We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming spot”

Miami Mike's Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miami Mike's Backpackers Hostel
seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“welcoming spot”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I was to travel to Chitre with a friend that bailed out on me... ventured alone by bus and when arrived after looking around for convenient and affordable lodging, Miami Mike's Hostel was the place most readily available and welcoming. Mike is helpful, friendly, and willing to share his knowledge of interesting spots around the area, and he'll even show you around when available. The Hostel is airy (important with the humidity) comfy, clean, and at times you feel as if you've moved-in and you're in your own home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yiya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
9
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My brother and I got in to town late and had no lodging booked. We had a cab drop us off at the main square and were luckily enough to come across mikes place. He was very helpful even tho we woke him at the late hour. We were put up in dorms that were plenty cool during the warm night. He gave us pointers and I had a chance to talk with him about his story over morning coffee. Interesting guy. If you are looking for a more traditional backpacker experience than is found at Luna's castle in Panama City, get off the tourist path, explore the beaches and stay with mike.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

hey guys, I stayed at mike's in decembre 2012 and really had a great time!
the hostel is like a typical backpackers hostel. dormitories (1mixed + 1 women), 1 private room, bathrooms, a kitchen, a livingroom with tv and internet and a balkony. it's clean and mike informs you about anything you need. chitre it self does not offer a lot to do, but mike knows the interesting places and also shows you the good bars ;-)
sure, you hear the traffic noise, but it's in the centre of chitre (near to the church) and the next bus stop is just a 5 metres jump.
it's the only backpackers hostel in chitre, so you meet great people there!
attiention: my taxidriver didn't know it! remember the adress when you want to take a taxi from the main bus stop!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanskiE2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

You have to be an easy-going, experienced backpacker to enjoy Miami Mike's. It is very basic, alternative, if you ever lived in a squat or any alternative community you will probably get a bit of a deja-vu. Mike himself is a very funny person who will do his best to have you enjoyed the place. There is a big roof, on which you can pitch a tent, enjoy a drink or two, or just pass out during the night :) If your preference is a comfortable and smooth visit, don't go there. There's no hot water, sometimes there's no water at all and home cinema won't be there either :) It's right in the middle of the city and a convenient place for a stop over on a way from the southern beaches back north (or the other way around). I enjoyed my stay a lot, but the review and scores reflect the way I would present this to an average traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike w, Owner at Miami Mike's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
In all fairness,you were here on the last night of Carnival,therefore the hostel was crowded and chaotic(not the norm)
During Carnival the whole town sometimes runs low or out of water by the 5th day and the dry season does not help as well. Fortunately,since your visit we have installed a water tank! The lack of water isn't an issue now. Eternal agua!!!! In regards to hot water;not necessary at sea level in the tropics----
We do have over 100 cable channels but a blockage on VOD,Cimemax,HBO because they charge $5.00 a movie. THere is a cinema in town,with all the latest movies and its cheaper!
Thanks again for coming and hopefully we will see you during the next Carnival.
Cheers!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

First off, I found Chitre to be a worthwhile stop. It has interesting colonial style buildings and a great museum (one dollar/balboa admission). It also has plenty of eating places within an easy walk from the hostel where you can get a nice meal for a very reasonable price. I went to one cafeteria style place and picked out a hearty meal and a drink and it set me back all of 2 dollars. Chitre is almost four hours from Panama City by bus (the one I took was comfortable) and the taxi from the station was a little over a dollar or you can walk or even take a local bus.

Miami Mike is a charming person and I enjoyed meeting him, something the other guests I met also said.(Mike, I use a pen name here so you might not remember me from my name) The people I met at the hostel were friendly and great to be around. I also enjoyed the bright colors on the walls. There are lockers for your stuff. The price is wonderful,too.

When a place is this good, I hesitate to write anything negative but perhaps I can say that if you are into things being neat and tidy, the public areas could use a little attention.

All in all, I loved staying here. Best wishes to Miami Mike's!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Apart from the fantastic roof terrace (a great place to hang out in the evenings) it is a "normal" hostal (kitchen usage, free coffee and good Wifi connection, etc.). The big plus of the hostal is the owner Mike himself. Great infos and a helpful, funny person. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolfgang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Basic but friendly. Mainly dorms. Communal kitchen.
Mike is a very amiable host and a wealth of info on the local area.
Enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chitre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Versalles
Hotel Versalles
#4 of 5 in Chitre
54 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cubita Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Azuero
Gran Hotel Azuero
#2 of 5 in Chitre
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel City House Los Guayacanes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bali Panama
Hotel Bali Panama
#1 of 3 in Chitre
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#2 of 5 in Chitre
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Mike's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Mike's Backpackers Hostel

Property: Miami Mike's Backpackers Hostel
Address: Avenida Herrera 4008, Chitre 0601, Panama
Region: Panama > Herrera Province > Chitre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Chitre
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing