We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Washington Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Otro Lado(Portobelo)
US$491
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
3
11
18
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
11
18
9
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Washigton Hotel, Colon
Only come if you are romantic and like historical places, if you are expecting fancy well restored places do not come. But if you are interested in Panama history you must visit this place. The building is very beautiful, but need a very urgent restaurauration! this could be one of the most beautiful heritage hotels in the Americas.
It was constructed 100 years ago, all the important visitors of Colon stayed there, their ghosts still around! Among the interesting stories, here is the place where former President Juan Domingo Peron from Argentina, met his last wife and also President of Argentina Maria Isabel - Isabelita- Peron.
It is in a very bad neglected condition, so sad.

Room Tip: Ask for a restored room, facing the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mxmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

One way or another, it´s nice to stay in old hotels, even when they have known better days. The setting couldn´t be better (with views on the ships on their way to the Canal), you can use the pool and the rooms are OK (however, you can tell that the bathroom wasn´t a very important room during the glory days of the hotel). We arrived by taxi, without a reservation, but it was no problem getting a room...with a view, for 60$ a night. All credit cards are accepted, and wifi is included.

Room Tip: ask for a view. People at the reception are not the fastest, nor the most efficient, but they are very helpful.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My opinion of this hotel is that they are very helpful,the room was well priced it had a flat screen television with cable and there was WiFi in the room which was a plus also the view of the Atlantic ocean was nice.The bathroom had hot and cold water which was acceptable,the receptionist was punctual not really people friendly though and lack of English speaking skills.The restaurant was nice the desserts are tasty didn't get to try the food.There was a nice pool it was very spacious and the hotel grounds where well kept.Overall the hotel is a nice relaxing place for only $60 us so i would encourage anyone to visit there.

Room Tip: Learn how to speak Spanish its more enjoyable when you can communicate with the staff
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khaliesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I recently visited Colon, Panama and decided to stay in this Hotel which according to local people is one of the Best. Far from that I tell you, my experience was horrible the Bathroom had MOLD, asked to be transfer the very next morning but the new room was not any better from the first one, except for the view which was to the Atlantic ocean, MAKE SURE YOU PAY THEM IN CASH ONLY, AVOID GIVING THIS PEOPLE YOU CREDIT CARD INFORMATION, I made that terrible mistake and fraudulent charges were posted in my account, Spoke with the accountant MARIBEL, and this lady is such a ignorant person that you, will not be able to get your point across...A PAIN IN THE BUTT.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lady W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have been coming to Colon, Panama since the 70's. I remember this hotel n its' glory days but I still love it. I love being near the sea, watching the waves and ho convenient it is to all m family and friends. There are other hotels that are newer in Colon, but I still like staying here. The rooms are large, the A/C is strong and the pool is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews