We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcala(David)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residencial Cervantes(David)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
99
80
43
25
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
80
43
25
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barocean viewthe black sand beachlow tideremote locationprivate patioturtle pondgreat beachpool areacrashing waveswalk for milesred snapperhorseback riding on the beachrip currentspacific coastlounge chairsbuffet option
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Went to Panama for Spring Break with our 13 and 4 year old boys. We had planned to see the whole country and only allowed 3 nights at Las Olas. We ran out of time and should have allowed more time there. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. Most speak a little English and welcome an American's attempt at Spanish. The grounds were beautiful. The air conditioner in our room, which was very clean, was super cold. The free internet in the lobby was fast and reliable. The chef prepared two fish for us for dinner (Pargos de la Mancha). My older son caught them while fishing in the mangrove on the Las Olas boat (not to be missed). They were delicious. Every meal we ate was good and fresh. Try the Apple Crunch with Vanilla Ice Cream for desert at least once a day. It's the best! Try the Ceviche, too! It is like no other-lightly fried and just enough lime juice. We felt totally safe and at home at Las Olas and didn't think twice about leaving a camera or valuables on the table in plain view while we swam in the pool or went to the beach. The sand is dark and hot when it is dry, so wear flip flops until you get to the wet sand and then kick off your shoes and enjoy the breeze off of the ocean! The full moon had made the ocean churn, so we stuck to the pool for swimming, but it was great to see the power of Mother Nature and the giant waves rolling in. Of course you are in a foreign country and probably on vacation, so relax and allow enough time for yourself to enjoy your stay and not be rushed - even though there is so much to do in Western Panama! Boquete Tree Trek is the coolest! Rock climbing was fun and really starting to catch on in Boquete. Las Olas is not right next to David, but a short drive away, out of the bustle of the city. Check out the living fences all along the route to Las Olas and also be looking for the beautiful indian women in their Molas (native dresses). Boquete is a short drive north of David. Be sure to take enough money to see and do the things that you might not ever have a chance to do again. The American Dollar is the currency in Panama so there is never a need to calculate an exchange rate and never a feeling of "they didn't do that right" like there sometimes is in Mexico. There is no comparison between those two countries, other than the language. Allow as much time as you can for Panama and start planning your next trip to Panama on the plane on the way home! If you like Costa Rica, you will LOVE Panama!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillcoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Our stay at Las Olas was our favorite stop on our families Panama Vacation. The grounds are beautiful, rooms comfortable and clean, food healthy and fresh, and their staff was friendly and helpful.
I could not believe the value and how they made us feel at home.
The beach was outstanding and we took long beach walks, and watched the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen.
We hope to make it back soon

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

When we pulled up to this place ,we were ready to turn around and find another hotel but we decided to give it a chance...This hotel looks like it was abandoned 10 years ago, grounds not keeped up, grass overgrown everywhere, chairs old and rotted..There was not a soul in sight but the front desk clerk who was the only one who spoke english..My wife went to look at the parrot cage and there was a dead parrot slumped over his perch and it was still there the next day after complaining to management..Basically the only people we saw there where condo sales people trying to push some ripoff condos down the beach..On the good side the beach was OK if you like to walk through alot of broken crap in the sand..I would suggest you don't pay more then 50 bucks a night for this dump

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband and I looked forward to visiting Panama and discovering the country. Our first (and only, supposedly) stop was Las Olas, from where we intended to make day trips into the mountains and to other beaches within driving distance. We had booked an 8 day stay there.
Upon arrival, we were greeted very friendly by the first English speaking Panamanians (or were they Colombians?) up to that point. They told us we were upgraded to a junior suite without extra charge. Full of positive anticipation we took our luggage to the appointed room, opened the door and walked into a dungeon: the room consisted of a bedroom and separate sitting area. The sitting area was furnished with very uncomfortable ratan furniture with plastic, rock hard pillows to sit on. No throw pillows in any form or shape. No decorations on any wall in any of the rooms. Not a single one, just bare walls.There were no lights in the room, except for one tiny recessed light and some kind of dining room light with a 40 Watt bulb in it. At night, you could not read in the room, there was just not enough light to see the letters in your book or magazine.
When we booked, we had explicitly asked for internet access in the room. That turned out to be a farce also: we had to move to another "junior suite" (which was just as dingy as the first one) to have internet access, but most other people had to go to the common areas for internet access.The bathroom was as sparcely lit as the rest of the premises, with not even enough light to see if your teeth were clean.
The shower was old and dingy, not to say dirty as was the sink area.
The bedroom had 1 whole light in it and a TV that had 7 channels, of which 1 was in English.The beds were reasonably comfortable, but the air conditioning was noisy and smelly. My husband figured, they probably never cleaned the filters. It sure smelled like that. After 1 night, we both developed a serious cough which stayed with us the entire time we stayed at Las Olas, but vanished again after 1 night at our next resort.
The only nice feature was the covered porch. Two ratan chairs with rock hard pillows and a table, but it was peaceful and shaded and that was nice.
The air conditioning in the sitting area was functional, but also very old fashionened.
The swimming pool was downright small and dirty. We did not dare to use it for risk of getting some tropical disease. The beach was filthy and dangerous with broken bottles and garbage. I don't think anybody ever serviced the hotel surroundings as dead leaves were everywhere and nothing seemed to be watered. We sure did not see anybody working there at any time.
The parking lot was one big pothole, but still relativey manageable in comparison with the road to the resort.
Anyway, we checked out after 3 days. We were slipping into a full blown depression at that place and figured it could not be any worse anywhere else. We moved to Playa Blanca, which was absolutely delightful and which experience restored out faith in vacationing in Panama.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dutchess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We actually stayed next door at Las Brisas del Mar for a month and spent considerable time at Las Olas Resort for dinner and used their facilities. We met the owner and manager and found them very accommodating and enthusiastic about providing activities for guests. I rented one of their beach bikes on most mornings and rode 8 miles down to the east end of the beach, looking for turtle tracks along the turtle preserve, picking up coconuts and birdwatching. I could count on something new on the beach every day! At low tide you can also ride 8 miles the other direction on an equally deserted beach. Turtle releases can be watched if you check with the front desk and get the times and dates. We kayaked in the mangroves about 2 miles from the resort several times and saw many birds, heard the howler monkeys and saw a caiman. There was more kayaking available than we could ever have time for. Check Google maps! We also kayaked the Rio Chico, a 15 minute drive away and had a very enjoyable 2 hour float. Best of all, the beach walking was fantastic as well as the sunrises and sunsets. The beach is a grayish color due to volcanic rock mixed in the sand. It is a surfing beach so knowing about riptides is very helpful if you head out deeper than waist deep. The manager of the resort is often seen out kiteboarding or surfing. I am bringing my folding bike on my next visit and will be exploring all the small roads away from the beach. This is one of the best beach-biking places I have ever experienced with 16 miles of deserted beaches and only a handful of homes along it. Several beach restaurants are next door and you can buy 65 cent Panamanian beers for less than a Coke (80 cents). The night life is what you make it at Las Olas's Azul Bar. We ate at La Abigail restaurant and ordered from their vegetarian menu and often defaulted to the Greek salad which was enough for a meal. Their desserts were great and prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fbkskayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews