We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in David
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was one of my favorite places in Panama. The rooms aren't that great, they have that NJ beach hotel feel. The hotel itself is wonderful. Great pool, a stones throw to the beach, which you can see from the patio outside your door. We were the only people on the beach.The hotel has a great restaurant and the food was quite tasty. It's a long winding road to get to the hotel from the town of David so get what you need before you start out and you 'don't' want to drive that road at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your stay and kind words! We are very proud of our facility and it makes us especially happy with our guests thoroughly enjoy it! Having the beach almost entirely to yourself is pretty amazing, isn't it? We do hope you'll visit us again soon.
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    76
    37
    23
    26
See reviews for
73
100
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This hotel is has a nice pool area and is also right on the beach. There is alot of activities here, they have ping pong, board games etc available and down the beach there are surf and boogie boards for rent. The Rooms are dated but clean. There is no wifi except in the lobby and there are no mini fridges in the room. The restaurant was decent and has average prices. There is no gift shop, so make sure you bring everything you need - sunscreen, snacks etc, because they do not have it for sale. Overall we were happy with this resort for the price we payed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for your stay and review! You'll be happy to hear that wi-fi has been expanded and will soon be available in the entire resort. Also, refrigerators are available in all suites and by request in other rooms. Lots of positive changes here at Las Olas! We do hope you'll be able to visit again soon and see them for yourself!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I stayed there three nights and it was an oasis just South of David and right on the Pacific. The hospitality was great and the place was nice and reasonably priced. We traveled all over the country and that was our favorite place. I'd just assume fly into David and go straight to the resort and stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: They all look at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fullonmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your stay and wonderful review! All of our guests are valued, but we have a special appreciation for repeat guests. We welcome you back any time!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent one night at Olas Beach Resort. The staff was very friendly and nice. The pools and beach were great. The resort was very clean and our room was on the first level with a door that went out to a small patio. The decor was a bit dated, but after all, who goes to the beach to spend your time in the hotel. Bathroom had a great shower with lots of good water pressure. Television lacked the remote, but we found that they only had 10 stations to choose from anyway.
We ate dinner and breakfast the following morning. The dining room begins dinner service at 7PM. We arrived at 7:30 and were the only ones there until about 45 minutes later. Service was a bit slow considering they were not busy. The food was a bit over cooked and okay. Prices were very reasonable. Most dinners ran around $12.00. Breakfast in the morning also had very slow service. We had the International. Two eggs, toast, bacon, and homefries. It was $6.00.
We liked the resort well enough, we will return. We paid the reduced rate of $78.00 for the night; We felt this was a good price for the room at this hotel. We would not go back if they raised the rates however. But all in all, for a beach hotel this was very nice and relaxing.

Room Tip: Not a good beach for swimming. Big waves and undertow. But miles of beach to walk on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanloverDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your stay and great review. We would love to have you back at Las Olas any time!
Happy vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed two nights for some beach time after five nights in Boquete. This was a nice place however it is isolated and the restaurant on site is essentially the only game in town. The ground floor room was good, two queen beds with private patio with a table and a couple of chairs that faced the beach. The hotel itself had two adjorning swimming pools as well as a shallow kiddie pool perched in between. There were four or five palapas on the beach with pvc lounge chairs, however this part of the beach had dark sand (very hot during the afternoon). During our stay, which was Monday and Tuesday during the week of carnival, the hotel was crowded and the restaurant only offered a buffet option, no a la carte. We ate one dinner and one breakfast, the food was ok, not great. The staff was friendly. The setting is nice, but at the end of the day, it was not what we were looking for

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juno80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and review. Carnival is a very busy time for us here at Las Olas - I'm very glad the staff impressed you even though they were attending to such a large crowd. They strive to make each and every guest very satisfied with their stay.
Thanks again!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Last 4th of July weekend we stayed at Las Olas, we had miles of Pacific beach literally to ourselves. The room and view was just perfect. The food and staff compliment the resort. This place is isolated and would be excellent for Honeymooners, Conventions or an extended family stay. The owners are on property and so friendly and welcoming and helpful, you just can't believe how nice they are. Besides the hotel/resort they have condo, home sale, and properties opportunies with oceanfront views in each offer....I loved the place. Exudes peace.

Room Tip: My upstairs room had an unbelievable ocean view as far as you can see in each direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your stay and kind words! We love reviews like yours; as we truly try to make each and every guest feel important and completely happy and relaxed. Please do visit again soon!
Happy vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Las Olas Beach Resort was a slice of heaven!! The staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable, important, and satisfied!! They have wonderful amenities and we had a view of the ocean right through the window and could hear the crashing of the waves! It's a perfect place for families as well; there are many things for children to do to stay entertained! We were even able to make a call home to check on our puppy compliments of the hotel!! That was a 1st for us!! The restaurant was wonderful and again, I can't say enough good things about the hotel staff! They even send someone to our room to help us with the Internet! Please give this hotel a try; you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that overlooks the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marguerite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so very much for your stay and review! We are very proud of our staff and facilities and are very honored when our guests feel the same way we do. I do hope you're able to join us again soon!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
13.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
12.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
138 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
13.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Address: Ave. Don Antonio Anguizola | Playa La Barqueta, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 minutes from David, Panama’s second largest city and the Enrique Malek International Airport, Las Olas Resort is at the heart of the 14 mile stretch of beach called Playa La Barqueta and the surrounding 2,000 acre plantation. Some of the best surfers in all of Panama may be found catching waves on this spectacular expanse of beach and its waves giving Las Olas its name, meaning “The Waves”. Las Olas Resort offer 48 rooms all facing uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. We have standard rooms with two queen beds or one king bed, six junior suites with a separate living area, and two king suites featuring two bedrooms and one living area. Each and every room is steps away from the gorgeous sand and beautiful blue waters of Playa La Barqueta. Each room has a terrace, with lower rooms having beachside access while the upper floors have their own enclosed private terrace.offers excellent shopping, dining, and nightlife. Las Olas Resort features lush gardens, wandering walkways surrounded by the umbrella shaped coverage of almond trees, tall and lovely grape leaves, multicolored crotos, pink bougabilia, hedges of hicacos and a wide variety of palm trees,. All forty-eight rooms are directly facing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular views of the majestic sunsets over Playa La Barqueta. In La Abigail Restaurant guests can enjoy local, organic plantains, pineapples, mangos (in season), papaya and watermelon. We raise our own grass fed beef and lamb, duck, pork, and chicken. Taste fresh coconut water to refresh your body and enjoy tennis, kayaking, surfing, strolling the beach or taking a swim. Good for mind and body, Las Olas Resort provides a quick way to hit your internal reset button.The Bella Donna Convention Center at Las Olas Resort offers meeting and event spaces of a variety of sizes with various services, food and beverage options available. Added to the adjacent covered outdoor space, one could hold a party of 500 or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Beach David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing