We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place with great service, great food, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in David
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place with great service, great food, great views”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I loved staying at the Las Olas Beach Resort. The rooms were clean and spacious. The air conditioning worked well. There were a variety of television channels. There were many things to do at the resort including a spa, a workout room, an infinity pool, volleyball, table tennis, etc. There was also the Pacific ocean, of course. There are also various excursions available here that you can talk about with the friendly people at the front desk. The resort is a short 30 minute drive from David. The beach is black sand, so wear some sandals in the middle of the day. Many fishing opportunities, or you can dig for crabs, sand dollars, and starfish, all of which are abundant. The poolside restaurant is great and serves all of the typical beach fare as well as more expensive dishes and is opening late into the evening. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite. We were upgraded at no charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our facility and reviews like yours sure make us smile. We hope to have you visit again and again! See you beach-side soon?
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    75
    37
    23
    26
See reviews for
72
99
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We've returned to Las Olas numerous times since we first reviewed it, and continue to enjoy it. We also enjoy going for morning runs on the beach shortly after sunrise, and enjoy those runs most at low tide, when the beach is at its widest and firmest (at high tide, the beach is narrow and the exposed sand is soft). That meant we'd enjoy our stays more if we could pick dates when low tide would be c. 7:00 a.m. (We realize not everyone has this inclination (You might prefer a moonlit after-dinner stroll to a dawn run), or this freedom, but this is for those who might want to choose dates, or plan their activities, based on tides). If that includes you, you might want to check out this site:
http://magicseaweed.com/La-Barqueta-Surf-Report/647/Tide/
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Second-floor (US terminology) rooms have considerably better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnmarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your nice comments! All of our guests mean so much to us, but we have a special appreciation for our repeat customers. I hope your helpful tips and tide charts help future visitors - thank you for sharing those! Please visit again soon!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel was nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful during our stay. As mentioned in other posts, the pool area was very clean and our children enjoyed swimming immensely. There is A/C and it works, so that bumps this place up a notch in our book! The food was decent, nothing spectacular and meals were a bit on the slow side - meaning that sometimes we waited 10 minutes to even get a menu...not because it was busy.

The other downside is the distance from David. The trip is 30 minutes and we used a taxi which was quite pricey. There is nothing near the hotel, so once we were out there we were "stuck" because the price of transportation (or the limited availability of buses) made a trip into town unreasonable.

Overall, we were comfortable and were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean and swimming in the pool. We would recommend doing this trip with a rental car so that access to town is more affordable and you are not limited to only what the hotel serves.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ajhalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your stay and review! Las Olas really is a great place to get away. I'm glad your children enjoyed the pool - our staff is very attentive to details and work tirelessly to keep it sparkling clean. We hope you'll be able to visit again soon!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Rooms are a bit dated, but the staff is super friendly and go the extra mile. The pools are nice and have a swim up bar. There was only 2 of us on the beach for as far as you can see.
The resort is a good 1/2 hr of twist and turns from the city but once there very nice. Each room having a little to patio to on and watch the ocean at night.

Room Tip: ** Locals say that the under current in the ocean there is quite dangerous so unless you are a excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We agree...Las Olas is about as peaceful and relaxing as it gets; a perfect getaway! I will be sure to let the staff know how much you appreciated them. They receive a lot of frequent training and are such a great part of the resort. Hope to see you again soon!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Spent five days at this resort, and enjoyed every minute of it. Every room has an ocean view. Our patio had a table and chairs, so that we could enjoy our early morning coffee to the sights, sounds, and smell of the ocean. So very relaxing. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The property has everything, restaurants, bar, gym, play areas for children, everything you could want. We would definitely go there, again, if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westerly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We would love to have you visit again!! Thank you very much for your kind words. We do feel that Las Olas is the perfect, relaxing getaway. And our staff - 5 star! Mornings on the patio really are splendid, aren't they?
Thanks again!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I first stayed at the resort when it was relatively new. I returned after purchasing a promotion online. I was deeply disappointed and would have been very upset if paying the normal rate. I doubt if anything has been done to the rooms the past five years. The list of faults is long: frayed towels, blood stain on sheets, small Sankey TV (17"-19"), small table with plastic two plastic chairs, bathroom door very narrow (probably 24"), a woman would have to also walk sideways to enter, bathroom tiles stained not not being properly cleaned.
On the plus side the view to the ocean is good, the pool area is clean, however the pool bar was never open (probably the season) and both breakfast and dinner were good. The road from David to the resort is one of the worst roads in Panama to beach properties. I have been to Boca Chica, Las Lajas, Playa Blanca, El Toro, Arenal, Limon in Pedasi and Playa Venao in Azuero and they are all in better condition.

Room Tip: Check to see if any renovations have been done!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDogPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
First of all, we are very glad that you are a repeat visitor! I do wish we had met your expectations. Please know that we are undergoing frequent updates and many improvements have been made since your stay. We would love to show you recent changes and think you'd be impressed. Please visit again if you have the opportunity. Thank you for your stay and review.
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these David hotels

Benbrook,
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We decided to go to this resort on the Pacific instead of Bocas since it was closer to the air port and we had to make sure to make our flight. The drive from David is about 30 miles with horrible roads and more than terrible directions. We stopped every so often and said "Las Olas" and the person would point to where we needed to go. It didn't help that we had a horrible downpour for the whole day. The place is in the middle of nowhere and right on the black sand beach. The food was very good, the people were very nice and we had hot water. All rooms have balconies that look out to the ocean and there was one english TV channel, FOX News. It was easier getting back to David even though I still had to stop and ask directions two more times. Nice, but probably would not go there again.

Room Tip: If you want off the beaten track, go here. They do have A/c, not sure about heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandiftworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I'm very sorry you had trouble reaching us! Our website has directions, but I will check those and make sure they are as accurate as possible. We are a bit of a journey out of David - but the remoteness adds so much more relaxation! Many times, our guests say that they have the entire beach to themselves! Many of the resorts in bigger towns could never say that. Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant and staff. I will pass your comments along.
Thank you for your stay and review!
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
13.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
12.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
133 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
13.7 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#4 of 13 in David
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Address: Ave. Don Antonio Anguizola | Playa La Barqueta, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 minutes from David, Panama’s second largest city and the Enrique Malek International Airport, Las Olas Resort is at the heart of the 14 mile stretch of beach called Playa La Barqueta and the surrounding 2,000 acre plantation. Some of the best surfers in all of Panama may be found catching waves on this spectacular expanse of beach and its waves giving Las Olas its name, meaning “The Waves”. Las Olas Resort offer 48 rooms all facing uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. We have standard rooms with two queen beds or one king bed, six junior suites with a separate living area, and two king suites featuring two bedrooms and one living area. Each and every room is steps away from the gorgeous sand and beautiful blue waters of Playa La Barqueta. Each room has a terrace, with lower rooms having beachside access while the upper floors have their own enclosed private terrace.offers excellent shopping, dining, and nightlife. Las Olas Resort features lush gardens, wandering walkways surrounded by the umbrella shaped coverage of almond trees, tall and lovely grape leaves, multicolored crotos, pink bougabilia, hedges of hicacos and a wide variety of palm trees,. All forty-eight rooms are directly facing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular views of the majestic sunsets over Playa La Barqueta. In La Abigail Restaurant guests can enjoy local, organic plantains, pineapples, mangos (in season), papaya and watermelon. We raise our own grass fed beef and lamb, duck, pork, and chicken. Taste fresh coconut water to refresh your body and enjoy tennis, kayaking, surfing, strolling the beach or taking a swim. Good for mind and body, Las Olas Resort provides a quick way to hit your internal reset button.The Bella Donna Convention Center at Las Olas Resort offers meeting and event spaces of a variety of sizes with various services, food and beverage options available. Added to the adjacent covered outdoor space, one could hold a party of 500 or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Beach David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing