We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas del Toro Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Starfish Reef Resort
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
“Welcome to Paradise!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

"Welcome to paradise" was what the water taxi driver said as we stepped on to the dock. Our family had a great holiday st Starfish Reef. When the villas came into sight, I immediately thought, "That is just like the pictures". The website and information provided gave us a very complete picture of what to expect. Since we had never booked accomodation via the internet, Jack and Kelly took the time to arrange a Skype call to answer our questions to make sure we understood the details.

The villa was very comfortable four our family of 4. Great views off the balconies. The fully equipped kitchen was perfect for our family holiday.

What a treat to swim and snorkel right off the dock. Jack gave us a very complete list of possible activities to do off the island. We combined Red Frog Beach, a zip line tour and grocery shopping in Bocas as one day off the island.

Jack was always available to answer our questions and gave us a great tour and jungle walk one morning.

Great place for a family holiday.

Room Tip: All villas have great views, and are similarly equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This resort is on a small island surrounded by mangroves. It may be a great place for some people. It was not great for me as I was one of those unfortunate tourists the critters (chitras ) seemed to love feasting on. I forgot to ask some very crucial questions before going. Netting over beds and windows that don't seal are no protection against these sand fleas. It can indeed make a holiday very miserable. It is also difficult to enjoy an Eco resort if you have to keep your windows closed between dusk and dawn or run inside at dusk every day. I do not recommend this place for a long stay....just too isolated, too little to do. A few days at most would suffice. 40$ for a round trip for 2 to town ....to get supplies or have a bite to eat , ads up quickly.
Not my dream vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane155016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

WOW, can you just imagine being dropped off by a speed boat after a trip across the ocean to be left at dock set into one of the most beautiful islands of panama. Not only is this island beautiful because of the land but because of the two humans that landed here. Jack and Kelly have created an incredible environment to enjoy mother nature at her best, natural trails through out the land, paddle boats to enjoy the water, your own little swim area to basque in the sun with beach chairs... and after all that our house a feeling of luxury in a beautifully designed comfortable space to retreat to and still be right amongst the trees in nature. WOW thank you Kelly and Jack...
Oh and don't forget to buy some coconut oil!!! Wow AMAZING... LOVE LOVE LOVE

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 987mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Jack and Kelly have created a fabulous small group of villas, with ocean views, modern conveniences and plenty of room. This place has a wonderful mix of jungle, ocean access and just the right balance of solitude and community. The review by Bill P, below, put it well.

Our family of 6 was very comfortable in the three bedroom villa. The views from the balcony and porch are spectacular. Imagine waking up to the sound of birds, the view of the water below and tranquility. We love to cook, and the kitchen was remarkably well outfitted for its remote location.

We spent some days at home -- swimming and snorkeling off the dock, reading on the beach or on our porch, or making tasty meals (often incorporating what we could collect on the property, including bananas, mangos and coconuts). Some days, Kelly would arrange a boat driver for us for the day, who took us to Dolphin Bay, to Krawl Kay for lunch and snorkeling, to Zapatillos Cays for great beaches, to Red Frog Beach for body surfing, and into town.

Jack and Kelly could not have been more hospitable -- available to help, schlepping our groceries from the dock up to the house, or giving advice on local sites, but never intrusive.

We ended our time with a fire on the beach, a pot luck New Years Eve dinner and Kelly's Sangria. My only advice: don't wait until your last day to ask Jack to tell you some stories. Or maybe that requires a booking over New Years.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveFromIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The villas at Starfish reef are beautifully designed and built. The things that need to be "like home" are that. That is, the two washrooms in each villa are modern, large, clean and well laid out. In the kitchen, the appliances are top grade, with lots of cooking area. Small appliances like coffee makers and mixers are supplied. You do not have to worry about the basics.

The villas have a nice "local" flavor with lots of wood and tile, and the beds are comfortable (in the master bedroom, there is a queen size, with two single beds and a bunk in the second bedroom and a double bed on the main floor). The setting is beautiful, with the jungle coming up to the villas that are set up on the hill with breathtaking views of the ocean from the main floor balcony and the upper floor balcony. We founds bananas in the jungle, and the kids drank coconut milk that they picked from the trees. There is a beach were one can relax and the ocean is warm at all times of year for swimming. One night, the family was on the upper balcony, counting shooting stars with the sounds of jungle nightlife in the background. At night, you can sleep with the windows open and the sounds and smells of the jungle coming through the screens. It does not get better than that.

Jack and Kelly are wonderful. They cooked Christmas dinner for the families. Their natural warmth creates a really nice atmosphere. We met the other two families staying at the villas and this sense of small community added to the place. There are lots of day trips one can take to the different sights. However, this is the best place to call "home base".

Room Tip: All the villas are identical and offer good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This place is a nature lovers delight-just what the doctor ordered. The views are gorgeous, the sounds are bird and frog songs, you can put your fins on and start snorkeling right from the beach. The snorkeling is very colorful and there are a lot of fish. It was very relaxing and we had fresh papaya and bananas. We got to try the cacao beans which are very tasty. Our villa had great views from every room and it was quite spacious with comfortable beds.

Thanks Jack and Kelly for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shells s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We enjoyed our stay with Jack and Kelly for 4 nights. The villas were nice and comfortable with a beautiful view. We enjoyed snorkeling and hanging out the 1st day and did a few tours with a guide the rest of the time. It is very relaxing, quiet, and remote. But it is quite a boat ride to make it anywhere. Would reccomend for relaxation and peaceful surrondings with good hosts. But not if you want to hang around the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raina2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas del Toro Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Yarisnori
Hospedaje Yarisnori
#1 of 1 in Boca del Drago
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Bocas Ridge Hotel
Bocas Ridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Almirante
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starfish Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starfish Reef Resort

Property: Starfish Reef Resort
Address: Starfish Reef | Shepherd Island, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Bocas del Toro Province
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starfish Reef, a Small Caribbean Island Resort and beautiful bature retreat, claims beautiful ocean & mountain views from all 10 hillside Villa rooms, Jungle hiking trails in hill & valley topography, a colorful coral reef, a palm fringed white sand beach, and sand bar rimmed salt water swimming lagoon. All of this amidst a working Cacao (chocolate) plantation interspersed with many mango, coconut, papaya + trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Starfish Reef Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing