stated "Taxi Service: Bocas Marine Tours $8pp each way to Almirante or Bocas to and from Shepherd Island (minimum 2 persons or $16) until 6 pm. Night taxi service with Fabian." They neglected to tell us that Bocas Marine Taxi (BMT) may refuse to go to Shepherd Island in inclement weather. We learned this the hard way. One afternoon we arrived at the taxi port at 5:45pm expecting to make the 6pm taxi. Instead, we were told that the last water taxi had left around 4pm due to the inclement weather. We ended up paying $60.00 for a private taxi to take us back to Starfish Reef. The same trip with the water taxi service would have been $16.00 for all of us. Jack and Kelly had no response when we told them of this incident. When we were leaving Starfish Reef, Jack repeatedly said that they could not be expected to tell us about all of the issues we may have encountered while were were their guests. However, common sense dictates that they would have told us if the taxi service did not transport during inclement weather.
- Shepherd Island is about a 20 minute boat ride from Bocas del Toro in good weather. As stated above, Starfish Reef has, or had, a deal with BMT to transport its guests. This worked fine in good, and relatively good, weather. However, when the weather was poor, BMT did not want to come out to Starfish Reef. On at least two occasions, BMT said that it was not sure that it would be able to come out to pick us up. It did come out, but not at the stated times and much earlier than expected. We kept the taxi service waiting these two times because it arrived 10-15 minutes early. Thereafter, beginning on December 15th, BMT refused to pick us up. Jack and Kelly told us that the service told them that it was because we kept them waiting (which Jack explicitly told us he knew was not fair), and when we personally asked BMT, we were told that it was because of the inclement weather and the dangers it posed. Notably, BMT makes several trips during the day between Bocas del Toro and Almirante. Both locations provide it with several passengers. Going to Starfish Reef in bad weather, for two paying customers, likely was not worth the time, gas and potential danger. Regardless, the sudden lack of taxi service was a severe problem for us since it was our means of transportation. When this happened, Jack offered to bring us to Almirante to pick up BMT there. However, this would have increased our trip times by more than double, since Almirante was a 15-20 minute ride in Jack's boat, and we would then have to wait for the water taxi. So, a 20 minute trip would become a 45-50 minute trip, each way.
- We repeatedly had to remind Jack that our house needed weekly cleaning, and had to specifically ask that our linens be washed weekly. These are service that Jack and Kelly previously told us were included.
- Several of the steps leading to and from the dock to the houses are washed out. Since it is a fairly steep walk, and since we were walking it almost daily with two small children, we were disappointed that the steps were in such deteriorated and potentially dangerous condition.
- The written information provided to us by Jack and Kelly on the day we arrived states that they charge $10.00 per couple to go to Rana Azul, a restaurant about twenty minutes by boat. We were instead charged $16.00 per couple. We only learned that we were to have been charged $10.00 after we re-read the paperwork several days into our stay. If there was a rate change, we should have been informed of this prior to taking the trips.
- Jack invited us to join him for Thanksgiving dinner at Rana Azul. Immediately before the dinner was an at sea funeral for a friend and neighbor of his who recently passed away. Jack was going directly from the funeral to Rana Azul. Jack asked us several times if we would like to join him for both events. We had nothing else planned for the day, and since it was Thanksgiving, we agreed. After the dinner, Jack then asked us for $16.00 as our fare to Rana Azul (which should have been $10.00). Not once previously did he mention that there would be a charge. This annoyed us since he had several opportunities to tell us that he would charge us, AND because it was clear that he was going to the funeral and dinner afterwards with or without us. It certainly made us feel that we were being nicked and dimed by Starfish Reef.
- Jack and Kelly offer several excursions, with rates ranging from $20.00 to $550.00. We asked that they take us on the chocolate tour at Green Acres Farm no fewer than five or six times before they scheduled a visit for us. Notably, this is their cheapest excursion.
- The website states that the property has "a working green rainforest and cacao plantation". This led us to believe that the property contained a cacao plantation. It does not. It has cacao trees, but no working cacao (or chocolate) plantation.
- The two-way radio between our house and Jack and Kelly's house often did not work because, as Jack and Kelly said, their radio "needed new batteries." We would then communicate by yelling to each other from the porches of our houses.

We originally planned to stay at Starfish Reef for five weeks, and we prepaid for five weeks. We decided to leave Starfish Reef five days early, on December 20th, because we were very disappointed with our lodgings and the property, and because we were spending so much time there due to the very rainy weather. If the weather was better and we were out of the house and off the island more, many of the problems stated above would not have bothered us as much. We asked for a refund for those five days, and were told that we would not get one because, as Jack said, "singly or collectively", the issues we raised did not qualify for a refund. We were shocked by this response in light of all of the problems we had during our stay.

We ended up leaving five days earlier than that because, on December 15th, both BMT stopped coming to Starfish Reef (as per the above), and because there was no water in our house. Jack had installed a new valve on the water pump on December 14th. The water was leaking for several hours after Jack's installation. We were gone that afternoon, and when we returned in the early evening and heard running water, we tried reaching Jack and Kelly to tell them that we thought there was a problem. We tried them on the two-way radio beginning at approximately 6pm. No one answered. We tried off and on until 11pm, but there was no answer. We also yelled for them from our balcony, to no avail. The next morning we woke them up at 6:30am by yelling at them from our balcony. When we told them that we had been trying to reach them all evening and into the night, Jack said that he turns off the two-way radio at night (meaning that we have no means of communicating with our hosts at night). When we told him that we tried reaching him in the early evening, he had no response. He later repeatedly asked us if we used up all of the water. We told him that we did not, that we were gone that afternoon, and that we heard the pump running for several hours and kept trying to inform him of it. It was evident to us that the problem likely stemmed from the work Jack did on the pump earlier that day, but he sought to blame us instead.

Two comments in closing. What bothered us the most was that Jack and Kelly did not accept responsibility for obvious problems at Starfish Reef - their laundry machine not working properly, their internet not working and/or not working throughout the entire house, the water pump, etc. They never once said "We're sorry, how can we make this up to you?" We travel quite a bit and usually do not have any complaints. Here, we were faced with many problems at Starfish Reef that made our stay far less enjoyable, and when we raised these issues, Jack and Kelly's response was always to deflect it back onto us.

Secondly, we would not recommend this property for a family or for anyone staying for more than a week. However, if the internet is not important to you, you are not doing a laundry, chitras don't bother you much, and BMT is traveling again to Starfish Reef, etc., you may enjoy this property. There is a lot of beauty there and the houses are spacious and modern. If you are looking to get away for a few days to a week and aren't bothered by what we wrote above, this may be the place for you. But for us, it was clearly far less than we were led to believe we would find. We were over-promised, and were very disappointed to find a dilapidated property, with hosts who do not take responsibility for problems on their property.
Alysa Freeman and Gunnar Hillert, January 2011.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghillert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShepherdIslandGirl, Owner at Starfish Reef Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Our only bad review . . . and we are sorry they did not enjoy their stay. Most of their issues were due to a long El Nino rainy season (noted on our website & first e-mail), and came at one time when they asked for a refund. Now the sun is shining, water taxi services are regular, chocolate is in season & being harvested, new internet antenna, steps washed out repaired, no laundry problems, insects dissipated, tours open and issues resolved.
Rain can get in the way of snorkeling, diving, surfing, exploring, zip line/rope courses and most tours visitors come for, especially when you are toting a two year old and an infant less than two months old, as well as their care needs? They asked for a refund and stated it was because of the rain and their 2 yr old had nothing to do. They wanted to go to Panama City (where it was raining harder). As clearly stated on our website, we do not give refunds for rainforest rain. She then threatened to give us a terrible review. Well, here it is.
After our refund denial, she, a civil rights attorney, aggressively and combatively listed her gripes : chitres (common in any rural Caribe water/mangrove area at dawn & dusk in still wind), a small hole in a baby outfit (not three pencils diameter), a small stain on a worn Tshirt, steps to the beach are not well lit at night (ECO-solar lites every ten ft, plus we gave flashlights), 2 way radios (a courtesy) weren’t working well the last night from 6 pm (our villa is 60 ft away, easy walking or voice distance with verandas in plain sight), and the internet started acting up when they arrived (he, an IT guy, offered some changes, but no improvement). The vendor admitted they were having problems & partially fixed it on Wednesday, then completed the next week.
• The wifi internet works great and is in all 4 villas.
• Our website says activities prices are subject to change. Our boat service to take you anywhere is expensive to run, now $4.15 per gas/oil gallon. We are not all-inclusive. Sorry but we have to charge whether we are going anyway or not.
• There is and always has been mosquito netting for the crib and anyone that wants it. Chitra netting restricts air flow so we do not have many of those . . . our glass windows & doors are the best deterrent.
• Boat taxi service is regular.
• We are harvesting our cacao-we don’t know where she got the idea we are not a working cacao farm as we are. We sell the cacao that we process right here.
Their villa had a major fresh water loss after her refund demand so we offered them another villa or a full refund as they wanted for their remaining five days. We were happy they took the latter due to a rapidly deteriorating relationship. Well there it is. We are disappointed as we helped them move on at our expense and did many things gratis to help ease the pain due to rain.
We are a place for people interested in rainforest and sea eco adventures in a laid back atmosphere. Our goal is to help our guests enjoy their time here-we are sorry we failed them but we have come to the realization that we cannot please everyone no matter how hard we try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I recently spent a much-needed week away from New York City with Jack and Kelly at Starfish Reef in Panama. I've always wanted to travel to Panama, and these two made my stay with close friends a dream come true!

Isla Pastor (or more commonly known as Shepard Island) is tucked away amongst the neighboring islands that make up Bocas del Toro. They provide a gorgeous villa containing better amenities than my own NYC apartment! With 6 others in tow, we were able to enjoy our own private, white-sand beach, snorkel gear, cayuko (local kayak) and private water taxi whenever necessary. Jack and Kelly answered my questions, prepared my friends and I for our much-needed relaxation and put us at ease with every turn leading up to our week away. I am very grateful to have found and experienced time on their island!

I recommend days spent on the island snorkeling in the reef or on the boat touring the sea with nights in Bocas Town eating and drinking with the locals. A great time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keschae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

My husband and I and our 4 children, ages 17-25, spent a week in Panama. We began our week at Starfish Reef and had an absolutely wonderful time. Jack and Kelly were there to greet us when we arrived and immediately made us feel at home. This area is so beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the property that Jack gave us on our last morning before we left for Panama City. As the other review stated , there is no need to look elsewhere for a great snorkeling experience as we saw the most colorful coral reef and fish at Starfish Reef. The accomodations were new, modern and very roomy for our family of 6. Thanks again Jack and Kelly for making our family vacation so special!!!

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryK132456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas del Toro Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#4 of 21 in Isla Colon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bocas Ridge Hotel
Bocas Ridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Almirante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starfish Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starfish Reef Resort

Property: Starfish Reef Resort
Address: Starfish Reef | Shepherd Island, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Bocas del Toro Province
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starfish Reef, a Small Caribbean Island Resort and beautiful bature retreat, claims beautiful ocean & mountain views from all 10 hillside Villa rooms, Jungle hiking trails in hill & valley topography, a colorful coral reef, a palm fringed white sand beach, and sand bar rimmed salt water swimming lagoon. All of this amidst a working Cacao (chocolate) plantation interspersed with many mango, coconut, papaya + trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Starfish Reef Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing