We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Clean and Secure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Value, Clean and Secure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel only because they were nice enough to open an extra secure parking area to accommodate my utility trailer being used to haul some boat motors. The staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean, fresh, and the AC worked great. For the value, you can't beat this hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AirDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    52
    29
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
34
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was my first hotel in Panama and it was simple, nice, vety clean and in the middle of the city of David. You can reach everything just in walking distance and if you need a taxi it's very cheap. Puerta del Sol is one block from the Central Park and the recpetion staff all speak English. The rooms are simple but all with air condtion and TV and the beds are very OK.
The view from my hotel room was not very nice: I saw a dirty wall - but I did not come to david to enjoy any views from a hotel room.
Bath rooms are clean and showers with reliable hot water (but you must run the water for some time.
There is a restaurant in the hotel and this restaurant is just gorgeous! To eat all these local specialties is a must. I ate in some other restaurants but the cuisine at Puerta del Sol was the best. Of course you can get a continentaal breakfast but I had asked the waiter sor some explanation for example "queso blanco" and he brought a small slice of a delicious local cheese that i ordered next day for breakfast. Everything I tasted was absolutely delicious and the service was just amazing.
The value is very good - surprisingly cheap food at a great quality. I would really recommend this hotel to all of my friends - especially if you would want to discover this real Latin-City in Central America.
... and they offer free wifi Internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This David stop over for me is ideal being near the town square and local feel. I stay here about once a year and am always greeted with a home town feeling. The rooms are small, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chriseconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Made my reservation a few months ago for two nights in a room with a queen bed. We got a very small room with a single and double. My husband and I ended up sleeping in separate beds by 2am. The beds were uncomfortable, the front desk staff unfriendly and a bit condescending. The room tiny and the bathroom smaller than that. Our view was a wall. Your room key turned on the air so when you left it turned off and got hot then dripped all over the floor and ended up ruining one of my bags. We would not stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Puerta del Sol gave me a clean, spacious room with free Wi-fi and secure parking, The A/C in my room had a dial to set the temp. You just have to open the little trap door to find the controls. There was a nice down comforter on the bed. As another reviewer said, it's not what you would call a real romantic place, but it is a good, well-run downtown hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Nice beds and pillow, good hot water in shower, AC worked very well. and the TV had a good selection of stations. Only real problem was the noise, some family allowed there children to run wild screaming late at night two nights in a row. There was also late night noise from younger crowd coming back from a night out nothing to loud just frustrating when you are trying to get rest when on business. Parking is available

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main hall you can hear everything that goes on outside in the hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiperandLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Clean, well maintained, good restaurant, reasonable, and good location. I always come back to this place throughout the years. It's functional for the ones who look for a clean, comfortable, decent place to stay. Not having a pool is a bummer, but we don't go for the pool. We just need a place to sleep. Staff is friendly and try to accomodate one. The only negative thing is that parking is a little difficult to maneuver underground with big pillars around.

Room Tip: They have suites, cuadruples and triples rooms. Ask for a room that doesn't face a disco/bar th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AuriSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#9 of 13 in David
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Central y Avenida Tercera, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puerta del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiriquí Province and to Puerta del Sol Hotel where you will feel the pleasure of being at home.We are located between 3rd Avenue and Central Street, at the commercial heart of David city and just 5 minutes away from Enrique Malek Airport. Our hotel offers 86 rooms, one restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and 2 parking lots, among other services that will make your visit to our province for business or for touristic purposes an unforgetable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Sol David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing