We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay”
Review of Hotel Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alcala
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in David
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hotel stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is perfect for someone on a budget. It is clean and the staff is friendly. I recommend it highly! This hotel was utilized for a period of one week. It is extremely good value. There are many restaurants nearby. It is a good location for travelling to Boquete which I was doing all week.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    56
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
46
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The rooms have AC, TV´s and are very clean and quiet. The staff are friendly. Highly recommended if you need to stay in David. David is a very hot city and it was very welcoming to come home to a cool room with AC that worked quickly. Excellent value overall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneGrunenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nice hotel! Wife and I stayed here twice during our 6 week Panama trip. Nice reception area, very helpful, good clean hallways and room. Hotel is a 3 story building with good parking below. A ten minute walk to Central Park. Also a good restaurant open all day till 10:00pm. A good and varied menu but one dish is horse. Fish was good $9:00, fillet mignon $10 was acceptable, nice fruit salad $2, Meet Jesus the bartender!! Very friendly staff including the housekeepers! A double was $44 with good free parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Most people don't go to David just for fun, but if you do need a hotel in the city, Hotel Alcala is a very nice, clean, hotel, with huge rooms, located in the centro. There's a plainly decorated restaurant with great breakfasts and a cute little bar with a very nice bartender.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalsaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After my fourth stay at the Alcala, I thought it was time to leave a review. This is the hotel I choose for my David stopovers as it is unbeatable on many fronts.
- It's very close to the bus terminal
- It's big and and you can usually get a room without booking first
- The service is friendly and the rooms are clean
- There is a garage if you need to park a car (reservation recommended)
- The restaurant is good, affordable and there just aren't many options to choose from in David
- Low price - $44 per night for a double room

Room Tip: Request an internal room as they are quieter and those with two double beds are very large and cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britishbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights about 2 weeks apart. The rooms are basic but very clean with A/C and flat screen TV with cable.. the price is as advertized (about $40 us) which was fine for us. Safe easy parking in the courtyard.. and the girl at the front desk spoke English which was a plus for me. This is a big hotel and will be my destination if we ever get back that way again.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a window.. but that was not important to us since we were just there for a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Really really clean! Nice hot shower, tv, aircon and nice staff. easy walk from the bus terminas and very central. The restaurant is simple yet the food is tasty and amazing value for money. The only bad thing is they are putting in a new elevator so in the day times its quite noisy. But, would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#9 of 13 in David
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcala

Property: Hotel Alcala
Address: Avenida 3a Este, Calle D Norte, David, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcala 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2011 we remodeled the Hotel Alcala to give our customers modern and comfortable rooms with 32" LCD and electronic door locks.Hotel Alcala is located in the center of the city of David, a few meters from the bus station, national postal and modern Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra Park. Furthermore, we are in the commercial and banking area, which we save time and money when you shop.For ecotourism please contact the Chiriqui highlands and visit the towns of Boquete and Cerro Punta, where you can enjoy its pleasant climate and admire the diverse flora and fauna; and if you are looking for beaches we have several being the most visited Las Lajas or the Barqueta.So you know, on your next trip to the province of Chiriquí, we offer our convenient facilities to make your visit the best stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing