We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a meal.”
Review of Bocas Bambu Beach

Bocas Bambu Beach
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Caribbean international fusion cuisine restaurant. There are a variety of pizzas and seafood. We also have homemade burgers, chili con carne, Mexican dishes and delicious desserts. Among the various inputs we offer you can found ceviche and fried calamari. We have an extensive cocktail menu to taste, while enjoying some of the shows we offer daily. There is wide outdoor space with big screen to watch surf videos and listen to good music reggae/bossa/chill out.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This open space restaurant is hard to miss if you are in Isla Colon, as soon as they open you stop in front of it and ask your self if is not is a tourist tramp¡¡¡, they have special every day which is pretty much the same but the ambience the music the big screen with reggae music the view to the street to see the people going by, the place really invite you to come again and enjoy of it´s charm

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byronortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    126
    46
    20
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dont Be Fool by its Trendy Tropical Appeal!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

What a terrible experiance!!!!!!!! We walk in and it looks exciting! There is no hostess so we catch a waitress and ask her were to sit and she replys "anywere!" We sit down at a vacant table under one of the tents and within moments a man identifys himself as the manager and tells us this table is reserved! Please sit anywere else. We move to the area with the sandy beach. The manager insures we have menus. 5 minutes later the waitress arrives and takes our drink orders. 2 bottles of water a coke and 2 rums on the rocks. 15 minutes later after watching the waitress flirt, text, talk on her phone, wonder around the resturant we get her attention about the drinks and ordering food. She relates its at the bar, the bar is empty but, full of bartenders! We wait another 10 and watch the waitress wander around, not serving or taking orders, wandering! We get up and leave!!! We see our order on the bar sweating. Take a water taxi to the Cosmic Crab or just about anywere else but, please dont go here!!! We travel often to Boca Del Toro and this is as bad as it gets!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firefozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“WORST SERVICE EVER”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We (my family of 5) went tonight. We were seated ot once and looke forward to the danecers on stage. It took 15 minutes for the server (very rude) to come to the table. It took almost 35 minutes to get our first round of drinks. When we finally got our food it was bland. Then at the end when I got my bill. The server said that there was 20 dollars worht of drinks that did not show on the bill I had just paid. THIS PLACE SUCKS DO NOT GO THERE unless you want bland food and NO SERVICE

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllenS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible food, terrible service”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My friend took me here for a birthday dinner because he heard it was good. What a disaster. The service was slow and chaotic. The appitizer never came. We had to go to the bar to get our own drinks as the food took so long and the waiter never came back. When the meal came we had now tableware to eat it with - we had to go to the bar to get that too. Then when the bill came they charged us for the appitizer we never got. And then the waiter says - you never got that? Clueless. Wouldn't have minded so much if the food was any good. Just bad.

This restaurant is known for having a show - fire dancers and salsa dancers that try to get the patrons out on the dance floor. The show is actually not bad. But this place needs a major overhaul of the kitchen and its staff. I would not go back and could not recommend it. So many other better restaurants in Bocas. Save your money and your time - its better spent somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philhelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything but good food and service”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Bocas Bambu Restaurant is in a great location in the center of town and a very nice design with large open dinning areas covered by canapies. There is also some interesting entertainment.
However the attractionstops there. The food is less than medicore , I hade a pasta carbonara that had little evidence of cheese, cream or flavor in general. The waitstaff is totally clueless. The waitrress broght my plate and tow minutes latter I convinced here to bring the silverware. She did not know the prices of many of the specials and could not be found for most of the meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bocas Bambu Beach also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
 

Been to Bocas Bambu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing