We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B on Contadora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Contadora Island Inn
Reviewed 22 January 2008

David and Lisa were great hosts at this wonderful bed and breakfast on Contadora Island. My husband and I love to fish but it's very difficult to get him somewhere for him to actually relax. I took it as a great compliment that he did just that, along with fishing. Contadora Island Inn is close to everything on the island. We rented a golf cart for the week we were there to get us from beach to beach. People say you can walk the island in 20 minutes and we believe them.

As soon as you get off of a small plane from Panama to the island, get ready for some great information about the island, the people who live on the island, places to eat and places to pick up some groceries. David and Lisa will tell you the history, show you where Jimmy Carter stays when he comes and show you where the Vice President of Panama has a home. All this information in about 15 minutes and then your on your own if you want.

The breakfast in the morning's are a treat. Good Panamanian food! You can watch movies at night, listen to the birds during the day, along with getting some sun and if you like, fish...

Great experience, good people and peaceful. We are going back with family in March and look forward to it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chronarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2008

Contadora Island was the perfect spot for our honeymoon.
My husband and I recently stayed at the Contadora Island Inn, it was wonderful, beautiful and peaceful.
The Inn Keeper and his wife were friendly and very helpful.
The breakfast was delicious. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious. There was no TV in the room which my husband found delightful because we were really able to unwind and enjoy the company of the other guest.
I will definitely recommend the Inn to other travellers--we are already planning our next vacation there.
Contadora Island was amazing! Panama is beautiful! Its a great spot for fun in the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank taguilar-francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

This place is great!
The couple taking care of this B&B are the warm and helpful people and they will come to pick you up from the airstrip. They went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. They will organize any tours or activities that you want to do. You can borrow the B&B's snorkel gear and they are close (5 min walk) to the playa ejecutiva (probably the best snorkelling beach on Contadora). The rooms are cosy and air conditioned. Each room has a deck outside, chairs and table. If it is raining, they have a bookcase full of books that you can borrow (including books for identifying birds and fish that you may see during your stay) or you can borrow a movie to watch. Their cook provides big substantial breakfasts which change every day, they include good coffee and fruit. I strongly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Contadora Island

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fryingpangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Hi everyone! I want to talk a little bit about my experience in Contadora Island and the Pretty and Nice Contadora Bed and Breakfast Inn.

My Boyfriend and Me went to Panama To Contadora Island to expend 7 nice days there, we read a lot about the island first and took the desition to stay in The Contadora Bed and Breakfast and we have to say that it was the best election we did. This small B&B is really cute, clean, comfortable and really really nice, Iris the girl who made our breakfast is very lovely and also Tony who gave us some advice about the places in the island.

If what you want to do is travel to a nice place and not expend to much money ..Contadora Inn is the best place for that!

About the Island i can say that is very nice with 13 clean beaches all of those very close of each one , you can walk from the Contadora Inn to each of this beachs and just take you some minutes to arrive there. If you like the snorkling Contadora and its beachs are the best place for that. You will find all kind of fish, all sizes, all color ...It was amazing! We fell in love for Contadora Island and we want to come back pretty soon !!

The beaches which are closer to the B & B Are Cacique Beach and Ejecutiva Beach (just 5 minutes walking) the other ones are to 10 or 15 minutes walking, But walk is something you will enjoy there. Contadora has a nice weather. in august in the season of the rain just it is raining at morning and the rest of the day is sunny !

I Hope these information can help to someone who are thinking to travel there. Contadora is a beautiful island not much people and this make the time very private and very nice!

Ana Liliana Muñoz

4  Thank Riptom-AnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

We went on an exploratory trip to see all of Panama: mountain highlands, beaches, and the Pearl islands. The most famous of the Pearl islands has to be Contadora, where vacation homes of Panama's wealthy, estates of exiled rulers, and others, all share a 220 acre island. (Ok, we did research before we left home) Looking for something, in our under $100 price range, we found a lovely bed and breakfast, owned and impeccably expanded, renovated and redecorated by its American owners - The Contadora Island Inn. Nestled on a residential street, the Inn faces a towering jungle scene right across the street, and also downhill out the back door. There are five named suites, each with a private bathroom, wardrobe, and air conditioning. The beds are all fine, with good (firm American/orthopedic style) mattresses. Their doors all open out into a main living/dining room/kitchen area. There are large deck areas in the front and back, with tables, chairs and sun umbrellas, for outdoor relaxation. Bicycles and golf carts are available for cruising the island. Breakfast is cooked daily, and served on the big dining room table, by a local Pearl island native named Edis. She does all the cleaning and room service during the day. The managers meet you at the airstrip, where unloading flights from the mainland serve as an island gathering time; everyone is out there, greeting each other, picking up new guests and sending out departing ones. (David and Lisa are a dedicated husband and wife team who manage the B&B. They have all the information you need to ensure a wonderful stay.) The dive shop, internet cafe, and a curio shop are immediately available across the street (about 60 feet from your airplane). If you absolutely must rush to the beach a nice one is about 300 feet away. We spent four days relaxing, swimming and walking the many beaches,napping in the heat of the day, bicycling round the island and going for walks in the evening. (Contadora is absolutely safe for everyone, at all hours of the day and night.) Some of the locals gather at the western end of the island in a public space, to watch the sun go down.
Relaxing for sure.
Island Time is what the locals call it.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Islandloveraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2006

The Contadora Island Inn provided a peaceful escape from our hectic U.S. life. My husband, teenage son and I found the inn to be very calming and comfortable, like a home away from home. The owners, Keith and Marion, visited with us, answered our questions, offered advice on island activities, ate at a local resturant with us, and took us on the "Survivor tour" of some uninhabited neighboring islands. Their warmth, friendship and enthusiasm for life on the island was contagious! The inn was located on a tree lined street and we were able to walk to several beaches and through residential areas of beautiful houses. In the evenings, my family watched movies in the living area or sat out on the back deck overlooking a tropical wooded area. Since we enjoy nature, beaches, being outdoors, having beauty around us and at times, "getting away from it all," this was the perfect place to stay for our perfect vacation.

Stayed: June 2005
7  Thank marinebiologyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2006

We visited Contadora Island in July, following several days in Boca del Toro and a visit to Boquette (which was beautiful!). Several small airlines fly into Contadora. We stayed at the Contadora Island Inn B & B while there and found it to be spotless, the bedrooms well cooled with individual thermostats and ceiling fans, and the price a super value ($70 per night). A full, cooked Panamanian breakfast (incl. fresh fruit and homemade bread) was served by a delightful local. Scooters and bicycles were available for getting to the beaches, and the friendly manager arranged a scuba class with a local dive master. The island is a paradise for divers, bird watchers, and most especially, fishing buffs! Also, see where they filmed the 'Survivor' series... there were cast members from the European version all over the island when we were there. This is NOT THE PLACE for fancy dining, lively nightlife, or shopping... go to escape, kick back, and not be found! It is always balmy, so bring your flip flops, shorts, and bathing suits, and see some of the most beautiful sunsets ever beheld.

9  Thank FriendlyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contadora Island
0 mi away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 2 in Contadora Island
347 reviews
0 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0 mi away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Contadora Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
B&B Gerald's
B&B Gerald's
#4 of 10 in Contadora Island
128 reviews
0 mi away
Perla Real Inn
Perla Real Inn
#6 of 10 in Contadora Island
175 reviews
0 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#5 of 10 in Contadora Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contadora Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contadora Island Inn

Address: Archipelago de Las Perlas | Beachfront, Panama Province, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range: £90 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Contadora Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Contadora Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contadora Island Hotel Contadora Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing