We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we hoped for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Made my reservation a few months ago for two nights in a room with a queen bed. We got a very small room with a single and double. My husband and I ended up sleeping in separate beds by 2am. The beds were uncomfortable, the front desk staff unfriendly and a bit condescending. The room tiny and the bathroom smaller than that. Our view was a wall. Your room key turned on the air so when you left it turned off and got hot then dripped all over the floor and ended up ruining one of my bags. We would not stay there again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

Puerta del Sol gave me a clean, spacious room with free Wi-fi and secure parking, The A/C in my room had a dial to set the temp. You just have to open the little trap door to find the controls. There was a nice down comforter on the bed. As another reviewer said, it's not what you would call a real romantic place, but it is a good, well-run downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Nice beds and pillow, good hot water in shower, AC worked very well. and the TV had a good selection of stations. Only real problem was the noise, some family allowed there children to run wild screaming late at night two nights in a row. There was also late night noise from younger crowd coming back from a night out nothing to loud just frustrating when you are trying to get rest when on business. Parking is available

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main hall you can hear everything that goes on outside in the hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiperandLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Clean, well maintained, good restaurant, reasonable, and good location. I always come back to this place throughout the years. It's functional for the ones who look for a clean, comfortable, decent place to stay. Not having a pool is a bummer, but we don't go for the pool. We just need a place to sleep. Staff is friendly and try to accomodate one. The only negative thing is that parking is a little difficult to maneuver underground with big pillars around.

Room Tip: They have suites, cuadruples and triples rooms. Ask for a room that doesn't face a disco/bar th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AuriSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Just stayed for one night coming from Bocas and travelling to Panama City. The hotel offers what you need, so we had a good night sleep. The rooms are the type they have everywhere in Panama with shiny tile floors, not really cosy, but fine if you are just passing through David.
The only point of criticism is the ac, which could only be turned on 'freezing' or out.
Front desk service was really friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for any price. Very economical and clean. Great restaurant with outstanding portions and prices. Only down and side, no pool. Cleaning staff are hard works. Front staff very helpful. Neighborhood is a little scary at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronblack0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

On my recent trip to Panama, I stayed in three different hotels, the best of which, by far, was Puerta del Sol in David. This is a long-established hotel very centrally located. There was safe underground parking for our car. In no way was I allowed to carry my small bag to the room. The bell boy was polite but insistent, and did not want to wait for a small tip.
The standard room was well equipped with two comfortable beds (as requested) comfortable air conditioning sensible absorbent towels, soap, and powerful hot water. Also a semi bidet! The cable television had all the important channels, two or three with English news. No outside noise disturbed our rest.
Two meals in the dining room confirmed our decision that this was one of the best places in David to enjoy a meal. Great selection of food,,included salad bar, decent prices, and good service. As a pensioner in CR I was accepted (everywhere) as a jubilado in Panama, and it is wonderful to get a 25% discount on food and accommodation.
We will certainly look forward to staying at Hotel del Sol another time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#4 of 13 in David
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Rivera
Hotel Los Rivera
#10 of 13 in David
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Sol

Address: Calle Central y Avenida Tercera, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puerta del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiriquí Province and to Puerta del Sol Hotel where you will feel the pleasure of being at home.We are located between 3rd Avenue and Central Street, at the commercial heart of David city and just 5 minutes away from Enrique Malek Airport. Our hotel offers 86 rooms, one restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and 2 parking lots, among other services that will make your visit to our province for business or for touristic purposes an unforgetable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Sol David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing