We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Gerald's
Nearby Hotels
Mar & Oro(Contadora Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
48
68
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
68
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother placessmall poolb bpoint hotelgolf carteggshis wifewater tankgerman dishesgracious hostshammock on the balconyferry landingbreakfast was includedsingle beda great place to stayplaya largarooms are clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We went there without reservation.
The owners are friendly and can tell you what to see on the island.
The room is bit overpriced, but the whole island is!
The room is okay, clean and big enough.
The restaurant is good!!!
The only thing which was not that nice was the garden around the b+b.
If they improve this the place would be even better!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank e-kleinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After learning that the Point Hotel is incredibly overpriced and not very good, we had 2 wonderful dinners and 1 great lunch at Gerald's. The portions are huge and the food is delicious. The service is also relatively fast and the people are friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank msdeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

OK...so here's the thing. If you are going to Isla Contadora with the expectations of 5-star luxury and American standards of hotel services...you are going to be disappointed! Isla Contadora, as a whole, is somewhat rustic...and Gerald's seems to be at the top of the options.

First off...it's not a bed & breakfast, it's a hotel (don't let the name mislead you!) And it's not a hostel either (despite the credit card receipt listing it that way). So don't worry...Gerald's is a small hotel, right next door to the airport. The staff were (mostly) very friendly, although we didn't get to meet Gerald since he was in the city. Nobody met us at the airport, but it was literally 50 yards away, and the first person we met pointed us there, so it didn't really matter!

Although the reviews have been mixed...our experience was that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning and ceiling fan worked great, and the bathroom (which is in the room, by the way) was wonderful. The shower was cold most of the time, but we didn't mind so much, as the weather is tropical. We spent quite a bit of time sitting outside our room, or down in the restaurant. We went up top to enjoy our drinks, but never went in the pool. With that said, the pool did look nice and cozy.

The restaurant was FANTASTIC! Breakfast was included, and was very simple...coffee, fruit, ham, cheese, and eggs (fried or scrambled)...but not bad at all. For lunch & dinner, you've got to try the pizza (which we ate daily, always with shrimp!)

There are a few beaches within walking distance of Gerald's, and it's pretty central to everything else (a little supermarket [where you can buy drinks, alcohol, bug spray, sunscreen, etc.], the dive shop, souvenirs, etc.) Keep in mind that everything on Isla Contadora is American pricing, so just know that drinks will be $6-10 each, and food will be priced as you would expect in the states.

Also...enjoy the wildlife. Hummingbirds all over the place, and a couple of pet deer on property! One knock is that their pet parrots will probably wake you up in the morning...although I didn't mind too much as I wanted to maximize my day.

We would gladly stay at Gerald's again...and hope we'll be able to bring our kids next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 upstairs. I'd highly recommend it...top floor, and in the corner, with one king sized bed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had heard such great things about Cantadora and were really looking forward to our visit. When we got to the room we saw a saggy, dirty couch, stains on the sheets, and bright red blood or sauce running down the wall. There was a soap container by the sink with no soap. The one in the shower was ripped off the wall. We had to ask for soap. We looked forward to cooling off in the pool, but it was too filthy. We were sorry Gerald was in the City, because we had looked forward to meeting him, and perhaps he would have made it better. The mini fridge, T.V., Internet and friendly staff were the only good things about the hotel. We were booked for 2 nights, but 1 night was more than enough. It cost us $250 to leave the next day, no refund airline ticket, half of the room and $90 ferry trip back to the City, but to us it was worth it to not have to spend another night. What a disappointment for our 20th anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrysford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanamaGerald, Owner at B&B Gerald's, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

hello

Thanks for taking the time to review my place.
Yes there are some stains that day at bed. sofa and the wall, after some heavy rainfall the days earlier we have in that partical room some tripping problems, sorry about that.
There was nothing ripped of the walls in the bathrooms, we changed just the shampoo, conttionar and soap system to little individuel botells. The soup spender was filled up and working perfectly fine.

Gerald, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My family was invited on a fishing trip to the Perlas Islands and we spent one night at Gerald's Bed & Breakfast. Rooms were sparse but clean and air conditioning was great after a day on the water. Great staff and the owner (Gerald) met us on the beach (prearranged) and drove our bags to his place while we walked.

We decided to eat at Gerald's and expected a regular experience but were pleasantly surprisedby the quality of the food. Pasta was cooked correctly (home made pasta and sauce), local beef was very good, and excellent home made desserts. Gerald came by to ask how dinner was and said he was from Bavaria and had a popular Resturant in Panama City but relocated to the quiet life on Contadora Island. Great food, great service - be sure to try the food and desserts!!! Lots of humming birds, deer, flowers, great B&B and very affordable.

Room Tip: Be sure to eat here and order the home made Pastas and Strudel for dessert.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews