We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!!!! Hotel workers and managers are rude”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I was planning to stay here at the hotel for 2 nights. Maybe more if I was going to stay in Chitre longer. I checked in and paid and when I arrived to the room there were two very small beds. I guess I assumed I would get a double or queen bed as I was only one person. Or they would have said the room had two beds. I went back down to front desk and asked for a room with a double bed and was told there were none available. I wish the manger would have let me know this before I checked it. I am not a big guy (6 foot, 200 pounds) but these beds were tiny. The second day I was going to ask for a room with a double bed.

My friend comes to visit me at the the hotel and is told by the lady at the front desk that she is not allowed to come to my room. They have a no guests policy that is not mentioned at check in or displayed in the lobby. Apparently I am suppose to know that somehow. The lady at the front desk was very rude about it according to my friend. I was not there. When I got back to the hotel the lady at the front desk called me over loudly and would not unlock the door to the rooms till I went over. She was rude about it to me as well.

The next morning I decided that I was not going to spend another night in the hotel. I went down to the front desk to get my money back as I prepaid. The owner said that I was being rude when I said I would post what had happened on the internet. I told her I was just unhappy and not satisfied with the hotel and was going to post the truth. I told her they should have posted signs saying no guests. SHe really did not seem to care. I asked why guests were not allowed to visit and the only quasi answer I was given was that they are not a motel. I do not know what that means.

Then another guy came wearing street clothes and a baseball cap. He started to be a translator for us. That was helpful. The manager then wanted me to sign a receipt, I wanted to read it first but the guy said to call the police because I would not sign. He then demanded to see my passport and I told him I did not have to show him my passport. He said to call the police again. I told him I do not know who you are, he was in the lobby and not behind the desk and no name tag. As it turns out he was the husband of the owner/manager I had been dealing with. It would have been nice if he would have identified himself as such before making demands.

This all could have been avoided with the hotel displaying in the lobby their "no guests policy" or informing me at check in.

In March, I was going to stay here and even checked in but left after an hour as my room did not have wifi even though I was told the rooms have wifi. I gave the hotel another chance because they actually do have wifi and it worked great. But that was a mistake. I should have never given the hotel another chance after this misled me once.

I advise everyone to stay here if they want. But be warned from what I have said above.

Chitre is a great place to visit and I hope you enjoy it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panamaadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

Clean hotel, air conditioned, tv, nice second floor balcony overlooking the square. The only complaint really was that it was $45/night, and you can get a comparable room in Panama City for $30. It did seem to cater to business travelers. STILL, we really enjoyed Chitre, go check out the baseball stadium to see if they're playing, and go eat at Nostra Terra Pizzeria by the ballpark, great family style Italian place.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KEFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We traveled in Panama for 2 weeks. We spent one week in Chitre and while there stayed at Hotel Rex. It is by far the nicest hotel in the city center. We are not travelers who look for luxury, but a clean, business-class hotel. Hotel Rex was just what we were looking for. It is located one block from the cathedral and from our floor's large public balcony, we could look across the street at the beautiful city park.
Our room was not large, but had a king-sized bed, nice hot shower, and was super-clean. All of the rooms here either have been completely re-done or are in the process of being re-done. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We arrived before check-in and they stored our luggage at the desk. When we returned it had all been carried upstairs to our room for us. Because we are retirees, we qualified for a cheaper room rate and week-day rates were even cheaper and included a big breakfast in the cafe downstairs.
Wi-fi is provided free by the gov't at "hot spots" around panama and one "hot spot" is located across the street in the park. Because our hotel is so close, we could use this wi-fi from our hotel room.
These rooms are basic. If you are looking for luxury, you can easily pay twice as much if you go out of town a few miles. We love being in the heart of a city and look for "clean, quiet, pleasant, and comfortable" when choosing a hotel. We'd go back here in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x1x2x3x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ulises A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones de segundo piso si es posible las más cercanas al balcón, ya que son más nuevas, prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Edgar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chitre
0 mi away
Hotel City House Los Guayacanes
0.7 mi away
Hotel Versalles
Hotel Versalles
#4 of 5 in Chitre
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Azuero
Gran Hotel Azuero
#2 of 5 in Chitre
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cubita Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bali Panama
Hotel Bali Panama
#1 of 3 in Chitre
30 reviews
17.4 mi away
Mansion Juliana Hostal
Mansion Juliana Hostal
#4 of 11 in Las Tablas
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Calle Meliton Martin, Chitre 0601, Panama
Region: Panama > Herrera Province > Chitre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Chitre
Price Range: £29 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing