We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is good, rooms are nice”
Review of Hotel Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alcala
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in David
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The price is OK and the rooms are good. For that price its hard to beat the quality. They have a restaurant with OK food and the hotel is close to 2 malls and the bus station. Hotel has no pool but it has a computer room and WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinjaGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Trip Advisor deleted my first entry so this is abbreviated version of the first. Older rooms, but clean and comfortable with new LG Big Screen TV's. Balcony with lovely view of the city - great for sipping wine at the end of the day. Suggest an upper floor, corner room. Great included breakfast buffet, very budget-friendly room service and great burgers! Kimberly, at the front desk was our favorite. We were there during football season - several great sports bars (Sports Book and in the Marriott Hotel). Very centrally located, safe, central location and great price!

Room Tip: Higher floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coloradorealtor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very reasonable pricing on the rooms and the food. Friendly staff with the exception of the morning cashier in the restaurant who has always been the opposite. We stayed in the newly constructed addition this time and it was quiet, clean and comfortable. In the past we have stayed in the older section. It was a little bit noisier. The room layout is the same in the new as the old section. The ceiling lighting is not the best for reading in bed and there are no easy chairs in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new addition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stay at the Alcala and you won't have any surprises. You will know the rate, have great security, clean rooms and good food. This is not 5 star and there are better hotels in David but most of them are also more expensive. Save your money, I mean, it is only for sleeping mostly right? And use it for other more important things!

One thing though, there is no elevator and all the rooms are up a pretty high flight of stairs. There usually are no bellboys to carry your luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room if you don't want any street traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tarzantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My experience was great, big rooms and showers, very clean, and a restaurant down stairs. And overall, a centric location near a bus terminal to all cities. The price is affordable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bernard008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My Panamanian boyfriend and I stayed three times in this hotel and found it excellent value. It is located about five minutes by foot from the central square in David, the capital of Chiriqui Province. The front desk staff is correct and friendly, although not overwhelmingly welcoming. You have to pay in advance for the first night. The room rate was 29,60 USD for one person and 33 USD for double occupancy in a room with one queen size bed (add 6 USD for a two-bed room). Each room is painted in a different color (light green, blue, rosé or yellow) and has cable TV and phone. Most of them are quite spacious and all are spotless and incredibly clean. The hotel is very popular, especially among Panamanians, so book ahead if you are planning to stay over the weekend. It is currently being amplified to satisfy the growing demand. Free WiFi is available and works best in the WiFi zones of the hotel. Another pro of this hotel is the attached inexpensive restaurant: It offers good food and drinks and the staff is friendly and relaxed. They also offer room service and charge only half a dollar extra for bringing you the food, as far as I remember.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topautorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

The room had a/c, cable-tv, wireless and private bathroom for 29$ / night. The room was pretty dark but clean. They have a nice inexpensive restaurant with room service. Located between central plaza and bus terminal (5 min walk each). Recomendable...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JensHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#8 of 13 in David
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Rivera
Hotel Los Rivera
#10 of 13 in David
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#9 of 13 in David
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcala

Address: Avenida 3a Este, Calle D Norte, David, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range: £35 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcala 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2011 we remodeled the Hotel Alcala to give our customers modern and comfortable rooms with 32" LCD and electronic door locks.Hotel Alcala is located in the center of the city of David, a few meters from the bus station, national postal and modern Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra Park. Furthermore, we are in the commercial and banking area, which we save time and money when you shop.For ecotourism please contact the Chiriqui highlands and visit the towns of Boquete and Cerro Punta, where you can enjoy its pleasant climate and admire the diverse flora and fauna; and if you are looking for beaches we have several being the most visited Las Lajas or the Barqueta.So you know, on your next trip to the province of Chiriquí, we offer our convenient facilities to make your visit the best stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing