We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Contadora Island Inn
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this b&b multiple times over the past few years. It is a great getaway from Panama City. The staff is welcoming and always helpful. The island is a relaxing haven with multiple beaches and restaurants. I'd highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

My spouse and I stayed for two nights at the Contadora Island Inn. The on-site manager, Tony, was really great. He picked us up from the airstrip, gave us a brief but comprehensive tour of the high points on the island, and then let us enjoy our stay at our own pace. As for the property itself, it was relatively basic but had all the “essentials” and its own unique charm. The air-conditioning in the rooms worked well, the WiFi worked from the second day onward (the whole island was down on our first day due to an issue with the provider), and the beds are comfortable.

Contadora Island itself is like the best place you’ve never been. Loads of deserted beaches with maybe only a few other visitors, laid back and utterly delightful. Gerald’s is the best restaurant and the others are overpriced and only “so-so”. The breakfasts at the inn are basic but good – fruit, coffee and toast with made-to-order eggs. The golf carts available to rent at the inn are priced much better (daily) than the hourly rates for the ones at the welcome center. We’ve no other property to compare CII to on the island but when we return (not if!), we won’t hesitate to book at Contadora Island Inn. It’s precisely what you would want for the undiscovered, undeveloped gem that is Contadora Island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrammarFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Tony picked us up off the ferry, showed us around the island and even setup an introduction with Bear Grylls following the filming of a type of "Survivor" on a neighboring island. The B&B is about a 10 minute walk from the airport/ferry area but very safe, even at night, and close to more secluded beaches. Overall it was a great experience and would stay there again if we headed back Contador Island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had two rooms at the hotel, went with kids. The place is perfect, easy, clean, air conditioning, very good breakfast, just perfect. Tony is very helpful, he picked us up when boat arrived, gave some tips on what to do, and rented mini-golf cars. Price of the cars was about usd 50 / day with fuel. Find it okay, and with this car you can go all around the island. Shower is good, water temperature varies a bit, location is very jnie, you need to go by mini golf car to the beaches, but there is the best restaurant of the island in about 100m, walking distance. This island is a paradise and Tony and his hotel just make everything to look more perfect. Tks

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElioWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Contadora Island Inn for 4 nights. When we arrived, our host Tony, picked us up at the airport and gave us a tour of the island. Upon our arrival at the inn, we rented a golf cart and and set out to explore the island. The inn offers a hearty breakfast every morning and you can either eat at the communal table with other guests or take your meal on deck. Rooms are small and basic, but adequate. Remember, you are not here for the ambiance of the accommodations but for the natural beauty of the island. Each morning we stopped at one of the two markets and purchased ice and beverages for the day, then headed for the beaches. One downside is the abandoned Contadora Hotel on Playa Larga. It has a eerie post-apocalyptic feel to it. It has been empty since 2008 and completely vandalized. You will see other abandoned structures on the island. I can only hope that the government steps in to encourage some type of remediation of these issues. Otherwise, you will find lovely natural beaches with pristine water and the opportunity for good fishing and snorkeling, and most importantly no crowds. Thanks again to Tony for his hospitality and knowledge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1FlyersFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent 3 nights at this BB and it has been a great stay. First of all, there are not enough words to say thanks to Tony, who of course picked us up at the Ferry arrival, gave us a tour of the island, suggested places to eat, beach to go, but also made us feel so welcome and looked after.
The BB, only after three days, felt like been at home. It is cozy, quiet, clean and with a great breakfast, which we enjoyed at the same table with the other guests while chatting, literally, for hours!
Thanks for the great stay and thanks Tony for the amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were collected from the ferry by Tony who gave us a tour of this small island before he took us to the B&B. He offered reviews of restaurants we passed including a very little local place where we returned for a great lunch of chicken, rice and lentils. The B&B itself was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with coffee, fruit, eggs, cheese. We enjoyed a drink with friends on one of the terraces before we set off for our evening meal. Because we were a group of 4 Tony's son brought us a golf cart (mule) for 4 as transport. We would have struggled to get around without it. With the mule if was easy to visit different beaches and also get to and from the restaurant we chose (Gerald's). We had a great couple of days.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Contadora Island hotels
0 mi away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 2 in Contadora Island
358 reviews
0 mi away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Contadora Island
87 reviews
0 mi away
B&B Gerald's
B&B Gerald's
#4 of 10 in Contadora Island
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#5 of 10 in Contadora Island
127 reviews
0 mi away
Perla Real Inn
Perla Real Inn
#6 of 10 in Contadora Island
176 reviews
0 mi away
La Romantica
La Romantica
#3 of 10 in Contadora Island
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contadora Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contadora Island Inn

Address: Archipelago de Las Perlas | Beachfront, Panama Province, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range: £85 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Contadora Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Contadora Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contadora Island Hotel Contadora Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing