We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad de David
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in David
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Chic modern hotel with great amenities. Fitness room was well equipped and even had a sauna, in case you need a little more heat in the hottest city in the country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchAud08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    113
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
107
21
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

If there is such a thing as a MODERN & TROPICAL EXCELLENCE AWARD, this hotel deserves the highest rate. The city of David (located a sea level) in the province of Chiriqui, Republic of Panama, is one of the hottest places in Panama (hot, as in very humid and hot temperature, averaging 32+ Celcius year round, some 98+ Fahrenheit), and this wonderful hotel, and its magnificent and friendly staff, represent a truly oasis of coolness, safety, modern amenities, and great food. We stayed there on Friday Feb/24/2012, and super was great, beer icy cold, and breakfast rich in tropical fresh fruits and local Panamanian specialties. Business center was very clean and organized, and the entire building was filled with English-Spanish touristic promotional materials about the entire country of Panama. Front desk staff was very knowledgeable, and willing to help you out with finding local places, and maps. The rooms are very modern, and extremely clean! Indeed a nice place to cool down!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

No hay problemo! Great big room. Comfy king bed, hot shower. Good restaurant (breakfast included in the room price), good bar. Everything worked including the wifi. This is THE place to stay in David!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALGARY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The service was so, so. The waitress during the breakfast either were chating or on the phone but not attending the guests. We have to go to them and ask for a cup of coffee. The dinner dish was not what was described in the menu. We call room service and ask for the cheff special hamburger. It was horrible, hard, grease and raw, we could not eat it.

Room Tip: Preferible the upper floors to avoid noise and polution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playasblancas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a relatively new hotel in David and I guess it is probably the best. The building stands out in a relatively unattractive area. The location is superb: about 10 minutes walk from the central bus station where all the departing and arriving buses in David, can be found. The rooms are clean, stylish and comfortable. The WiFi service is excellent and a modern flat-screen TV is in each room. The bathroom is impeccable. The special room rate was $95 and breakfast was included. Stylo is the name of the hotel's restaurant and the menu is varied and adequate. However, the taste of the food could be a little better. Staff at the hotel were helpful and polite. A pool is available on the third floor. There is also a gym on the same floor. This is definitely the place to stay in David.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel was totally unexpected. The style is very modern; the rooms are comfortable, clean and very nice decorated. The food from restaurant is good and prices are very affordable. And I can not end this review by mentioning the attention of the staff. Everybody is willing to help you and very nice. I definitely recommend this hotel. Just an important tip, ask for the rooms with external windows, which have sun light!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with external windows, which have sun light! Some of the room (a few) have windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALANDPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed a couple of days at David at the end of December. This is a wonderful, calm and comfortable hotel right in the midst of downtown David chaos. Our room was a king jr suite and had a great view onto the hustle and bustle of the streets below. The bed was very comfortable and the room was large. The bathroom was very well stocked with extras and I must say they have the softest toliet paper I have ever seen in a hotel. The breakfast was included with the room and was okay. There is great off street parking at the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. BTW, if you are looking for a local place to have a beer try the SevenSeas. The owner speaks great English and was happy to chat and help wuth directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaterValleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
1.1 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#4 of 13 in David
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad de David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad de David

Property: Hotel Ciudad de David
Address: Calle D Norte, Ave 2da. Este, David, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ciudad de David 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The trendy 103-room Hotel Ciudad de David is the essence of urban sophistication – a stylish, contemporary retreat that somehow manages to soothe and inspire at once. Discerning executives and holiday travelers will find our intimate David hotel perfect for experiencing one of Panama’s largest cities and the capital city of Chiriquí Province, known as an epicenter of commerce, finance and agriculture. Situated just 10 minutes from Enrique Malek International Airport (DAV) and steps from scenic Miguel De Cervantes Saavedra Park, the Hotel Ciudad de David offers unmatched access to the city’s most prestigious corporations and popular tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciudad de David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing