We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in David
Boquete, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

WOW!!! This place is a JOKE!!! DO NOT STAY HERE if you care ANYTHING about your spouse or family!!! SOOO many things advertised that were NOT true at arrival. The swim up bar? Non existent bc "we are short staffed"...Gimme a break! The Wi-Fi? ONLY in public areas OR if you have a cable in the room and hooked up through the phone which ties up outlets that leaves you without a power source to charge laptop, etc. The pics you see online for the beach front one bedroom suite? TOTALLY fabricated!!!! The food? We ordered upon arrival, garlic shrimp with some kind of tropical rice, which wasn't bad BUT was $15 and served in a styrofoam container with plastic utensils!!! I asked about it and they said we don't have room service. For $136 per night???? AND I was in room 101, which is 100 feet from the bar!!!!! Again, Gimme a break!!! WEAK! Also, the pool water is green and NOT served by the ocean, which would mean it is algae invested and not kept accordingly. I KNOW this bc I swam competitively for 15 years. These guys are a COMPLETE JOKE! Total amateurs in the resort business. In fact, when I expressed my EXTREME discontent with my experience PRIOR to even one night stay to the supervisor...he ACTUALLY had the nerve to say that "Im not sure what site said we had wi-fi in the rooms but that wasnt ours"!!! OK, NOW you have an incredibly incompetent and unprofessional leader of the motley crue. Do yourself a favor and avoid this DUMP at ALL cost!!!! BTW, I would have given it a lower rating but it won't allow a zero star rating. Ha! Too funny!!! Que suerte!

Room Tip: Don't choose one at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Brian,
We are very sorry to hear that Las Olas did not meet your expectations. We are proud to say that many improvements are being made constantly. Our technicians have installed wi-fi in most of the property and it will soon be available throughout. Our kitchen staff has undergone some changes and is receiving great reviews. The pools are sparkling and beautiful. We take our guests' reviews seriously and use them to make things better. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    71
    36
    23
    26
See reviews for
71
93
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneola, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is the first time I have been to Las Olas and I believe is reasonably priced for what you get. I recommend that you buy before staying everything that you may need because you may not find it, unless you need alka seltzer or Tabcin for a cold. I asked for the newspaper and they did not have it but they did went out of their way to get it for me, so that is great service right there. The rooms are well cleaned but the rooms are outdated like: old style bedding, Old TV, but overall nice for a beach escape. They all have a nice back door that goes out to a little private area with two chairs and a table. If you need Wifi, you will only get it around the dining and front area. There is Internet in the rooms but you need a network cable to plug it in to the IP phone or directly in the Net Socket outlet. A way to get wifi would be to hook your laptop with a cable and create a hot spot with it, this worked well for us and we were even able to watch some streaming movies. The pool is awesome, I enjoyed that a lot. I never went into the ocean water as it is better not to unless you know about rip currents and/ or surf. The garden around the place is so beautiful and they even have a pond with turtles and a cage with a couple exotic birds like a Macaw and Cuckatoo. I stayed here with my wife and my Dad in two rooms and we had a wonderful relaxing time. The prices of their food and drinks are not bad ($$). I recommend this place to families for sure and couples wanting to get away to a nice secluded place that you can still call paradise. We went during the week so we pretty much had the whole place to ourselves. The only drawback is that I wish there was a bartender in their pool bar

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the front entrance, that way you will also get wifi. I would pick the ones on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitalizer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Director de Recepción at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimados Amigos,

Gracias por su tiempo en escribir acerca de su estadía en el Hotel Las Olas. Recordamos el tiempo que pasaron con nosotros. La verdad recuerdo a su papa y fue muy grato para nosotros atenderle y con mucho gusto cuando desee regresar le estaremos esperando con los brazos abierto.

Saludos,

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have been to Las Olas Beach Resort 5 times now and the place is worth the money... actually it's a good deal. It's off the beaten path but worth the drive out to the coast from David. The staff is excellent and will go the extra step to accommodate. If you're looking to get away from the hustle & bustle and just relax, this is the place. Good restaurant on site and another just up the beach (short walk). We've been very disappointed with reservations at a B& B in Volcan and an Inn in Puerto Amuelles and have left those places w/out staying to come back to Las Olas.
As you can see by some other reviews, there are some issues but in the 4 years we've been coming here there's nothing so big as to warrant us from not returning. We have actually seen improvements in upkeep this trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnP6555JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We love all our guests, but definitely have a special appreciation for our repeat visitors. I am so glad to see that you've noted visible improvements! We are constantly seeking ways to improve and feel that we are making great progress! We hope to share our gorgeous beach with you again soon.

Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

While on a trip to Panama we stayed at hotel Los Olas Resort. This resort could be very nice however it is very much in need of an overhaul to say the least! The rooms were not clean although large enough. The towels were old and frayed, the sheets were old and stained. The pool was clean and along with the ocean was the best part of our 2 day stay. The restaurant food was mostly good however it was extremely slow and orders were wrong. Some training would be a big asset for the servers. Unfortunately because of the worn out conditions we experienced we will not come back nor recommend to anyone. We had an advertised special but no matter the price it did not meet our basic standard for a destination resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It is very upsetting to us that your trip wasn't all you'd hoped it would be. Many improvements have been made since your stay. We've worked on kitchen training and standards, wi-fi improvements, housekeeping standards and more. Please know that we read all of our reviews and make every effort to address issues. Thank you for your stay.
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these David hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This December we took a trip to las olas beach resort,the drive was a bit rough from David but worth it once you see the property.It has a great pool and Oceanside rooms but not much else to do when you get there.The staff was very nice,food good and the rooms were outdated but okay enough for a 2 day stay.Also inexpensive.Property could use a bit of work as far as accommodations go,need updating

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and review. We agree - the views are stunning! Please know that many improvements have been made since your stay. Should you decide to visit the area again, we hope you'll stay at Las Olas and see the difference in person. Thank you for your stay and review!

Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed at the resort for one night and first the place if overpriced for what you get. The bed was terrible and the room itself was big but needs some major updates. The shower drained was very bad and the bathroom was not cleaned at all. The sheets on the bed smelled and when I asked for them to be changed I was told by the maid that they were having issues with the washing machine. Also, the remote for the TV didn't work and after calling the front desk 3 times so I could get a good one, I had to go to the front desk to get it.
The service at the restaurant is very slowed and the waiters are not friendly at all, there is very little customer service and noone seems to care much at all.

When I complained, I was offered a $20.00 discount upon checking out. The place is about a 2 star. I would not recommend to pay more thatn $50.00 per night for what you get.

Room Tip: the beach is nice but the hotel is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spanishbird0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your stay at Las Olas. We are very sorry that the did not meet your expectations. Please know that many updates have been done since your stay and our staff have undergone many training sessions.
Happy Vacationing!
~Las Olas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Having stayed at many resorts and hotels in Panama as part of my business I must say that Las Ojas is well past its prime as a resort. The staff try their hardest but the facilities, rooms, amenities are desperately in need of updating.

Check in was fine and staff try hard. The grounds look quite neglected and need some care and watering. The rooms are very dated. Wall mount a/c are noisy compared to modern split a/c which most hotels use now.Linens and pillows are in need of replacement and towels were very frayed. Restaurant food was surprisingly good and priced reasonable. The beach is dark sand and gets very hot when the sun is out. This is a dangerous beach to swim at we heard that frequent drownings occur.

With so many nice resorts in Panama and nicer beaches, I would not recommend Loa Olas as a tourist destination stay.

Room Tip: get close to the pool, ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsfromc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olasresort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at Las Olas. We are proud to say that many updates have been made since then. Please know that your comments have been passed along to the appropriate staff. Thank you for your review.
~Las Olas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
13.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
12.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#9 of 13 in David
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Address: Ave. Don Antonio Anguizola | Playa La Barqueta, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 minutes from David, Panama’s second largest city and the Enrique Malek International Airport, Las Olas Resort is at the heart of the 14 mile stretch of beach called Playa La Barqueta and the surrounding 2,000 acre plantation. Some of the best surfers in all of Panama may be found catching waves on this spectacular expanse of beach and its waves giving Las Olas its name, meaning “The Waves”. Las Olas Resort offer 48 rooms all facing uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. We have standard rooms with two queen beds or one king bed, six junior suites with a separate living area, and two king suites featuring two bedrooms and one living area. Each and every room is steps away from the gorgeous sand and beautiful blue waters of Playa La Barqueta. Each room has a terrace, with lower rooms having beachside access while the upper floors have their own enclosed private terrace.offers excellent shopping, dining, and nightlife. Las Olas Resort features lush gardens, wandering walkways surrounded by the umbrella shaped coverage of almond trees, tall and lovely grape leaves, multicolored crotos, pink bougabilia, hedges of hicacos and a wide variety of palm trees,. All forty-eight rooms are directly facing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular views of the majestic sunsets over Playa La Barqueta. In La Abigail Restaurant guests can enjoy local, organic plantains, pineapples, mangos (in season), papaya and watermelon. We raise our own grass fed beef and lamb, duck, pork, and chicken. Taste fresh coconut water to refresh your body and enjoy tennis, kayaking, surfing, strolling the beach or taking a swim. Good for mind and body, Las Olas Resort provides a quick way to hit your internal reset button.The Bella Donna Convention Center at Las Olas Resort offers meeting and event spaces of a variety of sizes with various services, food and beverage options available. Added to the adjacent covered outdoor space, one could hold a party of 500 or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Beach David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing