We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Village, Locks”

Almiza Tours by My friend Mario - Tours
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Colon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Providing the highest quality tours at an unbeatable value since 1994.Friendly guides and the best price in Panama city and Colon.Enjoy the pleasure of an amazing trip, coupled with the opportunity to discover a life-changing cultural experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Indian Village, Locks”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and very informative. The Locks were fascinating, we spent about 30 min there, The ships aren't exactly moving quickly. It was enough time. The indian village was interesting. The water levels were too low, so couldn't go to the waterfall, so we spent more time at the village. would have preferred the waterfall.
Honestly, not sure what else we coud have done as an excursion in Panama with our kids (14 &12), but they seemed to have enjoyed it. Beer was provided. there may have been water.
It was fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffreyJ71-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    19
    6
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This trip was one of the highlights of our Central American cruise vacation. After reading many positive reviews, we booked online with Mario at Almiza Tours. Booking was very simple through email and we got instant responses to all questions we had. Our guide was Mario (#3) and he was absolutely fantastic! He was very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. He arranged our tour in reverse of the normal order taken by the cruise ship tours - we went on a jungle walk and fort San Lorenzo tour first, and then went to the Gatun locks in the afternoon after all the crowds were gone. When we got the observation deck at the locks, we were the only ones there! And there were several ships in transit through the locks, so we got to see the whole operation in action. It was truly magical to see, especially after doing lots of reading about the canal's history. (A great book to read before you go is The Path Between the Seas by David McCullough).
During our jungle exploration portion we saw lots of wildlife, highlighted by a tree full of howler monkey families - very exciting.
Mario is a great guide and very nice guy - this was a tremendous trip!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank socal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Panama City and Canal”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Based on our very positive experience with My friend Mario two years ago when we visited the Rainforest, Fort, and Gatun Locks, we did not hesitate to contact them again for a tour to Panama City. However, this time, we did not have much luck with both our tour guide and the tour in general. Our tour guide was inexperienced and not very knowledgeable at all. He basically only drove us around and did not even be very familiar with the areas i.e. he drove us to the wrong side of the Gatun Locks which was not accessible for visitors, then we had to wait for at least 30 mins. for a ship to pass through before finally entering the right area and to watch a ship maneuvering through the canal. Due to the loss of time he was just flying down the highway towards Panama City, which made all of us in the van extremely uncomfortable. There was no break provided to visit a washroom until one of our tour suggested to stop somewhere for a quick lunch, drinks, and restrooms (after all this was supposed to be a 6 hour tour!) and even that was problematic. Not much or poor explanation was provided during the entire tour unless we asked specific questions. Some warm bottled water was offered to us when we were finally on the way back to Colon. Our tour guide just did not seem to care much about the whole thing..... and was absolutely unprepared.
Once we arrived back at the port we could not wait to get out of the van and agreed that this was by far the worst tour we have ever been onto. We were truly disappointed and I can honestly say that after this experience and if we will ever been in the region, we will not choose My friend Mario anymore. This tour was too much of a bad experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Only4Synchro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almiza_tours, Manager at Almiza Tours by My friend Mario - Tours, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
For all our clients, please note:
1. we use 1 driver and 1 guide for group with more than 5 persons, We never use 1 person to act like driver-guide.
2. All our drivers and the guides well-know the Canal (address and ticket price)
3. All our tours cover the entrance fee, Canal, rainforest, emberas, national park, others. Our clients never pay the entrance.

Because the review had not one match with our tour, we afffraid they took the tour with one taxi driver or one person acting like Amiza Tour at the dock.

Conclusion: If you identify the tour is not running like our instructions or like you expected, please feel free to ask to the guide give you the cellular phone and call us 6615-2271 to verify you are with the right company and person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rainforest, San Lorenzo fort and Gatun locks”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We went on this tour from our Celebrity Century cruise. We followed the instructions and were met by our guide at the bottom of the escalator. We left promptly. There were only 4 tourists in our air conditioned van. Rey was our guide; Juliette our animal spotter; and Omar our driver. Everyone was friendly and professional. We saw sloths, monkeys, and toucans in the rain forest. The fort was very interesting. We had passed the locks on our cruise the day before but now we got to stand on top. I would highly recommend this company. They provided excellent service and was a great value.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank DunmoreGreenpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tour by Roberto at Robtad's”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

On our cruise through the Panama Canal we stopped in Colon for one day and had the opportunity to take a tour with Roberto from Robtad Tours (robtads2@hotmail.com). My wife and I shared a van with 3 other couples and ha a memorable day. The first stop was the Gatun Locks. Even though we would be transiting the canal the following ay it was impressive to see the system is action from the beach and Roberto was very informative, willing to answer all questions not only from our group but other tourists at the locks too.
From there we headed to Portobello which has the counting house the Spanish used to move the Inca gold and silver to Spain and the forts that protected the harbor.
We followed that up with lunch at a quiet restaurant before heading back to Colon. A great day enjoyed by all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank pcwalton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Almiza Tours by My friend Mario - Tours also viewed

 
Colon, Colon Province
 

Been to Almiza Tours by My friend Mario - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing