We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Olas is great for families, a hidden gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in David
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our time at Las Olas. It was a great place to get acclimated to Panama. The black sand beach stretches for miles and the pacific ocean water was heaven. Great pool. Great food. The hotel staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Our room was clean with air conditioning and a great patio.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2009

AHHHHHHHH Los Olas, perfect beach, smart hotel, friendly staff, or so you would think?
Well you would be completely wrong on all counts, upon arrival at the hotel, it looked really nice,( from the outside) once inside the resort, we found it to be unkempt, unclean, and although most of the staff were very nice, you got the feeling you were almost disrupting their day.
One perticular member of staff stands out, there is a small untiled pool with a small beach bar to one end of the hotel, with overpriced food and a non English speaking member of staff, I have never met such a rude person on any resort in the world like this one, how do these people keep their jobs? the tables have not seen a clean in more than a year, and covered in bugs, although the hotel (or the bar person) insists you WILL EAT or you may not use the pool nor the bar, unbelievable.
Anyway the beach was littered with rubbish, broken bottles, etc , although it would be perfect if cleaned, the hotel is like a ghost resort, although only 24 km from David, one wonders why management hasn't made the effort to attract people, my advice is stay well away until they get their act together

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fitz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Las Olas Resort was the perfect end to our travels in Panama. Planning the trip there was simple because the staff at Las Olas Resort was so resourceful and helpful. The rooms are perfect size and every one has a view of the Pacific Ocean. You can walk along the beach for miles and feel like you are the only one! The food was delicious and the service was wonderful.
I cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Went to Panama for Spring Break with our 13 and 4 year old boys. We had planned to see the whole country and only allowed 3 nights at Las Olas. We ran out of time and should have allowed more time there. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. Most speak a little English and welcome an American's attempt at Spanish. The grounds were beautiful. The air conditioner in our room, which was very clean, was super cold. The free internet in the lobby was fast and reliable. The chef prepared two fish for us for dinner (Pargos de la Mancha). My older son caught them while fishing in the mangrove on the Las Olas boat (not to be missed). They were delicious. Every meal we ate was good and fresh. Try the Apple Crunch with Vanilla Ice Cream for desert at least once a day. It's the best! Try the Ceviche, too! It is like no other-lightly fried and just enough lime juice. We felt totally safe and at home at Las Olas and didn't think twice about leaving a camera or valuables on the table in plain view while we swam in the pool or went to the beach. The sand is dark and hot when it is dry, so wear flip flops until you get to the wet sand and then kick off your shoes and enjoy the breeze off of the ocean! The full moon had made the ocean churn, so we stuck to the pool for swimming, but it was great to see the power of Mother Nature and the giant waves rolling in. Of course you are in a foreign country and probably on vacation, so relax and allow enough time for yourself to enjoy your stay and not be rushed - even though there is so much to do in Western Panama! Boquete Tree Trek is the coolest! Rock climbing was fun and really starting to catch on in Boquete. Las Olas is not right next to David, but a short drive away, out of the bustle of the city. Check out the living fences all along the route to Las Olas and also be looking for the beautiful indian women in their Molas (native dresses). Boquete is a short drive north of David. Be sure to take enough money to see and do the things that you might not ever have a chance to do again. The American Dollar is the currency in Panama so there is never a need to calculate an exchange rate and never a feeling of "they didn't do that right" like there sometimes is in Mexico. There is no comparison between those two countries, other than the language. Allow as much time as you can for Panama and start planning your next trip to Panama on the plane on the way home! If you like Costa Rica, you will LOVE Panama!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillcoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Our stay at Las Olas was our favorite stop on our families Panama Vacation. The grounds are beautiful, rooms comfortable and clean, food healthy and fresh, and their staff was friendly and helpful.
I could not believe the value and how they made us feel at home.
The beach was outstanding and we took long beach walks, and watched the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen.
We hope to make it back soon

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

When we pulled up to this place ,we were ready to turn around and find another hotel but we decided to give it a chance...This hotel looks like it was abandoned 10 years ago, grounds not keeped up, grass overgrown everywhere, chairs old and rotted..There was not a soul in sight but the front desk clerk who was the only one who spoke english..My wife went to look at the parrot cage and there was a dead parrot slumped over his perch and it was still there the next day after complaining to management..Basically the only people we saw there where condo sales people trying to push some ripoff condos down the beach..On the good side the beach was OK if you like to walk through alot of broken crap in the sand..I would suggest you don't pay more then 50 bucks a night for this dump

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband and I looked forward to visiting Panama and discovering the country. Our first (and only, supposedly) stop was Las Olas, from where we intended to make day trips into the mountains and to other beaches within driving distance. We had booked an 8 day stay there.
Upon arrival, we were greeted very friendly by the first English speaking Panamanians (or were they Colombians?) up to that point. They told us we were upgraded to a junior suite without extra charge. Full of positive anticipation we took our luggage to the appointed room, opened the door and walked into a dungeon: the room consisted of a bedroom and separate sitting area. The sitting area was furnished with very uncomfortable ratan furniture with plastic, rock hard pillows to sit on. No throw pillows in any form or shape. No decorations on any wall in any of the rooms. Not a single one, just bare walls.There were no lights in the room, except for one tiny recessed light and some kind of dining room light with a 40 Watt bulb in it. At night, you could not read in the room, there was just not enough light to see the letters in your book or magazine.
When we booked, we had explicitly asked for internet access in the room. That turned out to be a farce also: we had to move to another "junior suite" (which was just as dingy as the first one) to have internet access, but most other people had to go to the common areas for internet access.The bathroom was as sparcely lit as the rest of the premises, with not even enough light to see if your teeth were clean.
The shower was old and dingy, not to say dirty as was the sink area.
The bedroom had 1 whole light in it and a TV that had 7 channels, of which 1 was in English.The beds were reasonably comfortable, but the air conditioning was noisy and smelly. My husband figured, they probably never cleaned the filters. It sure smelled like that. After 1 night, we both developed a serious cough which stayed with us the entire time we stayed at Las Olas, but vanished again after 1 night at our next resort.
The only nice feature was the covered porch. Two ratan chairs with rock hard pillows and a table, but it was peaceful and shaded and that was nice.
The air conditioning in the sitting area was functional, but also very old fashionened.
The swimming pool was downright small and dirty. We did not dare to use it for risk of getting some tropical disease. The beach was filthy and dangerous with broken bottles and garbage. I don't think anybody ever serviced the hotel surroundings as dead leaves were everywhere and nothing seemed to be watered. We sure did not see anybody working there at any time.
The parking lot was one big pothole, but still relativey manageable in comparison with the road to the resort.
Anyway, we checked out after 3 days. We were slipping into a full blown depression at that place and figured it could not be any worse anywhere else. We moved to Playa Blanca, which was absolutely delightful and which experience restored out faith in vacationing in Panama.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dutchess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
13.5 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
12.5 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
23.1 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
155 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Los Rivera
Hotel Los Rivera
#10 of 13 in David
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Address: Ave. Don Antonio Anguizola | Playa La Barqueta, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 minutes from David, Panama’s second largest city and the Enrique Malek International Airport, Las Olas Resort is at the heart of the 14 mile stretch of beach called Playa La Barqueta and the surrounding 2,000 acre plantation. Some of the best surfers in all of Panama may be found catching waves on this spectacular expanse of beach and its waves giving Las Olas its name, meaning “The Waves”. Las Olas Resort offer 48 rooms all facing uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. We have standard rooms with two queen beds or one king bed, six junior suites with a separate living area, and two king suites featuring two bedrooms and one living area. Each and every room is steps away from the gorgeous sand and beautiful blue waters of Playa La Barqueta. Each room has a terrace, with lower rooms having beachside access while the upper floors have their own enclosed private terrace.offers excellent shopping, dining, and nightlife. Las Olas Resort features lush gardens, wandering walkways surrounded by the umbrella shaped coverage of almond trees, tall and lovely grape leaves, multicolored crotos, pink bougabilia, hedges of hicacos and a wide variety of palm trees,. All forty-eight rooms are directly facing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular views of the majestic sunsets over Playa La Barqueta. In La Abigail Restaurant guests can enjoy local, organic plantains, pineapples, mangos (in season), papaya and watermelon. We raise our own grass fed beef and lamb, duck, pork, and chicken. Taste fresh coconut water to refresh your body and enjoy tennis, kayaking, surfing, strolling the beach or taking a swim. Good for mind and body, Las Olas Resort provides a quick way to hit your internal reset button.The Bella Donna Convention Center at Las Olas Resort offers meeting and event spaces of a variety of sizes with various services, food and beverage options available. Added to the adjacent covered outdoor space, one could hold a party of 500 or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Beach David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing