We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover”
Review of Chambres en Ville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambres en Ville
Ranked #3 of 14 David B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were en Chambres en ville just to stop over between Panama city and Boquete. Everything was ok, it was clean and we had everything we needed. But in the morning they started to work at the hostel, it was 7 in the morning. They made a lot of noise, with hammers and cutting wood. Anyway, we couldn t sleep any more. And there was also no water, not even for brushing teeth. We dont know the reason for that.
We just think that if you care about your guests you wait with the working until a normal hour like 9am. Or you tell your guests in advance that they start at 7.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We absolutely fell in love with this place! It is the perfect respite from the hustle of the city of David but still within walking distance to a lot of interesting downtown places. The huge yard, pool and outdoor common space were nicely kept. It was great to have a kitchen and refrigerator to help us save a little money.
I would highly recommend this place to ANYONE!

(Also, they have some of the cheapest, coldest beer you will find offered at any hotel)

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is on the other side of the little courtyard from the street. It was a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We booked this place based on the pool when we were in Panama City, however when we arrived we were enchanted by the beauty of the yard with the pool and large veranda with kitchen and gathering area. We don't like staying in sterile tall hotels so this really hit the spot. The senora and her son Luis were extremely welcoming and took care of our every need including finding me an extra lamp for my room so I could read. The rooms were function-able and clean as was the kitchen and the pool. I found that most guests spend their time under the veranda or in the pool. The guests were also quite welcoming. I was taken aback when I saw "hostel" on the front sign and thought it would be communal living but was pleasantly surprised that we had our own with air conditioning. We loved it here and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a clean room with a pool and large outdoor communal kitchen under a veranda I highly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larios p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is a hostal that comes equipped with private rooms or a dorm room at reasonable rates, has a huge outdoor kitchen, pool, lovely gardens, two dogs, three parrots and a toucan. A Romeros .supermarket is 3 blocks away .and there are good restaurants nearby. \luis owns and manages the hostel in Spanish, English and French and is unbelievably informative and always helpful.;


There are only 7 rooms total so reserve early but the best part is that with so few rooms the pool is usually just for you.

Room Tip: It is a hostel and the rooms are quite similar and face on a small courtyard wth tr.ees, plants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villager223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have travelled through david several times. After arriving on a late bus from Almirante and going to the other hostels that were full(i didn't know it was a holiday) the taxi driver took me here. I was surprised by the downtown location. Super close to everything. The staff is very nice, the manager Luis was very friendly and made me feel welcome.

He had a cancellation and gave me a double room for the single rate. I didn't really have time to use the pool, or the kitchen but both looked very nice. The kitchen was quite large and looked well stocked with utensils and cookware.

They have a nice tv area, free and fast wifi, and a nice eating area.

The guests that were there, were on the older side. Not very friendly or outgoing but I would expect this as its not really a hostel and not really a hotel.

For a single traveler looking for a fun place to stay and meet people I dont think this is it. But if you are looking for a comfortable and quiet place to sleep right downtown than this is for you. I will be staying here on all of my future visits to david.

thank you Luis and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honest_dude_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

It is located in a street which does not feel very safe at night but the Hotel in itself feels safe. They have a great kitchen for everyone to use. No restaurant. Nice but small pool. Close to a grocery store. All in all good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guslor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The room we were in was old but spacious and clean. They have newer rooms too, which looked very nice. The outdoor community kitchen was very clean (clean fridges!) and equiped with everything you need. There is a spacious garden with a pool. Last but not least, the owner is very helpful and friendly! I recommend staying here when you are in David!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscoverMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.0 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Little Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres en Ville

Address: Avenida 5th Este, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in David
Price Range: £22 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chambres en Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing